For farms
✓ 2026 dates confirmed on the farm's own site

Ben's Christmas Tree Farm

📍 7719 Ryan Road, Harvard, IL 60033🗓 Opens November 27, 2026 (closing date not published)🏷 From $52

A Certified Naturally Grown farm near Harvard with over 10,000 Fraser firs, clear per-foot pricing with a 6.5-foot minimum charge, free saws and wagon rides, and confirmed card acceptance — opening Nov 27, 2026.

Aerial view of Ben's Christmas Tree Farm in Harvard, IL

How you get your tree

This farm offers

cut-your-own

Included

wagon ridesSanta and horse-drawn wagon rides (seasonal, roughly 10am-3pm)tree netting/baling

Pines start at $52 ($8/ft, 6.5 ft minimum); firs and spruces start at $98 ($15/ft, 6.5 ft minimum). Per the farm's own website for the 2026 season.

Our take

Ben’s Christmas Tree Farm, in Harvard, opens for its 2026 season on November 27, per its own website — a specific, farm-confirmed date rather than a resolved estimate. The farm describes itself as Certified Naturally Grown, meaning it’s grown without herbicides or pesticides, and reports a large Fraser fir inventory of over 10,000 trees among 8 total varieties, though only Fraser fir is named specifically in the record; the other seven varieties aren’t identified by species in the sources checked.

Pricing, worked out plainly

Ben’s uses a per-foot pricing model with a 6.5-foot minimum charge, split into two species tiers. Pines run $8 per foot, working out to a $52 starting price at the minimum height. Firs and spruces run $15 per foot, starting at $98 at that same 6.5-foot minimum. The minimum-charge detail matters in a specific way: if you’re hoping for a small, inexpensive tree well under 6.5 feet, you won’t save money by choosing a shorter one — it’s billed at the minimum regardless. Scaling the fir/spruce rate up, a 9-foot tree at $15/foot comes to $135, using only the numbers published on the farm’s own site.

What’s included, and how you pay

Saws are provided, and netting/baling service is available, per the record, so there’s no need to bring your own gear. On payment, Ben’s accepts cash, checks, and credit cards — a real point of contrast with several nearby cash-only farms in this same research batch, and worth knowing if a card is your preferred way to pay.

Santa and the wagon, with a schedule caveat

The farm’s own site describes Santa and a horse-drawn wagon appearing on weekends, roughly between 10am and 3pm. That’s a genuine draw for families, but it also means weekends will likely be busier and more festive than weekday visits, and a weekday trip may not include either. If seeing Santa is the point of the visit, plan for a weekend and roughly that midday window.

Hours worth noting

Weekday hours run 9am to 4:30pm; weekend hours shift later, opening at 10am and closing at the same 4:30pm. That’s a narrower weekend morning window than some farms that open at 9am on weekends too, so an early-riser weekend visit should still expect a 10am opening here.

The honest bottom line

Ben’s combines a large, specifically Fraser-fir-heavy inventory, transparent per-foot pricing, free saws, and broad payment options with a genuine weekend Santa-and-wagon draw — a strong overall package, with the main caveat being that the 6.5-foot minimum charge means there’s no real discount for choosing a small tree.

Planning your visit

Best time to go

The farm's own site states plainly that it opens Nov 27, 2026. Weekday hours run 9am-4:30pm; weekend hours run 10am-4:30pm. Santa and the horse-drawn wagon typically appear midday on weekends, per the farm's own site, which makes weekends busier but more festive.

How long to budget

Not stated as a number, but with free wagon rides, a Santa visit on weekends, and a large field to walk across 8 named varieties, plan for more than a quick in-and-out stop, especially on a weekend.

Crowds

Not stated directly, but with Santa and horse-drawn wagon rides typically appearing midday on weekends, per the farm's own site, weekends will draw more families than weekday visits.

Parking

Not described in the record.

Strollers and accessibility

Not addressed in the source.

