A Chapin-area farm with one of the widest choose-and-cut variety lists in this research and a soft-opening weekend before the full season, but no published price and weekday access only by appointment.
Sources say pricing varies by species, height, and local market each year; call ahead for current list
Bear Creek Tree Farm, also known online as Bear Creek Greenhouse & Tree Farm, offers one of the broadest choose-and-cut variety lists found anywhere in this South Carolina research — eight named species, from Blue Ice and Carolina Sapphire to Deodar Cedar, Eastern Red Cedar, Leyland Cypress, Murray Cypress, Virginia Pine, and White Pine, plus pre-cut options. That range matters if you have a specific look or growth habit in mind rather than just wanting “a Christmas tree” — a Deodar Cedar’s soft, drooping needles look quite different from a dense Leyland Cypress, and having both available at one farm means you can compare in person instead of guessing from photos.
In the 2025 season, the farm ran a soft opening on November 22 and 23, ahead of its full public season start on November 29. That’s a specific, dated fact from last year rather than a stated recurring policy, so it isn’t converted into a 2026 date here — but it’s still useful context. A soft opening generally means limited hours and inventory for early visitors willing to come before the main rush, which could be worth watching for if the farm announces something similar this year. Regular hours, once the full season is underway, run Thursday through Sunday, with Monday through Wednesday available by appointment only rather than as a walk-in option.
The record includes something more useful than silence but less useful than a number: sources describe pricing as varying by species, height, and local market conditions each year, with an explicit suggestion to call ahead for the current list. That’s honest information about how the farm prices things, but it contains no dollar figures, so none can be repeated here. Given that eight different species are on offer, it’s reasonable to expect some pricing variation between them — a premium species might cost more per foot than a common one — but without actual numbers, that’s a structural expectation, not a confirmed fact about this farm specifically.
Fresh wreaths, garlands, and mailbox swags round out what’s listed for this farm, giving visitors a way to pick up more than just a tree in one stop if holiday decorating is part of the trip. No hayride, cocoa, or play area shows up in the record, which doesn’t mean they don’t exist, only that they weren’t documented in the sources checked here.
If your schedule only allows for a Monday, Tuesday, or Wednesday visit, this isn’t a farm you can simply show up to. The by-appointment structure on those days means calling ahead isn’t just a nice-to-have for pricing questions — it’s the only way to visit at all outside the Thursday-Sunday window.
Bear Creek’s real strength is variety — eight species is genuinely more choice than most farms in this research offer — but between the appointment-only weekday access and the complete absence of published pricing, this is a farm to call before you drive to, not one to swing by on a whim.
Regular hours run Thursday-Sunday (Thu-Fri 3-5:30 pm, Sat 9 am-5:30 pm, Sun 1-5:30 pm), with Monday-Wednesday by appointment only. The 2025 season had a soft opening November 22-23 ahead of a full opening on November 29 — specific 2025 dates, not confirmed to repeat for 2026.
Not stated directly, but with eight named tree species to compare and wreath, garland, and mailbox-swag options on top of the trees, a browsing visit could run longer than a farm with a shorter list.
Not stated numerically. The farm's own soft-opening weekend, ahead of its full public season start, suggests management anticipates enough early demand to want a lower-key preview period before the main rush.
Not described in the record.
Not addressed in the source.
Skip this farm if your only free time is a weekday and you haven't arranged an appointment ahead, since Monday-Wednesday access is by appointment only, and skip it if you need firm pricing before you commit to the drive, since none is published.
No specific nearby-farm comparison is available in this record.
The record lists eight choose-and-cut species: Blue Ice, Carolina Sapphire, Deodar Cedar, Eastern Red Cedar, Leyland Cypress, Murray Cypress, Virginia Pine, and White Pine — one of the widest lists in this research.
Not stated in dollar terms anywhere in the record. Sources say pricing varies by species, height, and local market each year, with a suggestion to call ahead for the current list, but no figures were published.
Only by appointment. The record lists Thursday-Sunday as the regular public hours, with Monday-Wednesday available by appointment only.
In 2025, yes — a soft opening ran November 22-23 ahead of the full season starting November 29. Whether that pattern repeats for 2026 is not confirmed.
2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. In past seasons it has run: Thu-Sun in season; Mon-Wed by appointment. Check with the farm before driving out.
Pricing was not published when we last checked. Sources say pricing varies by species, height, and local market each year; call ahead for current list
Yes. It's cut-your-own and choose-and-cut (staff cuts it for you).
564 Amicks Ferry Rd, Chapin, SC 29036, in Lexington County. It is one of 11 farms we track in Midlands South Carolina.
We track 11 farms in Midlands South Carolina, 9 of which let you cut your own tree. The farm has not published a starting price, so it cannot be compared on cost — call before you budget.
One caveat worth repeating: this farm had not published its 2026 dates when we last checked, while 1 of the 11 farms we track in Midlands South Carolina had. Treat any date you see elsewhere as last year's until the farm confirms it.
There are 4 other farms we track in Lexington County. All Midlands South Carolina farms →
agriculture.sc.gov
Checked September 2026.