One of the closest choose-and-cut options to downtown Kansas City, with sleigh rides, a small winter train, and card payment accepted, though no dollar price is published anywhere checked.
Not published; multiple directories describe both choose-and-cut and precut trees at the same location without listed prices.
Bierman’s stands out in this batch mainly for location: several “best of Kansas City” roundups cited in the research highlight it as one of the closer choose-and-cut farms to downtown Kansas City proper, sitting in Wyandotte County near the Quivira Road/63rd Street area, a couple of miles north of Shawnee Mission Parkway. For anyone who doesn’t want to drive out to a rural county for a tree, that convenience is a real, sourced advantage over some of the farther-flung farms in this list.
The record describes Bierman’s offering a real spread of choices: self-cut Austrian and Scotch pine in the field with saws provided, staff-cut versions of the same trees for anyone who’d rather not do the cutting themselves, and precut Balsam fir, Fraser fir, and white pine for people who just want to grab something quickly without walking a field at all. That range means a mixed group — someone who wants the full field experience and someone who just wants a tree in the car in twenty minutes — can both be accommodated at the same stop.
Beyond the trees, sleigh rides and a small winter train are the standout extras here, genuinely more distinctive than the plain hayrack rides offered at several other farms researched in this area. Free hot chocolate, a gift shop, restrooms, and wreaths and garland round out the visit.
One specific, useful detail: the record confirms cards, debit, and cash are all accepted at Bierman’s. That’s not a small thing in this batch — several nearby Kansas farms researched are cash-only, and forgetting that fact means either an ATM detour or an awkward conversation at checkout. Bierman’s removes that friction.
No dedicated farm website or active Facebook page could be confirmed anywhere in the sources checked for this research; contact appears to be phone-only. That’s worth flagging honestly, since it means there’s no easy way to check for last-minute schedule changes online the way you could with a farm that maintains its own site — a phone call to (913) 375-1317 is your best tool for confirming anything before you drive out. Season dates (November 27 to December 20, 2026) and the Friday-only opening-weekend, Saturday-Sunday-thereafter pattern are both estimates based on a recurring pattern described across sources, not confirmed directly by the farm.
No dollar figure for a tree turned up anywhere checked, either. Multiple directories mention both choose-and-cut and precut options being sold at the same location, but none lists a price. That’s a genuine information gap rather than an oversight on our part, and it means budgeting flexibly and asking on arrival is the only honest path here.
Bierman’s convenient KC-proper location, card acceptance, and genuine mix of self-cut, staff-cut, and precut trees make it a reasonable pick for city-based visitors who don’t want a long drive. The tradeoff is a lack of an official web presence to check details against and no published pricing anywhere, so a phone call before visiting is the responsible move.
The season is set for Nov 27-Dec 20, 2026, running 9am-5pm, open Friday only on opening weekend and Saturday-Sunday through Christmas after that. Any weekday within that window that isn't opening weekend would likely be calmer, though the farm's own hours only list Friday-Sunday operation.
Not stated directly, but sleigh rides and a winter train alongside the tree fields suggest budgeting more time than a quick cut-and-leave visit.
Not stated directly, but proximity to downtown Kansas City combined with sleigh rides and a winter train — both bigger draws than a typical hayrack ride — suggests this could see more traffic than smaller, more remote farms in this list, especially on the first weekend after Thanksgiving.
Not described in the record.
Not addressed in the source.
Skip Bierman's if you're hoping for a weekday visit, since the record only lists Friday through Sunday hours, and skip it if you need a confirmed dollar price before committing, since none is published anywhere checked.
No specific nearby-farm comparison is available in this record.
Yes. The record confirms both self-cut (with saws provided) and staff-cut options for Austrian and Scotch pine, plus precut Balsam fir, Fraser fir, and white pine for those who want to skip the field.
Yes. The record confirms cards, debit, and cash are all accepted, unlike some of the smaller cash-only farms in the region.
The record describes it as one of the closer choose-and-cut options to downtown Kansas City proper, in Wyandotte County near the Quivira Road/63rd Street area, a couple miles north of Shawnee Mission Parkway.
Not published anywhere checked. Multiple directories describe both choose-and-cut and precut trees at this location without listing prices.
November 27 – December 20, 2026. Fri (opening weekend only), Sat-Sun through Christmas. Hours: 9am-5pm.
Pricing was not published when we last checked. Not published; multiple directories describe both choose-and-cut and precut trees at the same location without listed prices.
Yes. It's cut-your-own and choose-and-cut (staff cuts it for you), and a saw is provided.
2825 S. 63rd St., Kansas City, KS 66106, in Wyandotte County. It is one of 6 farms we track in Kansas City Region KS.
We track 6 farms in Kansas City Region KS, 5 of which let you cut your own tree. The farm has not published a starting price, so it cannot be compared on cost — call before you budget.
Its season runs about 24 days against a regional average of 24, so it is broadly in line with the rest of the region.
Map pin is set to the town centre. Navigate to the street address above, not the pin.
pickyourownchristmastree.org · kc2026.com
Checked September 2026.