For farms

Camelot Christmas Tree Farm

📍 16380 S. Somonauk Road, DeKalb, IL 60115🗓 Season dates not yet published for 2026🏷 From $80

A cash-only, flat-$80-per-tree cut-your-own farm near DeKalb with saws, twine, and a baler provided, plus free hot chocolate and cookies, but a farm website that had a certificate problem at the time of research.

Camelot Christmas Tree Farm in DeKalb, IL

How you get your tree

This farm offers

cut-your-own

Included

wreaths for sale25-foot ropingswagsporch treeshot chocolate and coffeehomemade oatmeal cookiestree netting/baling

Flat $80 per tree for the 2025 season. Cash or check only — the farm says it is not set up to take credit cards.

Cash only. This farm doesn't take cards, based on what we found — bring cash or confirm ahead if that's changed.

Our take

Camelot Christmas Tree Farm, south of DeKalb on Somonauk Road, runs a straightforward flat-rate model: $80 for any tree, cash or check only, for the 2025 season. That’s a genuinely simple number to plan around, with no size-based math needed the way per-foot farms require. The farm also removes some of the usual friction of a cut-your-own visit by providing the saw, twine, a mechanical tree shaker, and a baler on-site — you don’t need to own or borrow any of that gear beforehand.

A month-long season, if the pattern holds

The 2025 season ran from November 28 through December 22, opening the Friday after Thanksgiving and running roughly a full month. That’s a wider window than several nearby farms that close by early-to-mid December, which gives more flexibility about when to go. The 2026 season wasn’t confirmed at the time of this research, so treat that date range as a likely pattern based on last year rather than a promise.

More than just a tree

Beyond the cut-your-own field, Camelot sells wreaths, 25-foot roping, swags, and porch trees — a wider greenery selection than some smaller farms in this batch. It also offers free hot chocolate, coffee, and homemade oatmeal cookies, which is a real value beyond the tree price itself; farms that charge for refreshments effectively add to your total cost, and this one doesn’t.

The website problem worth knowing about

At the time of this research, Camelot’s own website (camelottrees.com) could not be reached directly — the browser reported a certificate hostname mismatch, the kind of error that can mean an expired security certificate or a misconfigured domain. That doesn’t necessarily mean anything is wrong with the farm itself, but it does mean the details here are drawn from a web search aggregating Yelp, the DeKalb County Convention & Visitors Bureau, and other directories rather than the farm’s own current page. If you’re used to checking a farm’s website the week of your visit for last-minute hour changes or closures, that option may not work reliably here — a phone call or the farm’s social media presence is the more dependable path.

Payment is cash or check only

The farm says directly that it isn’t set up to process credit cards, so bring cash or a checkbook. This is worth planning for specifically since $80 in cash is a different ask than tapping a card.

The honest bottom line

Camelot offers a simple, transparent price and removes the gear-and-hassle barrier to cutting your own tree, with genuine extras like free cocoa and cookies thrown in — but the unreachable website means you should verify current-year dates and hours by phone rather than assuming last year’s calendar repeats.

Planning your visit

Best time to go

The 2025 season ran Nov 28 through Dec 22, opening the Friday after Thanksgiving. 2026 dates weren't confirmed at the time of this research, so treat this as a likely pattern rather than a guarantee.

How long to budget

Not stated directly, but with a baler, tree shaker, hot chocolate, coffee, and homemade cookies all part of the on-site experience, this reads as more than a five-minute cut-and-leave stop.

Crowds

Not stated directly, but a full month-long season (Nov 28-Dec 22 in 2025) spreads visits out more than farms with a compressed two-to-three-week window; even so, expect the first weekend after Thanksgiving to be the busiest.

Parking

Not described in the record.

Strollers and accessibility

Not addressed in the source.

What to bring

  • Cash or a check, since the farm can't process credit cards
  • No need to bring a saw, twine, or expect to bale the tree yourself, since all three are provided
  • A backup way to reach the farm, like a phone call, since its own website had a certificate error at the time of this research

How to spend less here

  • A flat $80 covers any tree, per the 2025 season, with no per-foot penalty for size
  • Hot chocolate, coffee, and homemade oatmeal cookies are free, per the record, which is a real cost saved compared to farms that sell refreshments
  • Wreaths, 25-foot roping, swags, and porch trees are all sold separately if you want greenery beyond the tree itself

Who it suits

Good for

  • Visitors who want a simple flat rate regardless of tree height
  • Anyone who wants greenery beyond just a tree, since wreaths, 25-foot roping, swags, and porch trees are all sold here
  • Cold-weather visitors who'll appreciate free hot chocolate, coffee, and homemade oatmeal cookies while cutting

Skip it if

Skip Camelot if you can't pay cash or by check, since the farm says it isn't set up for credit cards, and skip relying on the farm's own website for last-minute details, since it couldn't be reached directly during this research due to a certificate error — call or check social media instead.

Worth pairing with

No specific nearby-farm comparison is available in this record.

Common questions

How much does a tree cost at Camelot?

A flat $80 per tree for the 2025 season, cash or check only, per the farm's own site.

Do I need to bring my own saw?

No. Saws, twine, a tree shaker, and a baler are provided on-site, per the record.

Is the farm's website reliable for checking current details?

At the time of this research, the farm's own site could not be reached due to a browser-reported certificate hostname mismatch. Details here come from a web search of third-party sources instead, so calling ahead or checking social media is the safer way to confirm current information.

Is there anything free while I'm there?

Yes — hot chocolate, coffee, and homemade oatmeal cookies, per the record.

When is Camelot Christmas Tree Farm open in 2026?

2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. In past seasons it has run: Daily. Check with the farm before driving out.

How much does a tree cost at Camelot Christmas Tree Farm?

Trees start at $80. Flat $80 per tree for the 2025 season. Cash or check only — the farm says it is not set up to take credit cards.

Can I cut my own tree at Camelot Christmas Tree Farm?

Yes. It's cut-your-own, and a saw is provided.

Where is Camelot Christmas Tree Farm?

16380 S. Somonauk Road, DeKalb, IL 60115, in DeKalb County. It is one of 10 farms we track in Chicago Suburbs.

How Camelot Christmas Tree Farm compares in Chicago Suburbs

We track 10 farms in Chicago Suburbs, 9 of which let you cut your own tree. At $80 to start this one sits below the regional median of $85, undercutting 4 of the 8 priced farms we track here.

What sets it apart locally: it has wreaths and garland for sale, free netting/baling, which most Chicago Suburbs farms on our list do not.

One caveat worth repeating: this farm had not published its 2026 dates when we last checked, while 2 of the 10 farms we track in Chicago Suburbs had. Treat any date you see elsewhere as last year's until the farm confirms it.

Other farms near DeKalb

There are 2 other farms we track in DeKalb County. All Chicago Suburbs farms →

Quick facts

SeasonSeason dates not yet published for 2026
Days openDaily
HoursMon–Fri 10am–4pm (opening Friday 9am–4pm); Sat–Sun 9am–4pm, per the 2025 season
Starting price$80
Saw providedYes
CountyDeKalb County
RegionChicago Suburbs

Directions

Open in Google Maps ↗

Map pin is set to the town centre. Navigate to the street address above, not the pin.

Sources

camelottrees.com

Checked September 2026.