One of the more fully documented King County u-cut farms in this research — seven tree species, saws and wagons provided, a real cash discount, and a hard sold-out notice most seasons that makes visiting early worth prioritizing.
2025 pricing: Douglas fir $75.45 cash / $79.09 card; Noble, Grand, Fraser, Turkish, Korean fir and Blue Spruce $105.45 cash / $109.09 card. Flat price per tree, not per foot. 2026 prices not yet posted.
Coates Christmas Trees is one of the larger u-cut operations in King County, and one of the better-documented farms in this research — its own website was reachable and still showed a complete 2025 season’s worth of pricing, hours, and policies at the time of this pass. That gives visitors more to work with here than at most nearby farms, even without confirmed 2026 dates.
In 2025, a Douglas fir cost $75.45 paying cash or $79.09 paying card — a $3.64 cash discount. The same $3.64 gap applied to the farm’s six premium species (Noble, Grand, Fraser, Turkish, and Korean fir, plus Blue Spruce), priced at $105.45 cash or $109.09 card. Put another way, choosing one of those premium firs over a Douglas fir cost a flat $30 more in 2025, regardless of payment method. None of that is guaranteed to carry over to 2026 — the farm’s site hadn’t posted new prices as of this research pass — but it’s real arithmetic from real 2025 numbers, and it’s a useful baseline for what to expect walking in.
Seven species is more variety than most u-cut farms in this batch offer, spanning familiar Douglas fir up through Nordmann-family and Turkish and Korean firs that are less common on typical Pacific Northwest lots. Saws, knee pads, and wagons are provided, which lowers the barrier for families who don’t own their own cutting gear or don’t want to haul a tree across a field by hand.
Unlike farms where a season simply winds down, Coates posts an explicit “closed/sold out for the season” notice once its supply runs out — and the site was still showing that notice from the 2025 run at the time of this research. That’s a direct, farm-stated signal that popular sizes and species can disappear well before the calendar says the season is over. Combined with weekend Santa visits scheduled for the first two weekends after Thanksgiving in 2025 (Nov 28-30 and Dec 6-7), the data points toward visiting early rather than treating this as a farm you can put off until mid-December.
A hayride, hot cider and cocoa, and photo props round out the visit, and the farm is pet-friendly on a leash — a detail worth knowing if your dog is coming along and other farms in the area don’t allow pets. None of these extras have stated prices in the record, so budget for them as likely small add-ons rather than assuming they’re free, and don’t expect this page to hand you a number that isn’t there.
Coates gives you more to plan around than most farms in this research: real pricing, a real cash discount, a wide species list, and a clear signal about when to show up. The one thing it can’t tell you yet is whether 2026 will look the same — check the farm’s own site or call ahead before assuming 2025’s numbers still hold.
2026 dates and prices aren't posted yet, but the farm's own site still shows the completed 2025 season: Mon-Fri 10am-5pm, Sat-Sun 9am-5pm, with a hard 'closed/sold out for the season' notice once inventory runs out. Once 2026 dates appear, treat the opening weekend as the priority, not a fallback.
Not stated directly, but between a hayride, tree shaking and wrapping, and choosing among seven species, budget more than a quick errand — roughly an hour or more for a full visit.
Not stated directly, but weekend Santa visits (Nov 28-30 and Dec 6-7 in 2025) and a farm-wide sold-out notice most seasons both point toward the first two or three weekends being the busiest.
Not described in the record.
Not addressed in the source. Hayrides and a wagon are offered, which may help visitors who don't want to walk the full field on foot.
Skip if you're hoping to visit deep into December, since the farm posts a hard closed/sold-out notice most seasons once trees run out, and confirm 2026 pricing before assuming 2025 numbers still apply.
No other farm in this research batch sits close to Auburn; the nearest covered farms are the King County cluster around Issaquah and Maple Valley to the north.
In 2025, Douglas fir ran $75.45 cash ($79.09 card), and Noble, Grand, Fraser, Turkish, Korean fir, and Blue Spruce ran $105.45 cash ($109.09 card), flat per tree rather than per foot. 2026 prices aren't posted yet.
Yes, per the farm's own 2025 pricing — about $3.64 less per tree paying cash instead of card, across all species listed.
Yes, the farm is listed as pet-friendly on leash.
Not guaranteed. The farm's site shows a 'closed/sold out for the season' notice from 2025, so visiting earlier in the season is the safer plan.
2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. In past seasons it has run: Mon-Fri, Sat-Sun. Check with the farm before driving out.
Trees start at $75.45. 2025 pricing: Douglas fir $75.45 cash / $79.09 card; Noble, Grand, Fraser, Turkish, Korean fir and Blue Spruce $105.45 cash / $109.09 card. Flat price per tree, not per foot. 2026 prices not yet posted.
Yes. It's cut-your-own, and a saw is provided.
17225 SE Green Valley Rd, Auburn, WA 98092, in King County. It is one of 6 farms we track in Puget Sound WA.
We track 6 farms in Puget Sound WA, 3 of which let you cut your own tree. At $75.45 to start this one sits right on the regional median of $75.45.
What sets it apart locally: it has a hayride or sleigh ride, a cocoa or cider stand, free netting/baling, which most Puget Sound WA farms on our list do not.
One caveat worth repeating: this farm had not published its 2026 dates when we last checked, while 0 of the 6 farms we track in Puget Sound WA had. Treat any date you see elsewhere as last year's until the farm confirms it.
There are 5 other farms we track in King County. All Puget Sound WA farms →
coateschristmastrees.com
Checked September 2026.