For farms

Beavers Christmas Tree Farm

📍 10093 Bradford Trafford Road, Trafford, AL 35172🗓 Season dates not yet published for 2026🏷 From $60

A 30-plus-year cut-your-own farm near Birmingham with clear per-species pricing and a cash-only policy, but one that operates on a short list of specific open dates rather than a continuous season.

Beavers Christmas Tree Farm in Trafford, AL

How you get your tree

This farm offers

cut-your-ownchoose-and-cut (staff cuts it for you)

Included

hand-cutting your own treecomplimentary hot chocolatefood available on weekendshandcrafted wreaths for sale

2025-season sample pricing from the farm's own site: Virginia pine (6 ft) $60, Leyland cypress (6.5 ft) $65, White pine (7 ft) $70, Carolina Sapphire priced at $10/foot.

Cash only. This farm doesn't take cards, based on what we found — bring cash or confirm ahead if that's changed.

Our take

Beavers Christmas Tree Farm, in the Greater Birmingham area near Trafford, has been growing trees since 1990, which puts it among the longer-established operations in this batch. Two things distinguish it clearly from the rest of the pack in the record: real, itemized pricing, and an explicit refusal to accept anything but cash or checks.

The pricing actually adds up

Unlike most farms in this research, Beavers published specific sample prices for the 2025 season directly on its own site: Virginia pine at 6 feet for $60, Leyland cypress at 6.5 feet for $65, White pine at 7 feet for $70, and Carolina Sapphire priced separately at $10 per foot. Do the arithmetic on the first three and they land close to the same per-foot rate – $60 divided by 6 feet is $10, $65 divided by 6.5 feet is $10, and $70 divided by 7 feet is $10 – which matches the Carolina Sapphire rate exactly. That consistency, based only on the numbers the farm itself published, suggests a fairly uniform per-foot pricing structure across its tree lineup rather than one species commanding a premium over another. None of this is guesswork – it’s the farm’s own 2025 numbers, though it’s worth remembering prices can shift for the current season and weren’t confirmed updated at research time.

Cash and checks only, no exceptions stated

The farm’s own site is unambiguous: no cards, no Venmo, no Apple Pay. If you’re used to tapping a phone to pay for things, this is the kind of detail that can genuinely derail a visit if you show up without cash or a checkbook in hand.

A deliberately Fraser-fir-free lineup

Beavers explicitly does not grow or sell Fraser fir, and instead offers eight other species, including Virginia pine, White pine, Carolina Sapphire, Blue Ice, and Leyland cypress (the five named specifically in the record). If Fraser fir is what you’re set on, this isn’t the farm – but if you’re open to the broader range of southern-adapted options, the farm’s decades of experience growing them is a point in its favor.

A short list of open dates, not a continuous season

The 2025 schedule the farm’s site was showing listed roughly six specific open days: November 22-23, November 28-30, and December 6-7 and 13, with the farm closed on weekdays apart from the Friday after Thanksgiving. That’s a meaningfully tighter window than farms open continuously through the season, so treat the calendar as something to check closely rather than assume weekday access exists.

What’s included

Hand saws are provided at no charge for the cut-your-own experience, complimentary hot chocolate is available, food is sold on weekends, and handcrafted wreaths are for sale. None of those extras carry a stated price in the record, so treat the tree cost itself – the $60 to $70-plus figures above, depending on species and height – as the core number to budget, with food and wreaths as separate small purchases on top if you want them.

Why the tight schedule and cash policy go together

It’s worth connecting these two facts rather than treating them as unrelated quirks. A farm running on roughly six specific open days a season, rather than continuously for a month, is handling a concentrated burst of visitors on each of those days. Cash-and-check-only policies are common at smaller, seasonal operations like this partly because they avoid card-processing fees and equipment on days when the farm may not be staffed the rest of the week – that’s a general, reasonable inference about why small seasonal farms often go cash-only, not a stated reason from Beavers itself. Either way, the practical result is the same: know the date you’re going before you leave home, and have cash or a checkbook in hand when you get there.

The bottom line

Between the transparent pricing, the long operating history, and the clear cash-only policy stated up front, this is one of the more straightforward farms in the batch to plan around – as long as you check the specific open dates and bring cash.

Planning your visit

Best time to go

The 2025 schedule the farm's site was still showing at research time listed a limited set of open days: Nov 22-23, Nov 28-30, Dec 6-7, and Dec 13, closed on weekdays except the Friday after Thanksgiving. If 2026 follows the same pattern, plan around specific weekend dates rather than assuming weekday access.

