A small, tightly-run East Bay farm that supplies saws and twine and asks visitors to choose quickly given limited capacity, but publishes no price list on its own site.
Site directs visitors to a separate price list not captured in this research.
This East Bay farm has been family-owned since 1965 and markets itself specifically as pesticide-free tree growing, which is a distinct hook among the choose-and-cut options in the area. It’s also, by its own description, a smaller operation than some of the larger valley farms — the site explicitly asks visitors to make their tree selection quickly because of capacity limits, a level of candor about crowding that most farms in this research batch simply don’t offer.
Unlike most farms in this research pass, Castro Valley’s own site states a specific 2026 opening date directly: Sunday, November 22, running for the three weekends that follow, Friday through Sunday only. That’s a real, farm-stated date rather than a resolved estimate carried over from a “day after Thanksgiving” pattern, which makes it more trustworthy than most of the season windows in this batch. It also means the entire season is compressed into four weekends — no weekday cutting is offered — so if your schedule only allows weekday visits, this farm won’t work for you this year.
The capacity warning on the farm’s own site is worth taking at face value. A farm that explicitly tells visitors to hurry their selection isn’t padding its marketing copy — it’s managing a real constraint, whether that’s field size, staff bandwidth, or both. Combined with a four-weekend season and no weekday option, this points toward a farm where arriving early in the day, especially on the first weekend or two, gives you more breathing room than showing up on the last weekend when remaining trees and space may be tighter.
Here’s the honest limit of this record: price_from is null, and price_note only notes that the site directs visitors to a separate price list that wasn’t captured in this research. That’s not the same as “no pricing exists” — it likely does, on the farm’s own site — but this record can’t responsibly give you a number, and neither should you assume one. Check the farm’s site for that price list, or call (510) 561-4400 (a second number, (925) 383-4123, also appears in some listings) before you commit to the drive.
Saws, twine, and site maps are supplied on arrival, so you don’t need to bring cutting tools. Beyond that, the record has no listed tree species and no activities beyond the cutting itself — this reads as a farm focused on the core tree-buying experience rather than a full agritourism outing with hayrides or a petting zoo.
Castro Valley Christmas Tree Farm gives you a rare, farm-confirmed 2026 date and a clear signal that it runs lean on capacity, but the actual cost of a tree is a genuine unknown from what’s published — check the farm’s price list or call before you go.
The farm's own site states it opens Sunday, Nov 22, 2026 and runs the following three weekends, Friday through Sunday only. Given the farm's own note about limited capacity, the earlier weekends in that run are worth targeting before inventory or space tightens up.
Not stated directly, but the farm's own request that visitors choose quickly due to capacity limits suggests this is meant to be a more efficient visit than a wander-and-linger outing.
Not stated directly, but the farm's own site explicitly asks visitors to choose quickly due to capacity limits, which is a clearer crowd signal than most records in this batch — treat this as a farm that fills up, especially on weekends, since it's only open Fri-Sun for four weekends total.
Not described in the record beyond the general East Bay Hills location; no street address is published.
Not addressed in the source.
Skip this farm if you want a leisurely, browse-everything visit, since the site explicitly asks visitors to make selections quickly due to capacity limits, and skip it if you need a published price before you go, since the site redirects to a separate price list not captured here.
No specific nearby-farm comparison is available in this record.
Not captured in this research. The farm's site directs visitors to a separate price list rather than posting prices directly on the page reviewed, so there's no dollar figure to give here.
No — the farm supplies site maps, saws, and twine on arrival, per the record.
The farm describes its location only as the East Bay Hills just north of Castro Valley, without a published street address, so the coordinates used here are a city-centre approximation.
The farm's own site states it opens Sunday, Nov 22, 2026, and runs the following three weekends, Friday through Sunday.
Opens November 22, 2026 (closing date not published). Fri-Sun. Hours: Fri–Sun 8:00am–4:45pm.
Pricing was not published when we last checked. Site directs visitors to a separate price list not captured in this research.
Yes. It's cut-your-own and choose-and-cut (staff cuts it for you), and a saw is provided.
We track 9 farms in Bay Area CA, 9 of which let you cut your own tree. The farm has not published a starting price, so it cannot be compared on cost — call before you budget.
Map pin is set to the town centre. Navigate to the street address above, not the pin.
cvtreefarm.com
Checked September 2026.