One of Rhode Island's largest choose-and-cut operations, with staff who cut and load for free, but 2026 hours and a full price list weren't posted yet as of this research -- only a $5 online coupon is confirmed.
Farm's site advertises a $5 online coupon; a full price list was not published as of Aug 2026.
Big John Leyden’s positions itself as one of the largest choose-and-cut operations in Rhode Island, and the numbers back that up: the farm’s own site reports over 100,000 trees planted across 10 varieties, spanning firs, spruces, pines, and Leyland cypress. That scale changes the visit in a practical way – trained staff are on hand to cut and bale trees for free and load them into your car, so unlike some of the smaller cut-your-own farms in this batch, you don’t need to own or bring a saw. You can still cut the tree yourself if you want the full experience, or tag a tree during an earlier visit and come back later to pick it up.
The one significant gap in this record is timing. As of this research, the farm’s own website was still displaying its most recently posted season as 2024’s – November 23 through December 20, 9am to 4pm daily – with no 2026 dates live yet. That’s worth taking seriously rather than assuming the calendar simply repeats: while the general shape (a season opening around the weekend after Thanksgiving and running daily into late December) is a reasonable guess based on the prior pattern, it isn’t confirmed for this year. A phone call before a special trip is the responsible move here, not an optional extra.
The farm’s site advertises a $5 online coupon, which is the only concrete dollar figure available in the record. No full price list was published as of research time, so there’s no honest way to estimate what a tree actually costs here – not per foot, not a flat rate, nothing. That’s a real gap for anyone trying to budget a trip, and the only responsible thing to do about it is ask directly when you call to confirm hours. Don’t assume a $5 coupon implies cheap trees or expensive ones; it tells you nothing about the base price.
Beyond the trees themselves, the farm leans into being a bigger destination: a 20-foot Santa display and an antique fire truck give kids something to do beyond walking rows of evergreens, and the farm also offers delivery and installation for anyone who’d rather not deal with hauling a tree home themselves. Local press (Country Living) has ranked the farm highly among New England tree farms in past coverage, though that’s a media opinion, not a measured fact, and shouldn’t be read as a guarantee of anything specific about this year’s operation.
One loose end from research: a third-party aggregator listed a different phone number than the one published on the farm’s own site, and the two conflict. The number on the farm’s own site (401-397-4360) is used here as the more trustworthy source, but if a number you find elsewhere online doesn’t match, trust the farm’s own listing over an aggregator.
Big John Leyden’s looks like a genuinely large, staff-supported choose-and-cut operation well suited to families who don’t want to do their own cutting, but with 2026 hours unconfirmed and no price list published at research time, the safe move is a phone call before you commit to the drive.
The farm's own site still shows the most recently posted season as 2024's (11/23-12/20, 9am-4pm), with no 2026 dates live yet. If the pattern holds, expect a season opening near the weekend after Thanksgiving and running daily through mid-to-late December, but confirm by phone before planning a specific date.
Not stated in the record. With over 100,000 trees across 10 varieties and staff assistance for cutting and loading, this reads as a larger, more built-out operation than a small family lot, which can mean more time spent walking the selection but less time spent on the cutting itself.
Not stated directly, but a farm large enough to grow over 100,000 trees, offer staff-assisted cutting, and run kid attractions like a Santa display and fire truck reads as a bigger destination than a small lot, which tends to draw more weekend traffic.
Not described in the record.
Not addressed in the source.
Skip Big John Leyden's this year if you need confirmed 2026 hours or a full price list before committing to a drive, since the farm's own site was still showing 2024 dates at research time and no price list was published.
No specific nearby-farm comparison is available in this record.
No. Trained staff cut and bale trees for free and load them into your vehicle, though you can also cut the tree yourself if you prefer.
No full price list was published on the farm's own site as of this research. The site does advertise a $5 online coupon, but no base tree price is confirmed -- call ahead to ask.
Yes. Customers can either cut a tree the day of visiting or tag one to pick up later, per the farm's own site.
A 20-ft Santa display and an antique fire truck, according to the farm's own site.
2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. In past seasons it has run: Daily. Check with the farm before driving out.
Pricing was not published when we last checked. Farm's site advertises a $5 online coupon; a full price list was not published as of Aug 2026.
Yes. It's cut-your-own and choose-and-cut (staff cuts it for you), and a saw is provided.
179 Plain Meeting House Rd, West Greenwich, RI 02817, in Kent County. It is one of 10 farms we track in Rhode Island.
We track 10 farms in Rhode Island, 9 of which let you cut your own tree. The farm has not published a starting price, so it cannot be compared on cost — call before you budget.
What sets it apart locally: it has free netting/baling, which most Rhode Island farms on our list do not.
One caveat worth repeating: this farm had not published its 2026 dates when we last checked, while 4 of the 10 farms we track in Rhode Island had. Treat any date you see elsewhere as last year's until the farm confirms it.
There are 13 other farms we track in Kent County. All Rhode Island farms →
bigjohnleydens.net · newenglandcities.com
Checked September 2026.