How long to budget

Not stated in the record. Hand-cutting your own tree, per the record, suggests planning for more time than a pre-cut pickup, since you're walking the field and doing the cutting yourself.

Crowds

Not stated directly, but a farm running on a short list of specific weekend dates (roughly six open days rather than a full season) concentrates whatever demand it has into fewer opportunities to visit, which points toward busier individual open days than a farm running continuously for a month or more.

Parking

Not described in the source material.

Strollers and accessibility

Not addressed in the source material.

What to bring

  • Cash or a checkbook -- the farm's own site states plainly that no cards, Venmo, or Apple Pay are accepted
  • A specific one of the farm's limited open dates in mind, rather than a general weekday plan, since it's closed most weekdays
  • Comfort hand-cutting your own tree, since that's the primary activity described in the record

How to spend less here

  • The farm's own site listed 2025-season sample pricing: Virginia pine at 6 feet for $60, Leyland cypress at 6.5 feet for $65, White pine at 7 feet for $70, and Carolina Sapphire priced at $10 per foot
  • Comparing those three flat prices to their heights works out to roughly $10 per foot across the board (60/6, 65/6.5, 70/7), which matches the separately stated Carolina Sapphire per-foot rate -- so the farm appears to price fairly consistently by height across species rather than charging a premium for any one variety, based on the numbers actually published

Who it suits

Good for

  • Visitors who want a clear, published price per species going in rather than calling to ask
  • Cash-paying customers, since the farm is explicit that it takes only cash and checks
  • Anyone specifically looking for Carolina Sapphire, Blue Ice, or another non-Fraser variety, since this farm doesn't grow or sell Fraser fir at all

Skip it if

Skip Beavers if you only carry cards or digital payment, since the farm states plainly it accepts cash and checks only -- no cards, Venmo, or Apple Pay -- and skip it if you specifically want a Fraser fir, since the farm has chosen not to grow or sell that species.

Worth pairing with

No specific nearby-farm comparison is available in this record.

Common questions

Does Beavers take credit cards?

No. The farm's own site is explicit that it accepts cash and checks only -- no cards, Venmo, or Apple Pay.

How much does a tree cost?

2025-season sample pricing from the farm's site: Virginia pine (6 ft) $60, Leyland cypress (6.5 ft) $65, White pine (7 ft) $70, and Carolina Sapphire at $10 per foot. Those figures work out to roughly $10 per foot across the listed sizes.

Does the farm sell Fraser fir?

No. Beavers explicitly does not grow or sell Fraser fir, offering eight other species instead, including Virginia pine, White pine, Carolina Sapphire, Blue Ice, and Leyland cypress.

Is the farm open every day during the season?

No. The 2025 schedule showed a limited set of specific dates -- Nov 22-23, Nov 28-30, Dec 6-7, and Dec 13 -- closed on weekdays except the Friday after Thanksgiving.

When is Beavers Christmas Tree Farm open in 2026?

2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. In past seasons it has run: 2025 season: Nov 22-23, Nov 28-30, Dec 6-7, Dec 13 (closed Mon-Fri except Nov 28). Check with the farm before driving out.

How much does a tree cost at Beavers Christmas Tree Farm?

Trees start at $60. 2025-season sample pricing from the farm's own site: Virginia pine (6 ft) $60, Leyland cypress (6.5 ft) $65, White pine (7 ft) $70, Carolina Sapphire priced at $10/foot.

Can I cut my own tree at Beavers Christmas Tree Farm?

Yes. It's cut-your-own and choose-and-cut (staff cuts it for you), and a saw is provided.

Where is Beavers Christmas Tree Farm?

10093 Bradford Trafford Road, Trafford, AL 35172, in Jefferson County. It is one of 2 farms we track in North Alabama (Greater Birmingham).

Other farms near Trafford

There are 6 other farms we track in Jefferson County. All North Alabama (Greater Birmingham) farms →

Quick facts

SeasonSeason dates not yet published for 2026
Days open2025 season: Nov 22-23, Nov 28-30, Dec 6-7, Dec 13 (closed Mon-Fri except Nov 28)
Hours9:00 AM-5:00 PM or until dark on operating days (2025 season)
Starting price$60
Tree typesVirginia pine, White pine, Carolina Sapphire, Blue Ice, Leyland cypress
Saw providedYes
CountyJefferson County
RegionNorth Alabama (Greater Birmingham)

Directions

Open in Google Maps ↗

Map pin is set to the town centre. Navigate to the street address above, not the pin.

Sources

beaverschristmastreefarm.com

Checked September 2026.