A small, simple two-variety cypress farm that appears to run a short, sell-out-driven season, with no 2026 dates, hours, or pricing published as of this check.
Barn Hill Tree Farm keeps things simple: two tree varieties, Murray cypress and Carolina Sapphire, sold choose-and-cut, with a fire pit and complimentary hot cocoa as the only confirmed amenities. That’s a genuinely different kind of visit than the larger multi-species farms with wagon rides and gift shops elsewhere in this region — this reads as a farm built around the trees themselves rather than a family outing built around activities.
The most useful signal in the record isn’t a date at all — it’s the farm’s own language. At the time of this research check, the farm’s website displayed a message that it was “closed for the 2025 season,” which suggests Barn Hill runs a limited inventory that it sells through rather than staying open on a long, predictable calendar through Christmas. A regional travel guide cited a first-opening date of November 24, but didn’t attach a year to it, so it can’t be treated as a confirmed 2026 date here. If you’re planning around this farm, don’t assume you have until mid-December; a sell-out-style farm can close its doors weeks earlier than a farm with a large planted acreage.
Two things are solid: the tree varieties (Murray cypress and Carolina Sapphire, both cypress-family trees rather than fir, which fits the lower elevation of this part of Lumpkin County) and that it’s a choose-and-cut operation. Beyond that, the record goes quiet. No pricing, no hours, no payment method, and no 2026 opening date turned up in any source checked, including the farm’s own site. The farm does have two listed contacts, which at least means there’s a real, direct way to check details before making the drive.
No dollar figure of any kind — not a per-foot rate, not a flat price — appears anywhere in the sources checked for this farm. That’s worth stating plainly rather than guessing at a “typical” range, because a guess here would just be an invented number dressed up as helpful advice. The honest move is to call ahead and ask directly what a tree costs and whether netting or a stand is included, since none of that is addressed in what’s currently published.
Given the combination of a short-window season, an unconfirmed 2026 opening date, and no published pricing, Barn Hill isn’t a farm you can plan around from a website alone right now. It’s a fine option if you’re comfortable calling ahead and can be flexible about timing, particularly early in the season before whatever limited inventory the farm has sells through. If you need firm hours and a price before committing to a specific day, this isn’t yet the farm that can give you that with what’s currently available.
Barn Hill is a small, no-frills choose-and-cut cypress farm that likely runs a short season it sells out of rather than a long fixed one, and with no 2026 dates or pricing published, a call ahead is the only reliable way to plan a visit.
Not confirmed for 2026. The farm's own site currently reads as closed for the prior season, and a regional guide cited a first-opening date of November 24 without stating a year, so treat any specific date as unconfirmed.
Not stated in the record. With only a fire pit and hot cocoa as amenities, this reads as a straightforward tree stop rather than a destination for a long visit.
Not stated in the record. A small, two-variety operation with a 'closed for the season' message on its own site suggests a modest scale rather than a high-volume destination farm.
Not described in the record.
Not addressed in any source checked.
Skip Barn Hill if you want a farm with confirmed hours and pricing before you leave the house, or if you're looking for hayrides, a gift shop, or other family activities beyond a fire pit and cocoa.
Not available in the record checked. The farm is one of at least two Dahlonega-area choose-and-cut operations researched in this batch, alongside Holly Hill Tree Farm.
Murray cypress and Carolina Sapphire. It's a simpler, two-variety selection compared to some larger farms nearby in Dahlonega.
The record confirms choose-and-cut. Whether visitors do the cutting themselves isn't specified.
Neither is published as of this check. The farm's own site still showed a 'closed for the 2025 season' message, so call ahead before planning a visit.
A fire pit and complimentary hot cocoa, per available sources. No hayrides or other paid attractions were mentioned.
2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. Check with the farm before driving out.
Pricing was not published when we last checked.
Yes. It's choose-and-cut (staff cuts it for you).
417 Oklahoma Avenue W, Dahlonega, GA 30533, in Lumpkin County. It is one of 12 farms we track in North Georgia.
We track 12 farms in North Georgia, 5 of which let you cut your own tree. The farm has not published a starting price, so it cannot be compared on cost — call before you budget.
What sets it apart locally: it has a cocoa or cider stand, which most North Georgia farms on our list do not.
One caveat worth repeating: this farm had not published its 2026 dates when we last checked, while 1 of the 12 farms we track in North Georgia had. Treat any date you see elsewhere as last year's until the farm confirms it.
There is 1 other farm we track in Lumpkin County. All North Georgia farms →
Map pin is set to the town centre. Navigate to the street address above, not the pin.
barnhilltreefarm.com · blueridgemountainstravelguide.com · gacta.com
Checked September 2026.