A holiday-attraction-style farm with live reindeer, a nativity scene, and scheduled Santa visits -- more of a family outing than a bare-bones tree lot, but pricing and hours weren't consistent across sources.
Reported per-tree pricing has varied by source/year: about $90 in one older mention and $100 with a $5 cash discount ($95) in a more recent season-specific listing. No confirmed 2026 price was found -- treat prior figures as historical only.
Dzen Tree Farm reads less like a simple cut-your-own field and more like a holiday-attraction destination. Live reindeer, a nativity scene, and scheduled Santa visits on select dates are all part of the record, alongside a gift shop, complimentary tree wrapping, and a weekend snack bar. If the goal is a fast, no-frills tree run, this probably isn’t the fastest option in the area – but if a family outing with more to see and do is the goal, this farm’s offerings stand out from the plainer cut-your-own lots nearby.
This record includes a specific, honest complication: sources checked gave conflicting information about pricing. One older mention put the price at about $90 per tree; a more recent, season-specific listing described $100 with a $5 cash discount, landing at $95. These numbers don’t agree, and rather than pick one and present it as current, the honest approach is to flag that neither figure is confirmed for 2026 – they may reflect different years entirely. What is consistent across sources is that pricing has historically been a flat per-tree rate regardless of size or species, so whichever number turns out to be current, it likely won’t scale with tree height.
Reported hours are 9am-4pm, but sources disagreed on which days the farm is open – one listing says Monday through Saturday, another says daily. Season-start dates found across sources also appeared to reflect different past years rather than a single confirmed 2026 date. The one thing that is confirmed: the farm’s CCTGA page describes only seasonal closure, not a permanent shutdown, so it is actively operating.
Given how much of this record rests on conflicting secondary sources, a direct call to the farm is the most reliable way to get an accurate 2026 price, schedule, and details on which dates Santa will be there. This is a farm worth the extra step of confirming ahead of time, precisely because it offers more than a typical tree lot and the added attractions are likely to matter to a family’s planning.
Farms built around live animals, holiday displays, and scheduled character visits generally draw a different, often larger crowd than a plain cut-your-own field, since the attractions themselves become a draw independent of the tree purchase. That’s a reasonable general expectation to bring to a visit here, even without a specific crowd count in the record: expect more families, more time spent beyond just picking a tree, and likely a livelier atmosphere than at a no-frills farm. If a Santa visit date is confirmed by phone, that particular day is likely to be busier than an ordinary weekend at the same farm.
The $5 cash discount mentioned in one recent listing is a specific, real detail worth asking about directly, since it wasn’t confirmed as still active for 2026 and appeared alongside a different, higher base price than an older mention. If bringing cash specifically to capture that discount is part of the plan, a quick phone call to verify it’s still offered avoids arriving with the wrong assumption about the final price.
No confirmed 2026 season dates exist -- sources checked gave conflicting season-start dates from different past years. Reported hours are 9am-4pm, with days-open patterns disagreeing by source (Mon-Sat per one listing, daily per another).
Longer than a typical tree stop, given the live reindeer, nativity scene, and Santa visits; expect this to be a family outing rather than a quick errand.
Not stated directly, but the mix of live reindeer, a nativity scene, and scheduled Santa visits suggests a busier, more attraction-driven atmosphere than a bare cut-your-own field.
Not described in the record.
Not addressed in the record.
Skip if you want a quick, low-frills tree errand -- this farm reads as more of a destination outing -- or if you need confirmed pricing before visiting, since sources disagreed on the current figure.
Not specified in the record.
Sources disagree: about $90 in one older mention, $100 with a $5 cash discount in a more recent season-specific listing. No confirmed 2026 price was found -- treat both figures as historical only.
Yes -- live reindeer, a nativity scene, and Santa visits on select dates, per the record.
Yes. The CCTGA page confirms only seasonal, not permanent, closure.
Fraser fir, Balsam fir, and Blue spruce, per the record.
2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. In past seasons it has run: Reported pattern varies by source: Mon-Sat per one listing, daily per another. Check with the farm before driving out.
Pricing was not published when we last checked. Reported per-tree pricing has varied by source/year: about $90 in one older mention and $100 with a $5 cash discount ($95) in a more recent season-specific listing. No confirmed 2026 price was found -- treat prior figures as historical only.
Yes. It's cut-your-own and choose-and-cut (staff cuts it for you), and a saw is provided.
215 Barber Hill Road, South Windsor, CT 06074, in Hartford County. It is one of 2 farms we track in Greater Hartford CT.
There are 3 other farms we track in Hartford County. All Greater Hartford CT farms →
dzentreefarm.com · ctchristmastree.org
Checked September 2026.