For farms

Beaver Meadows Resort Ranch

📍 100 Beaver Meadows Pl, Red Feather Lakes, CO 80545🗓 Season dates not yet published for 2026🏷 From $60

A genuine backcountry cut-your-own experience on a working mountain guest ranch, with real flat-rate pricing, but you supply your own saw and your own winter-ready vehicle.

Aerial view of Beaver Meadows Resort Ranch in Red Feather Lakes, CO

How you get your tree

This farm offers

cut-your-own

Included

snow tube park (12 runs)pond/outdoor ice skatingcross-country skiingice fishingguest ranch lodging

$60 for trees up to 8 feet; $100 for trees over 8 feet.

Our take

Beaver Meadows Resort Ranch is a working guest ranch in the mountains northwest of Fort Collins, and its Christmas tree offering is built differently from almost every other entry in this dataset. Instead of walking rows of a planted field, visitors cut a real conifer from the ranch’s own forested property — actual mountain terrain, not a cleared plantation and not a national-forest cutting permit. That distinction shapes almost everything else about the visit.

The real cost, and the arithmetic that matters

Pricing here is a clean flat rate by size: $60 for trees up to 8 feet, and $100 for anything taller than that. That’s a genuinely useful number to plan around, and the jump is worth noting explicitly — crossing from an 8-foot tree to a 9-foot tree adds $40 to the bill, a straightforward cost most visitors would rather know before they start cutting than discover afterward. Beyond the tree, the property also runs a 12-run snow tube park, a pond for outdoor ice skating, cross-country skiing, and ice fishing, plus guest ranch lodging. The record doesn’t say whether any of those additional activities carry their own separate fees, so treat the $60 or $100 tree price as the one confirmed number and budget flexibly for anything beyond it.

What makes this different from a farm field

Two details in the research notes set real expectations. First, no saw is provided — you bring your own handsaw or power saw, and chainsaws specifically are not allowed. Showing up expecting the farm to hand you a saw, as many cut-your-own operations do, would be a real problem here. Second, trees are capped at 10 inches of trunk diameter, a size restriction that doesn’t show up at most flat-field farms cutting from planted rows. Because this is genuine ranch backcountry rather than a manicured lot, the ranch also recommends a 4x4 vehicle or snow tires and chains, and the record states plainly that visitors walk in snow at altitude to reach the trees. That’s not a casual stroll across level ground; it’s a real winter mountain outing, and boots suited to snow are worth treating as mandatory rather than optional.

Timing and access

The ranch’s own materials describe a season running “November 21 through Christmas Eve,” but the source doesn’t specify which calendar year, so this isn’t confirmed as the exact 2026 window — it may simply be a page that hasn’t been updated yet. Hours run shorter on weekdays (10am-3pm, Monday through Thursday) and open earlier on the weekend (9am-3pm, Friday through Sunday). Given the 3pm close every day of the week, plan to arrive with real daylight left, since walking snowy terrain at altitude gets harder and more disorienting as light fades. Reservations go through the ranch’s online booking system rather than a walk-up model, which is worth setting up in advance of a trip out here.

The honest bottom line

If what you want is a real, rugged, mountain-property version of cutting your own tree — with a fair, transparent flat-rate price — this delivers something few other Colorado listings in this dataset offer. If you want a quick, flat, easy field walk with a saw handed to you on arrival, this isn’t that farm, and the terrain and gear requirements here should be taken seriously before you commit to the drive up.

Planning your visit

Best time to go

The ranch's own site describes a season running November 21 through Christmas Eve, though it doesn't label which calendar year that refers to, so it isn't confirmed to be the specific 2026 window. Hours are Monday-Thursday 10am-3pm and Friday-Sunday 9am-3pm; earlier in the window and on weekdays is the reasonable bet for lighter crowds and more daylight for the walk in.

How long to budget

Not stated directly, but this involves driving to a mountain property, walking in snow at altitude to reach the trees, cutting it yourself, and hauling it out, which is a meaningfully longer outing than a flat-field farm visit.

Crowds

Not stated directly. Trees are cut from the ranch's own forested property rather than a plantation of neat rows, and the record doesn't mention a reservation cap, but the ranch's online booking system for the outing suggests some level of managed capacity rather than unlimited walk-up access.