What to bring

  • No saw needed — one is provided, per the record
  • Cash, check, or a credit card, since all three are accepted
  • A realistic size expectation if you want a short tree, since anything under 6.5 feet is still billed at the 6.5-foot minimum

How to spend less here

  • Pines start at $52, worked out from an $8-per-foot rate with a 6.5-foot minimum charge, meaning even a shorter pine costs at least $52
  • Firs and spruces start at $98, from a $15-per-foot rate with the same 6.5-foot minimum, so a shorter fir or spruce still costs at least $98
  • A 9-foot fir at the stated $15/foot rate works out to $135 using only the farm's published per-foot number; scale that arithmetic to your target height
  • Netting/baling and saws are provided at no separately stated extra charge, per the record

Who it suits

Good for

  • Families who want a Santa visit and horse-drawn wagon rides as part of the trip, roughly 10am-3pm on weekends
  • Visitors who prefer paying by card, since Ben's accepts cash, checks, and credit — unlike several cash-only neighbors
  • Shoppers specifically wanting a Fraser fir, since the farm reports over 10,000 in inventory among its 8 total varieties

Skip it if

Skip a weekday visit if seeing Santa and the wagon rides matters, since those appear to be a weekend-only feature, and be aware that even a short tree is billed at the 6.5-foot minimum rate, so this isn't the cheapest option if you specifically want a small tree.

Worth pairing with

Conifera Tree Farm, also in Harvard, is a separate property in the same town, with a wider spruce selection if Ben's inventory doesn't have what you're looking for.

Common questions

How much does a tree cost at Ben's?

Pines start at $52 ($8 per foot, 6.5-foot minimum); firs and spruces start at $98 ($15 per foot, 6.5-foot minimum), per the farm's own website for the 2026 season.

Is there a minimum charge even for a short tree?

Yes. Both pricing tiers apply a 6.5-foot minimum, so a tree shorter than that is still billed as if it were 6.5 feet.

Can I pay by card?

Yes — Ben's accepts cash, checks, and credit cards, per the record, unlike several nearby cash-only farms.

Will Santa be there?

The farm's own site describes Santa and horse-drawn wagon rides appearing on weekends, roughly 10am-3pm, making weekends the more festive but busier option.

When is Ben's Christmas Tree Farm open in 2026?

Opens November 27, 2026 (closing date not published). Daily. Hours: Weekdays 9:00am–4:30pm; weekends 10:00am–4:30pm.

How much does a tree cost at Ben's Christmas Tree Farm?

Trees start at $52. Pines start at $52 ($8/ft, 6.5 ft minimum); firs and spruces start at $98 ($15/ft, 6.5 ft minimum). Per the farm's own website for the 2026 season.

Can I cut my own tree at Ben's Christmas Tree Farm?

Yes. It's cut-your-own, and a saw is provided.

Where is Ben's Christmas Tree Farm?

7719 Ryan Road, Harvard, IL 60033, in McHenry County. It is one of 8 farms we track in Northern Illinois.

How Ben's Christmas Tree Farm compares in Northern Illinois

We track 8 farms in Northern Illinois, 6 of which let you cut your own tree. At $52 to start this one sits below the regional median of $68, undercutting 1 of the 2 priced farms we track here.

What sets it apart locally: it has a hayride or sleigh ride, free netting/baling, which most Northern Illinois farms on our list do not.

Other farms near Harvard

There are 5 other farms we track in McHenry County. All Northern Illinois farms →

Quick facts

SeasonOpens November 27, 2026 (closing date not published)
Days openDaily
HoursWeekdays 9:00am–4:30pm; weekends 10:00am–4:30pm
Starting price$52
Tree typesFraser fir
Saw providedYes
CountyMcHenry County
RegionNorthern Illinois

Directions

Open in Google Maps ↗

Map pin is set to the town centre. Navigate to the street address above, not the pin.

Sources

benstreefarm.com

Checked September 2026.