A no-spray Balsam fir farm with over 8,000 trees, free saws and sleds, and 2025-season pricing of $40-$65 for trees up to 6-7 feet — solid detail overall, though no 2026 dates or confirmed current pricing have been posted.
$40-$65 for trees up to about 6-7 feet, taller trees priced higher; this pricing was posted for the 2025 season on the farm's own site and is not confirmed for 2026.
Balsam Hill Farm is a no-spray, naturally-grown Balsam fir operation in Hope with over 8,000 trees planted at various stages of growth — a large enough inventory that the farm can offer both a weekend cut-your-own experience and a separate weekday option without running dry. That’s a more thought-out structure than a simple “come cut a tree” lot, and it’s worth understanding before you plan your visit day.
Here’s the detail most likely to change your plans: in the 2025 season, cut-your-own access was framed as a weekend activity, while roughly 425 pre-cut trees were made available for weekday visitors on what the farm described as an honor-system basis. If you’re set on walking a field and cutting your own tree, that points you toward a Saturday or Sunday. If a pre-cut tree works fine for your household and a weekday suits your schedule better, that’s covered too. Hours differ accordingly — weekdays run 10:00 am to 4:00 pm, while weekends open earlier, 9:00 am to 4:00 pm, presumably to accommodate the heavier cut-your-own traffic.
The farm’s own site posted 2025-season pricing of $40 to $65 for trees up to about 6 to 7 feet, with taller trees priced higher. That range gives you real numbers to plan a budget around — a tree at the shorter end of typical family size would land near $40, one at the taller end of that bracket closer to $65 — but it’s explicitly 2025 information, not something posted with 2026 dates attached, so confirm before assuming it holds. What is provided free, per the farm’s own site, are saws and transport sleds, removing two of the more annoying logistics of a cut-your-own trip. A warming fire is on site, and some listings mention s’mores and hot cocoa, though those specifics weren’t as firmly sourced as the core pricing and equipment details.
The no-spray growing approach is a genuine differentiator if that matters to your household, and it’s stated plainly by the farm itself rather than inferred. Well-behaved pets are welcome, a small but real convenience for households that don’t want to leave a dog at home. No payment method (cash, card, or both) is specified in the record, so that’s a reasonable question to ask when you call to confirm hours and pricing.
Balsam Hill gives you more concrete planning information than most farms in this batch — real 2025 pricing, real equipment policies, and a clear structural distinction between weekday and weekend visits — even without a locked-in 2026 date. If the no-spray angle and free equipment appeal to you, this is a strong candidate; just pick your visit day based on whether cutting your own tree matters to you, and call ahead (207-975-4343) to confirm this year’s numbers before you drive out.
No 2026 season start or end date is posted. The farm's own site described 2025 as its sixth year of operation without giving explicit 2026 dates, so don't assume last year's calendar repeats exactly. Hours differ by day: weekdays 10 am-4 pm, weekends 9 am-4 pm.
Not stated directly, but a warming fire, s'mores, and hot cocoa mentioned in some listings suggest a visit worth lingering over rather than rushing.
Not stated directly. The weekday/weekend split in hours and in how cut-your-own versus pre-cut trees are offered suggests weekends are the primary cut-your-own draw, which typically means more visitors then than on weekdays.
Not described in the record.
Not addressed directly, though a warming fire on site suggests at least one sheltered gathering spot. No detail on field terrain was found.
Skip Balsam Hill if you specifically want cut-your-own on a weekday, since that was framed as a weekend activity in the 2025 season with pre-cut/honor-system trees offered on weekdays instead, and skip it if you need confirmed 2026 pricing locked in before deciding to go.
No specific nearby-farm pairing is available in this record.
The farm's own site posted 2025-season pricing of $40 to $65 for trees up to about 6-7 feet, with taller trees priced higher. This was not confirmed as current for 2026, so treat it as a recent reference point rather than a locked-in rate.
In the 2025 season, cut-your-own was framed as a weekend activity, with roughly 425 pre-cut trees available on an honor-system basis for weekday visitors instead.
No. The farm describes itself as no-spray and naturally grown.
Yes, well-behaved pets are welcome, per the farm's own site.
2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. In past seasons it has run: Monday-Sunday (Sat/Sun differ from weekday hours). Check with the farm before driving out.
Trees start at $40. $40-$65 for trees up to about 6-7 feet, taller trees priced higher; this pricing was posted for the 2025 season on the farm's own site and is not confirmed for 2026.
Yes. It's cut-your-own, and a saw is provided.
67 Barrett Hill Road, Hope, ME 04847, in Knox County. It is one of 3 farms we track in Midcoast Maine.
We track 3 farms in Midcoast Maine, 2 of which let you cut your own tree. At $40 to start this one sits right on the regional median of $40.
One caveat worth repeating: this farm had not published its 2026 dates when we last checked, while 0 of the 3 farms we track in Midcoast Maine had. Treat any date you see elsewhere as last year's until the farm confirms it.
There are 4 other farms we track in Knox County. All Midcoast Maine farms →
Map pin is set to the town centre. Navigate to the street address above, not the pin.
balsamhillfarm.com · mainechristmastree.com
Checked September 2026.