For farms

Double Creek Farm

📍 1288 Oakdale Loop, Livingston, TX 77351🗓 Opens November 27, 2026 (closing date not published)🏷 Pricing TBD

The broadest tree-species lineup found in this entire research -- six varieties across cut-your-own and precut -- plus free hayrides, a winter train, and bonfires, though no pricing was found and the farm may close before Christmas.

Aerial view of Double Creek Farm in Livingston, TX

How you get your tree

This farm offers

cut-your-own

Included

tree shaking and balingwinter hayrideswinter train ridesbonfiresfree hot coffee/chocolate/cidergift shoppicnic areabounce housefarm animalsbirthday parties

Our take

Double Creek Farm offers the broadest tree-species selection found anywhere in this Texas research: cut-your-own Virginia Pine and Carolina Sapphire in the field, with saws provided and trees shaken and baled for you, plus four separate precut varieties – Balsam Fir, Concolor Fir, Fraser Fir, and Blue Spruce. That’s six total tree options at a single stop, more than double what most other farms in this dataset offer.

A long list of genuinely free extras

Beyond the trees themselves, the record describes winter hayrides, a winter train ride, bonfires, and free hot coffee, chocolate, and cider – all without a separate charge mentioned anywhere in the sources checked. That’s a meaningful list of included activities, especially compared to farms elsewhere in this research that charge admission or ticket fees for similar rides and attractions. A gift shop, picnic area, bounce house, and farm animals round out the property, and birthday parties can also be booked on-site, adding an event-hosting option most tree farms don’t offer.

The closing date is vaguer than it sounds, and that matters

The farm describes its season as running until “last day is Sunday in mid-December,” which is specific enough to suggest a real, deliberate closing pattern but too vague to convert into an exact calendar date. What that phrasing does make clear is that Double Creek likely wraps up its season well before Christmas Eve, unlike several other farms in this research that explicitly stay open through December 24. If a wide selection across six tree varieties is part of what draws you here, that’s a real reason to plan an earlier visit – within the first couple of weeks after the Nov 27, 2026 opening – rather than assuming you can shop right up until the holiday.

No pricing anywhere, despite the detailed everything else

Given how thoroughly documented the species list, activities, and scheduling pattern are here, it’s a notable gap that no pricing – for any of the six tree varieties – turned up in any source checked. That’s worth a direct question when you call or arrive, since with this many options at different formats (field-cut vs. precut, common pine vs. specialty spruce), it’s reasonable to expect meaningfully different prices across the lineup.

The honest bottom line

Double Creek Farm’s combination of the widest species selection in this research and a long list of genuinely free extras makes it one of the more appealing family destinations in this Houston-area batch, but the vague mid-December closing date and total absence of pricing mean an early visit and a phone call are both worth building into your plan.

Planning your visit

Best time to go

The season is expected to open Nov 27, 2026 (Friday after Thanksgiving), Fri-Sat 10am-5pm and Sun 1pm-5pm. The farm says its last day is a Sunday in mid-December, which is too vague to pin to an exact date -- plan an earlier visit if a wide selection matters to you.

How long to budget

Not stated directly, but between winter hayrides, a winter train ride, bonfires, a picnic area, a bounce house, and farm animals, this reads as a longer, activity-filled visit rather than a quick tree pickup.

Crowds

Not stated in the record. A weekend-concentrated schedule (Fri-Sun only) combined with an unusually wide activity list -- hayrides, a train, bonfires -- likely draws solid family traffic on Saturdays specifically.

Parking

Not described in the record.

Strollers and accessibility

Not addressed in the sources reviewed.

What to bring

  • A plan to visit earlier rather than later in the season, since the farm's last day is reported as a Sunday in mid-December rather than a fixed Christmas Eve close
  • A backup payment method, since cash-only status isn't confirmed either way
  • A question about pricing to ask on arrival, since no tree cost is published anywhere checked

How to spend less here

  • No price_from or price_note exists in the record, so no dollar figure can be given here for any of the six tree varieties offered -- ask before committing to a purchase
  • Tree shaking and baling is included as part of the cut-your-own experience, per the record, saving you from needing that equipment yourself
  • Hot coffee, chocolate, and cider are described as free, per the record -- a real cost avoided compared to farms that charge for warm drinks separately

Who it suits

Good for

  • Visitors who want the widest possible species choice -- Virginia Pine and Carolina Sapphire to cut yourself, plus Balsam, Concolor, Fraser, and Blue Spruce precut
  • Families who appreciate free hayrides, a winter train ride, bonfires, and free hot coffee, chocolate, and cider bundled into the visit
  • Anyone considering booking a birthday party on-site

Skip it if

Skip Double Creek if you're planning a visit right before Christmas, since the farm says its last day is a Sunday sometime in mid-December -- notably earlier than farms with a firm Christmas Eve close -- and skip it if you need confirmed tree pricing before committing to the drive.

Worth pairing with

No specific nearby-farm comparison is available in this record.

Common questions

What tree species are available at Double Creek Farm?

Cut-your-own Virginia Pine and Carolina Sapphire, plus four precut varieties: Balsam Fir, Concolor Fir, Fraser Fir, and Blue Spruce -- the widest species lineup found in this research.

How much does a tree cost?

Not stated in the record. No pricing was found in the sources checked.

When does the farm close for the season?

The farm reports its last day is 'Sunday in mid-December' rather than a fixed date, which is too vague to convert to an exact day -- so this farm likely wraps up earlier than farms with a stated Christmas Eve close.

Is anything included for free with a visit?

Yes -- winter hayrides, winter train rides, bonfires, and hot coffee, chocolate, and cider are all described as free in the record.

When is Double Creek Farm open in 2026?

Opens November 27, 2026 (closing date not published). Fri-Sun. Hours: Fri-Sat 10am-5pm; Sun 1pm-5pm.

How much does a tree cost at Double Creek Farm?

Pricing was not published when we last checked.

Can I cut my own tree at Double Creek Farm?

Yes. It's cut-your-own, and a saw is provided.

Where is Double Creek Farm?

1288 Oakdale Loop, Livingston, TX 77351, in Polk County. It is one of 6 farms we track in Greater Houston.

How Double Creek Farm compares in Greater Houston

We track 6 farms in Greater Houston, 6 of which let you cut your own tree. The farm has not published a starting price, so it cannot be compared on cost — call before you budget.

What sets it apart locally: it has free netting/baling, a cocoa or cider stand, a gift shop or farm market, which most Greater Houston farms on our list do not.

Other farms near Livingston

There are 2 other farms we track in Polk County. All Greater Houston farms →

Quick facts

SeasonOpens November 27, 2026 (closing date not published)
Days openFri-Sun
HoursFri-Sat 10am-5pm; Sun 1pm-5pm
Starting priceNot published
Tree typesVirginia Pine, Carolina Sapphire, Balsam Fir (precut), Concolor Fir (precut), Fraser Fir (precut), Blue Spruce (precut)
Saw providedYes
CountyPolk County
RegionGreater Houston

Sources

doublecreektreefarm.com · pickyourownchristmastree.org

Checked September 2026.