Parking

Not described in the record. Given this is working ranch land reached by mountain roads, a paved lot is unlikely; the ranch's own recommendation of 4x4 or snow tires and chains points to unplowed or partially plowed conditions.

Strollers and accessibility

The record states plainly that visitors walk in snow at altitude to reach the trees, which rules this out as an easy or fully accessible outing regardless of mobility level.

What to bring

  • Your own handsaw or power saw, since none is provided and chainsaws are specifically not allowed
  • 4x4 capability or snow tires/chains, per the ranch's own recommendation for winter mountain roads
  • Winter boots, since you'll be walking in snow at altitude to reach and haul out your tree
  • A booking made through the ranch's online reservation system ahead of time

How to spend less here

  • Trees up to 8 feet are a flat $60; anything over 8 feet jumps to $100, a $40 difference. If a slightly smaller tree works for your space, staying at or under 8 feet is a straightforward way to save $40 over a taller one.
  • There's no published admission fee separate from the tree price itself in the record, so the $60 or $100 tree charge is the core cost to budget for this part of the visit.

Who it suits

Good for

  • Families wanting an authentic mountain-adventure version of tree cutting rather than a manicured farm field
  • Visitors with a 4x4 or a vehicle on snow tires or chains, since the ranch specifically recommends this for winter mountain roads
  • Anyone who already owns a handsaw or power saw and is comfortable using it in snowy backcountry terrain

Skip it if

Skip Beaver Meadows if you don't have your own handsaw or power saw, since none is provided and chainsaws aren't allowed, and skip it if you want an easy, flat, short walk rather than snowy terrain at altitude, since this is real ranch land, not a cleared plantation field.

Worth pairing with

No specific pairing is given in the record. Two other entries in this dataset — Summerhill Tree Farm in Loveland and NoCo Winter Wonderland in Fort Collins — are also in Northern Colorado's Larimer County, though the record doesn't state driving distance or travel time between Red Feather Lakes and either one.

Common questions

How much does a tree cost at Beaver Meadows?

$60 for trees up to 8 feet, and $100 for trees over 8 feet, per the record.

Do I need to bring my own saw?

Yes. The record confirms no saw is provided, and chainsaws specifically are not allowed. Bring a handsaw or non-chainsaw power saw.

Is there a size limit on what I can cut?

Yes. Trees are capped at 10 inches of trunk diameter, per the research notes.

What else is there to do besides cut a tree?

The property includes a 12-run snow tube park, a pond for outdoor ice skating, cross-country skiing, ice fishing, and guest ranch lodging, though the record doesn't say whether any of those carry separate charges beyond the tree price.

When is Beaver Meadows Resort Ranch open in 2026?

2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. In past seasons it has run: Monday-Sunday. Check with the farm before driving out.

How much does a tree cost at Beaver Meadows Resort Ranch?

Trees start at $60. $60 for trees up to 8 feet; $100 for trees over 8 feet.

Can I cut my own tree at Beaver Meadows Resort Ranch?

Yes. It's cut-your-own, though you will need to bring your own saw.

Where is Beaver Meadows Resort Ranch?

100 Beaver Meadows Pl, Red Feather Lakes, CO 80545, in Larimer County. It is one of 3 farms we track in Northern Colorado.

How Beaver Meadows Resort Ranch compares in Northern Colorado

We track 3 farms in Northern Colorado, 3 of which let you cut your own tree. At $60 to start this one sits right on the regional median of $60.

One caveat worth repeating: this farm had not published its 2026 dates when we last checked, while 0 of the 3 farms we track in Northern Colorado had. Treat any date you see elsewhere as last year's until the farm confirms it.

Other farms near Red Feather Lakes

There are 2 other farms we track in Larimer County. All Northern Colorado farms →

Quick facts

SeasonSeason dates not yet published for 2026
Days openMonday-Sunday
HoursMon-Thu 10am-3pm; Fri-Sun 9am-3pm
Starting price$60
Saw providedNo — bring your own
CountyLarimer County
RegionNorthern Colorado

Directions

Open in Google Maps ↗

Map pin is set to the town centre. Navigate to the street address above, not the pin.

Sources

beavermeadows.com

Checked September 2026.