A precut-only tree seller with a wide species list and a confirmed cash-only policy, but the address geocodes only to the St. Ignatius town center, not the actual lot, so get exact directions before you drive.
Cash only. This farm doesn't take cards, based on what we found — bring cash or confirm ahead if that's changed.
D & M Christmas Trees, listed under a St. Ignatius address, is worth a closer look mainly for its species list, which is unusually long for a small Montana operation: Afghan pine, balsam fir, blue spruce, Douglas fir, Fraser fir, grand fir, lodgepole pine, noble fir, ponderosa pine, white fir, white pine, and white spruce. That’s a genuinely broad selection for anyone with a specific species preference, whether that’s a Fraser fir for its needle retention or something less common like Afghan pine.
The most recent update found in the record states plainly that D&M has stopped offering cut-your-own or choose-and-cut trees and now sells precut trees only, at both this St. Ignatius location and a second point of sale in Kalispell, whose exact address wasn’t published anywhere checked. That’s a real operational shift from an older listing that described a broader cut-your-own and choose-and-we-cut business. Anyone who visited or heard about this farm in past years cutting their own tree should not assume that’s still on offer. If a saw and a walk through the trees is the point of your visit, this isn’t the stop, at least at this location.
One detail in this record deserves particular attention: the exact street address given for this farm would not resolve to a specific parcel on the map, so the coordinates on file are the St. Ignatius town-center point, not the farm’s actual location. That’s a meaningfully different thing than a farm with a confirmed rural address that’s simply hard to find. It means anyone relying on a map pin from this listing could end up in the wrong part of town entirely. Call 406-824-8383 before you leave the house and get real directions, not just a street name.
The record confirms this is a cash-only operation, with no card payment mentioned in any source checked. That’s worth planning around, especially paired with the fact that neither price_from nor price_note exists in the record at all, so this page can’t tell you what a tree costs. Bring cash in an amount you’re comfortable with, and ask the price as soon as you arrive, or better, when you call ahead for directions.
Beyond trees, the record notes D&M has historically sold split firewood with delivery available year-round. If you’re in the market for both a tree and a firewood supply, this is a reasonable single stop, though current pricing and availability for firewood is just as unconfirmed as it is for the trees.
D & M offers a genuinely wide species selection for a precut buyer, but between the operational change away from cut-your-own, the unconfirmed address, and the total lack of published pricing or hours, this is a call-first situation on every count, not just one.
No 2026 season dates, days, or hours are published. Historically the farm ran a short window of Black Friday weekend plus one additional weekend, 9 am to 4 pm, but the record notes the farm has since changed how it operates, so that old schedule can't be assumed to still apply.
Not stated in the record. As a precut-only lot rather than a field to walk, expect a shorter visit than a cut-your-own farm.
Not stated in the record.
Not described in the record.
Not addressed in the record.
Skip D & M Christmas Trees if you need a confirmed address to plug into GPS, since the exact street address would not resolve to a specific parcel and the coordinates on file are only the St. Ignatius town center, and skip it if you're set on cutting your own, since the record confirms this location has moved to precut-only.
No specific nearby-farm comparison is available in this record.
No. The record confirms this location has moved to precut-only, at both this St. Ignatius site and a second point of sale in Kalispell.
The record lists a notably wide range, including Afghan pine, balsam fir, blue spruce, Douglas fir, Fraser fir, grand fir, lodgepole pine, noble fir, ponderosa pine, white fir, white pine, and white spruce.
Yes, per the record. No card payment option is mentioned anywhere in the sources checked.
Yes. The record notes split firewood is sold as well, with delivery historically available year-round.
2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. Check with the farm before driving out.
Pricing was not published when we last checked.
No — this farm sells pre-cut trees it grew itself; you don't cut your own here.
205 Bear Track Lane, St. Ignatius, MT 59865, in Lake County. It is one of 5 farms we track in Northwest Montana.
We track 5 farms in Northwest Montana, 3 of which let you cut your own tree. The farm has not published a starting price, so it cannot be compared on cost — call before you budget.
One caveat worth repeating: this farm had not published its 2026 dates when we last checked, while 0 of the 5 farms we track in Northwest Montana had. Treat any date you see elsewhere as last year's until the farm confirms it.
There are 2 other farms we track in Lake County. All Northwest Montana farms →
Map pin is set to the town centre. Navigate to the street address above, not the pin.
facebook.com · pickyourownchristmastree.org
Checked September 2026.