An unusual pre-tag model where you reserve a tree in October and pick your own cutting weekend later, which rewards early planning and punishes anyone who waits until December to think about it.
Butterfly Farm runs a genuinely different model from every other farm in this batch: instead of opening a field for cut-your-own visits in late November and December, the farm has customers tag a specific tree sometime between early October and the weekend before Thanksgiving, then return on a weekend of their own choosing to have it cut, with staff assistance available. That’s worth understanding clearly before you plan around this farm, because it means the usual “just show up after Thanksgiving” approach that works elsewhere doesn’t apply here.
If you’re reading this in November or December expecting a standard cut-your-own visit, the tagging window has likely already closed for the year. The practical takeaway is that this farm needs to go on your calendar earlier than most – ideally in October, while fall-harvest shopping, mums, hayrides, and snacks are also part of the on-site experience during the tagging period itself. Once you’ve tagged a tree, you pick your own return weekend to cut it, which does offer real flexibility on the back end, just not the flexibility of a spontaneous same-day decision.
The farm plants 50 acres across seven species – Douglas Fir, Fraser Fir, Korean Fir, Canaan Fir, Balsam Fir, Blue Spruce, and White Spruce – a solid variety for a farm this size. No pricing was found published anywhere checked, so there’s no honest figure to give here; ask directly when you go to tag a tree in October, since that’s likely also when a price gets attached to your specific selection.
One unresolved detail worth flagging directly: sources disagree on both the farm’s address and phone number. The farm’s own listing gives 681 Great Road and 401-723-6188, while a separate aggregator lists 679 Great Road and 401-837-3300. Both are used elsewhere online, and this research couldn’t resolve which is correct. The farm’s own number and address are used in this listing, but if you’re relying on a GPS pin or a number you found somewhere else, it’s worth double-checking against the farm’s own site or a direct call before you drive out, especially given the two-step tag-then-cut model already requires more planning than usual.
Butterfly Farm’s pre-tag system is a genuinely distinctive way to get a Christmas tree, well suited to planners who don’t mind an October visit and a second trip later, but it’s a poor fit if you’re looking for a spontaneous same-day cut in December, and the address/phone discrepancy means confirming details directly is worth the extra step.
The farm's tagging window runs from early October through the weekend before Thanksgiving, per the farm's own site; after that, each customer returns on their own chosen weekend to cut the tagged tree. No specific cutting-weekend calendar was found, so the practical best time to act is October, when tagging is still open, not the weekend you actually plan to cut.
Not stated in the record. Because tagging and cutting happen on separate visits here, budget for two trips rather than one -- an October or early-November tagging visit, plus a separate cutting-weekend visit later.
Not stated in the record.
Not described in the record.
Not addressed in the source.
Skip Butterfly Farm if you're looking for a single same-day cut-your-own visit in late November or December without having tagged a tree earlier, since the model here is built around an October tagging window rather than walk-up cutting.
No specific nearby-farm comparison is available in this record.
You tag a tree sometime between early October and the weekend before Thanksgiving, then return on a weekend of your own choosing to cut it, with staff assistance available.
The record describes a pre-tag model rather than same-day walk-up cutting, so a tree needs to be tagged earlier in the season first.
50 acres planted in seven species: Douglas Fir, Fraser Fir, Korean Fir, Canaan Fir, Balsam Fir, Blue Spruce, and White Spruce.
Sources disagree -- the farm's own listing gives 681 Great Road and 401-723-6188, while one aggregator lists 679 Great Road and a different number. The farm's own listing is used here, but this is unresolved, so confirming by phone before visiting is worthwhile.
2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. In past seasons it has run: Wed-Sun (per one aggregator listing; farm's tagging window runs Oct through the weekend before Thanksgiving). Check with the farm before driving out.
Pricing was not published when we last checked.
Yes. It's cut-your-own and choose-and-cut (staff cuts it for you).
681 Great Rd, Lincoln, RI 02865, in Providence County. It is one of 10 farms we track in Rhode Island.
We track 10 farms in Rhode Island, 9 of which let you cut your own tree. The farm has not published a starting price, so it cannot be compared on cost — call before you budget.
What sets it apart locally: it has a hayride or sleigh ride, a gift shop or farm market, which most Rhode Island farms on our list do not.
One caveat worth repeating: this farm had not published its 2026 dates when we last checked, while 4 of the 10 farms we track in Rhode Island had. Treat any date you see elsewhere as last year's until the farm confirms it.
There are 3 other farms we track in Providence County. All Rhode Island farms →
butterflyfarmri.com · newenglandcities.com
Checked September 2026.