A 90-acre Apple Hill property combining forest, ponds, and orchard with a train ride, but with no confirmed 2026 dates, no pricing figures, and unverified weekend fee information.
Described as "a wide range of prices and sizes"; no specific figures found. A redeemable gate/parking fee may apply on weekends.
El Dorado Orchards covers 90 acres in the Apple Hill area near Camino, combining forest, ponds, meadows, and orchard land into a property that reads as more of a scenic destination than a simple cutting field. A small rail train ride, advertised as the only one of its kind in the area, runs weather permitting — a genuine point of differentiation from most other Apple Hill farms covered in this research, though it’s worth noting the ride isn’t guaranteed on any given day since it depends on conditions.
This record comes with a specific caveat: a direct attempt to fetch the farm’s tree-farm page failed with an SSL handshake error during this research, so the information here is drawn from a web-search summary of the site’s content rather than the primary page itself. That’s one step removed from the farm’s own words, and it hasn’t been independently re-verified, so treat the specifics with a bit more caution than records built from a direct site fetch.
Fraser fir, Nordmann fir, and White fir are the species listed here — a genuinely different lineup from the Monterey pine, cedar, and redwood mix common at the lower-elevation Bay Area farms in this same research batch. That difference tracks with the higher Sierra foothill elevation of the Apple Hill region, and it’s useful information if you’re specifically after a classic fir look rather than the coastal-California species mix.
One source mentioned a possible redeemable gate or parking fee applying on weekends, but this wasn’t confirmed on the primary site due to the fetch failure described above. That’s a genuinely open question rather than a confirmed cost — this record can’t tell you whether to expect that fee or not, only that it’s been mentioned once and not verified. If a small unexpected charge would bother you, it’s worth a quick call to 530-621-2053 to ask directly.
The farm is described only as offering “a wide range of prices and sizes,” with no actual dollar figures found anywhere in the research. Season information is similarly thin: the 2025 pattern was opening the day after Thanksgiving and running Friday through Sunday, with 9am-5pm hours for the pre-Thanksgiving period specifically, but Christmas-season hours weren’t separately confirmed, and no 2026 dates were found at all.
El Dorado Orchards offers a genuinely scenic 90-acre property and a distinctive train ride with Sierra-elevation fir species you won’t find at the coastal farms in this research, but between an unverified weekend fee, no confirmed pricing, and no 2026 dates, this is a farm to call ahead about rather than plan around from what’s published.
The 2025 pattern was opening the day after Thanksgiving, running Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays; no 2026 dates were found, so this isn't confirmed to repeat. Christmas-season hours weren't separately confirmed beyond the 9am-5pm pre-Thanksgiving window listed.
Not stated directly, but a 90-acre property with forest, ponds, meadows, and a train ride suggests more time on-site than a quick tree grab, if you plan to see more than just the cutting field.
Not stated directly in the record.
A gate or parking fee may apply on weekends, per one source, though this wasn't confirmed on the farm's own site due to a fetch failure during this research.
Not addressed in the source.
Skip El Dorado Orchards if you need confirmed 2026 dates or a specific price before committing, since neither was found, and note that a gate or parking fee may apply on weekends per one source — unconfirmed on the primary site due to a fetch failure — so budget a small cushion for that possibility.
The record notes El Dorado Orchards sits in the same Apple Hill / Camino area as Indian Rock Tree Farm and Goyette's North Canyon Ranch, both also covered in this research.
Not specified beyond a description of "a wide range of prices and sizes" — no dollar figure was found in the sources reviewed.
One source mentions a possible redeemable gate/parking fee on weekends, but this wasn't confirmed on the farm's primary site due to a fetch failure during this research — ask when you call.
Fraser fir, Nordmann fir, and White fir, per the record — a different mix than the pine/cedar varieties common at lower-elevation Bay Area farms, reflecting the higher Sierra foothill elevation.
It's advertised as weather permitting, per the record, so it isn't guaranteed on any given visit.
2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. In past seasons it has run: Fri-Sun. Check with the farm before driving out.
Pricing was not published when we last checked. Described as "a wide range of prices and sizes"; no specific figures found. A redeemable gate/parking fee may apply on weekends.
Yes. It's cut-your-own and choose-and-cut (staff cuts it for you).
2888 North Canyon Road, Camino, CA 95709, in El Dorado County. It is one of 7 farms we track in Sierra Foothills CA.
We track 7 farms in Sierra Foothills CA, 7 of which let you cut your own tree. The farm has not published a starting price, so it cannot be compared on cost — call before you budget.
One caveat worth repeating: this farm had not published its 2026 dates when we last checked, while 2 of the 7 farms we track in Sierra Foothills CA had. Treat any date you see elsewhere as last year's until the farm confirms it.
There are 3 other farms we track in El Dorado County. All Sierra Foothills CA farms →
eldoradoorchards.com
Checked September 2026.