For farms

Brady Tree Farm

📍 265 Antler Drive, Yankton, SD 57078🗓 Opens November 27, 2026 (closing date not published)🏷 Pricing TBD

A family-run Yankton operation with a reported 7,000 trees on the property, but the record has no confirmed species list, no pricing, and weekday visits require an appointment rather than set hours.

Aerial view of Brady Tree Farm in Yankton, SD

How you get your tree

This farm offers

cut-your-ownchoose-and-cut (staff cuts it for you)

Included

wreaths for saleroping/garlandlandscape and container-grown trees for sale

Costs extra

spring asparagus (separate season)

Cash only. This farm doesn't take cards, based on what we found — bring cash or confirm ahead if that's changed.

Our take

Brady Tree Farm is a family operation in Yankton run by Tom and Jody Brady, along with their children Beau and Brooke, and it’s grown beyond a seasonal cut-your-own lot into a broader landscape-tree and nursery business – the farm also sells asparagus in spring and installs landscaping trees for customers year-round. That’s useful context: this isn’t a business that exists only for six weeks a year, which can mean more consistent staff and infrastructure than a purely seasonal operation, though that’s a reasonable inference rather than something stated directly.

What’s confirmed, and what isn’t

The Christmas season opens the day after Thanksgiving, which resolves to November 27, 2026, and no confirmed closing date has been published. Regular hours are Saturday and Sunday, 9am-6pm – a solid full day on both weekend days – with weekday visits available strictly by appointment, 1pm-6pm. That’s an important distinction from farms that simply post shorter weekday hours: showing up unannounced on a weekday here risks finding no one set up to help you, since it’s appointment-based rather than open-but-quieter.

The farm is reported to have roughly 7,000 trees, which is a meaningful number suggesting a real working farm rather than a small backyard operation. What the record doesn’t say is which species those 7,000 trees actually are. No source checked lists specific varieties carried this season, which is a genuine gap if you have a particular type of tree in mind – Fraser fir versus Scotch pine versus spruce all look and behave differently, and there’s no way to know from public sources which the farm is offering without asking directly.

That gap matters more here than it would at a farm with a published species list, because with 7,000 trees on the property, the farm has plainly made choices about what to grow and how much of each – there’s simply no way to know from the outside whether that stock leans toward pines, firs, or spruces, or some mix. If your household has a strong preference (needle retention, scent, branch strength for heavier ornaments), that’s a question worth asking on the phone rather than discovering once you’re standing in the field.

Payment and the pricing gap

This is confirmed as a cash-only operation, which matters for trip planning: don’t assume a card will work, and bring cash before you head out. Beyond the base cut-your-own tree, the farm also sells wreaths and roping/garland, useful if you want more than just the tree itself.

No pricing was found published anywhere – not a base rate, not per-foot pricing, nothing. That’s the same honest gap as several other small South Dakota farms in this area: rather than guessing at a number, the right move is to ask when you call to confirm hours (or set up a weekday appointment) or when you arrive on a weekend.

The honest bottom line

Brady Tree Farm looks like a substantial, established family operation with a large tree count, but the combination of no published species list, no pricing, and appointment-only weekday access means this is a farm to call ahead of, not one to show up at cold – especially if you’re hoping to visit outside the Saturday/Sunday window.

Planning your visit

Best time to go

The season opens the day after Thanksgiving, resolved to November 27, 2026, with no confirmed end date published -- the opening weekend is the one date in the record you can rely on.

How long to budget

Not stated in the record.

Crowds

Not stated in the record.

Parking

Not described in the record.

Strollers and accessibility

Not addressed in the source.

What to bring

  • Cash -- the record confirms this is a cash-only operation, so don't plan on paying by card
  • A phone call ahead if you want to visit on a weekday, since weekday access is by appointment (1pm-6pm) rather than posted hours
  • An open mind about tree variety, since no source lists specific species carried this season

How to spend less here

  • No pricing was found published anywhere for this farm, so there's no dollar figure to offer here. Budget flexibly and ask directly when you call or arrive
  • The farm also sells wreaths and roping/garland, so if a full tree isn't in the budget, those may be lower-cost alternatives -- though no prices are confirmed for those either

Who it suits

Good for

  • Visitors comfortable choosing a tree without a published species list ahead of time, since the farm's roughly 7,000 trees aren't broken down by variety in any source checked
  • Anyone who also wants landscape or container-grown trees, since the farm sells those alongside seasonal cut-your-own trees
  • Weekend visitors, since regular hours are set for Saturday and Sunday rather than requiring advance scheduling

Skip it if

Skip a weekday visit unless you call ahead first, since weekdays are by appointment only rather than set hours, and skip this farm if you need to know species or price before committing, since neither is published anywhere found.

Worth pairing with

No specific nearby-farm comparison is available in this record.

Common questions

Is Brady Tree Farm cash only?

Yes, according to the record. Bring cash rather than counting on a card.

Can I visit on a weekday?

Only by appointment, 1pm-6pm Monday through Friday. Regular walk-in hours are Saturday and Sunday, 9am-6pm.

What tree species does the farm carry?

Not specified in any source checked. The record doesn't list particular varieties, so expect to see what's available on arrival rather than choosing a species in advance.

How much does a tree cost?

No pricing information was found for this farm in any source checked. Ask directly when you call or visit.

When is Brady Tree Farm open in 2026?

Opens November 27, 2026 (closing date not published). Weekends and by appointment. Hours: Saturday/Sunday 9am-6pm, Monday-Friday by appointment (1pm-6pm).

How much does a tree cost at Brady Tree Farm?

Pricing was not published when we last checked.

Can I cut my own tree at Brady Tree Farm?

Yes. It's cut-your-own and choose-and-cut (staff cuts it for you).

Where is Brady Tree Farm?

265 Antler Drive, Yankton, SD 57078, in Yankton County. It is one of 7 farms we track in South Dakota.

How Brady Tree Farm compares in South Dakota

We track 7 farms in South Dakota, 6 of which let you cut your own tree. The farm has not published a starting price, so it cannot be compared on cost — call before you budget.

Other farms near Yankton

Quick facts

SeasonOpens November 27, 2026 (closing date not published)
Days openWeekends and by appointment
HoursSaturday/Sunday 9am-6pm, Monday-Friday by appointment (1pm-6pm)
Starting priceNot published
CountyYankton County
RegionSouth Dakota

Sources

facebook.com · pickyourownchristmastree.org

Checked September 2026.