A 20-plus-year Chesnee operation that lets you drive your own vehicle through the rows to select and cut a tree, a real accessibility advantage, but with no confirmed species or pricing.
Cooley Springs Tree Farm in Chesnee offers something genuinely distinctive among the farms covered in this South Carolina research: customers can drive their own vehicle through the tree rows to select and cut a tree, rather than parking and walking the field on foot. That’s a real, practical difference — for a visitor with mobility limitations, a parent managing small kids without a stroller-friendly field, or simply someone who’d rather not trudge through a muddy row in December, driving through the rows to browse before stepping out to cut removes a real barrier that most choose-and-cut farms don’t address.
The farm has operated more than 20 years in the Chesnee area, per its own listing description, and carries a meaningful number of online reviews — 58 seen on Birdeye at the time of this research. That combination of longevity and review volume suggests a well-established local following, even without specific customer feedback quoted in the record itself. Bow saws are provided for customers who do choose to cut their own tree, so there’s no need to bring your own equipment.
No specific tree species were itemized in any source checked for this farm, and neither a price-from figure nor a price note exists in the record. That’s a real gap regardless of the drive-through novelty — knowing you can drive through a field doesn’t tell you whether you’ll find a Leyland Cypress, a Fraser Fir, or something else once you’re there, or what it’ll cost when you find one you like. One older source described a pattern of opening “typically November 23rd” until sold out, but the specific year behind that data point isn’t clear, and it wasn’t phrased as a recurring rule, so it isn’t converted into a 2026 date here. The safest approach is treating the farm’s standing hours — Monday-Friday 10 am-5 pm, Saturday 9 am-5 pm, Sunday 1-5 pm — as the one confirmed schedule detail, and calling 864-384-8719 or checking Facebook closer to the season for everything else.
Unlike several other farms in this research that publish their own sites with price lists or detailed FAQs, Cooley Springs’ online presence runs through directory listings that point back to scchristmastrees.org rather than a dedicated farm site. That’s not unusual for a smaller, longer-established local operation that may rely more on repeat customers and word of mouth than on search-driven traffic, but it does mean current-year specifics take more legwork to track down — Facebook is likely the most current source close to the season.
Cooley Springs’ drive-through field format is a genuinely useful, uncommon feature worth knowing about specifically if walking a field isn’t practical for everyone in your group, but with no confirmed species, pricing, or exact season dates, a phone call or a look at the farm’s Facebook page before you go is the responsible next step.
Hours run Monday-Friday 10 am-5 pm, Saturday 9 am-5 pm, and Sunday 1-5 pm. No season_start or season_end date is confirmed for 2026; one older source described a typical 'November 23rd until sold out' pattern, but the year behind that data point is unclear, so it isn't presented as a 2026 date here.
Not stated directly, but the drive-through field format likely makes this a faster visit than a farm requiring a long walk through rows on foot.
Not stated numerically, but 58 reviews seen on Birdeye alone suggest a well-established local following built over more than 20 years of operation.
Not described in the record, though the drive-through field format itself functions differently from a typical walk-in parking-and-field setup.
The drive-through field format, letting customers select and cut a tree without leaving their vehicle to walk the rows, is a genuine accessibility advantage worth highlighting for visitors with mobility limitations, even though the record doesn't frame it in those exact terms.
Skip this farm if you need confirmed tree species or pricing before you go, since neither turned up in any source checked.
Located in Chesnee near Christmas Hill Tree Farm & Nursery, also covered in this research, giving Spartanburg-area shoppers two nearby choose-and-cut options to compare.
No. The record describes a drive-through format where customers can select and cut a tree from their own vehicle rather than walking the rows on foot — distinctive among farms in this research.
Not found in any source checked. No price-from figure or price note exists in this record, so no dollar figure can be given here.
More than 20 years, per its own listing description, with 58 reviews seen on Birdeye suggesting an established local following.
No independent website was found. Listings point back to scchristmastrees.org, and checking the farm's Facebook page close to the season is the best way to confirm current hours and availability.
2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. Check with the farm before driving out.
Pricing was not published when we last checked.
Yes. It's cut-your-own, and a saw is provided.
418 Martin Camp Road, Chesnee, SC 29323, in Spartanburg County. It is one of 7 farms we track in Upstate South Carolina.
We track 7 farms in Upstate South Carolina, 5 of which let you cut your own tree. The farm has not published a starting price, so it cannot be compared on cost — call before you budget.
One caveat worth repeating: this farm had not published its 2026 dates when we last checked, while 1 of the 7 farms we track in Upstate South Carolina had. Treat any date you see elsewhere as last year's until the farm confirms it.
There is 1 other farm we track in Spartanburg County. All Upstate South Carolina farms →
agriculture.sc.gov · scchristmastrees.org
Checked September 2026.