Big Jim Farms is a produce farm's holiday event with a tree-selection program attached, and the farm's own marketing can't agree on whether the trees are already cut or still standing, so this is a call-ahead-first visit, not a plan-and-go one.
General admission to the Winter of Enchantment event/tree field is free. No per-tree price was published on the farm's site, ticket page, or any news coverage found. Paid add-ons found: 5-minute Santa photo session $40 (2 digital images + 1 Polaroid), 4-course farm dinner with wine pairing $125/person (2025 season pricing, via Tickettailor).
Big Jim Farms started as a green-chile and produce u-pick operation in 2017, run by third-generation farmer Jimmy Wagner and his wife Roxanne. The Christmas tree program lives inside a separate seasonal event called Winter of Enchantment, now in its third year as of the 2025 season and partly funded by a $50,000 Albuquerque Tourism Department grant. That history is worth keeping in mind: this reads less like a dedicated tree grower and more like an established produce farm that built a holiday event around itself, with trees as one part of it.
The farm’s own marketing can’t settle on an answer. Its about-us page and a local news writeup both describe visitors picking a “fresh-cut” tree, language that implies the trees are already cut and you choose from what’s on the ground. The Winter of Enchantment site instead invites visitors to “wander through rows of beautiful trees” in “a field of Christmas trees,” which reads more like standing, growing trees. Every source agrees you select an individual tree on-site rather than buying one sight-unseen, but whether the cutting happens before or after you pick is genuinely unclear from what’s published. If the distinction matters to you, whether you want a tree cut fresh that morning or you specifically want to cut your own, call and ask before you go.
General admission to the tree field and holiday market is free, so browsing costs nothing. Beyond that, the only prices published anywhere are for two ticketed add-ons: a 5-minute Santa photo session, which includes two digital images plus one Polaroid, at $40, and a 4-course farm dinner with wine pairing at $125 per person, both 2025-season prices. No per-tree price appears on the farm’s website, its ticket page, or in any news coverage found. For a place billed partly as a tree farm, that is a real gap. Budget for the free admission plus whichever add-ons you want, and plan to ask about the actual tree cost when you arrive, or call ahead so you aren’t negotiating a price on the spot with kids in tow.
Two different hours are published for the same operation: the Winter of Enchantment page lists 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. for the 2025 season, while the farm’s own contact page separately lists general farm hours of 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. daily. One event listing also gives a Montano Rd NW address rather than the farm’s Rio Grande Blvd NW address, so confirm the entrance before driving out. The 2025 event, its 3rd annual year, ran Nov 29 through Dec 21. 2026 dates were not published as of this research, so don’t assume that window repeats.
Albuquerque’s Rio Grande Valley sits at roughly 5,000 feet in low desert, an unusual climate for commercial fir and spruce cultivation compared with New Mexico’s higher-elevation growers. A regularly maintained regional directory checked for this research states plainly that there are no Christmas tree farms in the Albuquerque/Santa Fe area, listing only precut retail lots and national-forest cutting permits, and it does not mention Big Jim Farms at all. The state’s best-documented dedicated grower, at 7,300 feet in the Mora Valley, has reportedly been closed to the public and wholesale-only since 2019. None of that means Big Jim Farms isn’t worth a visit, but it is worth knowing you’re likely looking at the closest thing to a tree farm near Albuquerque rather than one of several comparable options, and that no source confirms what species are actually planted or sold there.
Unconfirmed for 2026. The 2025 event, its 3rd annual year, ran Nov 29 through Dec 21, but 2026 dates had not been published as of this research, so don't assume that window repeats.
Not stated in the record. A stop that includes browsing the market, a bonfire, and maybe a Santa photo is likely an hour or two, but that is a general estimate, not something the record confirms.
Not documented directly. The event is backed by a city tourism grant and appears to be one of the few dedicated holiday attractions in this part of Albuquerque, so the first weekend after Thanksgiving is a reasonable guess for the busiest day, but the record does not confirm actual attendance.
Not stated. More pressing than parking surface: one event listing gives a Montano Rd NW address while the farm's primary address is 3521 Rio Grande Blvd NW, so confirm which entrance to use before you drive out.
Not addressed in any source reviewed.
Skip it if you need a confirmed cut-your-own experience in standing trees, want a per-tree price locked in before you drive out, or aren't willing to call first, since the farm's own pages disagree on whether the trees are already cut or still growing in the field and no per-tree price is published anywhere.
Yes, per the farm's own pricing information, general admission to the tree field and holiday market is free. Paid add-ons are a Santa photo session and a ticketed farm dinner.
Sources disagree. The farm's about-us page and a local news piece describe picking a fresh-cut tree, implying trees are cut ahead of time, while the event's own site describes wandering rows of trees in a field, implying standing trees. Every source agrees you select an individual tree on-site, but which kind of selection that is isn't clear from what's published, so call and ask.
Not published anywhere found: not on the farm's website, its ticket page, or in news coverage. Only the Santa photo ($40) and farm dinner ($125 per person) prices are published. Call ahead for tree pricing.
Not yet published as of this research. The 2025 event, its 3rd year, ran Nov 29 through Dec 21.
2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. In past seasons it has run: Daily. Check with the farm before driving out.
Pricing was not published when we last checked. General admission to the Winter of Enchantment event/tree field is free. No per-tree price was published on the farm's site, ticket page, or any news coverage found. Paid add-ons found: 5-minute Santa photo session $40 (2 digital images + 1 Polaroid), 4-course farm dinner with wine pairing $125/person (2025 season pricing, via Tickettailor).
Yes. It's choose-and-cut (staff cuts it for you).
3521 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87107, in Bernalillo County. It is one of 1 farms we track in New Mexico.
Map pin is set to the town centre. Navigate to the street address above, not the pin.
bigjimfarms.com · winterofenchantment.com · visitalbuquerque.org
Checked September 2026.