A free-entry Bastrop County farm with a hayride out to the cutting fields and one of the earliest season starts in this research, though the $59-and-up price point comes from the prior season rather than a confirmed 2026 posting.
$59 and up (2025 season pricing found); entry to the farm itself is free
Elgin Christmas Tree Farm distinguishes itself in two clear ways within this Austin-area research: it starts its season notably earlier than most Texas farms, and it charges no entry fee at all – you only pay for the tree you actually cut or select.
While most farms in this dataset follow the common pattern of opening the day after Thanksgiving, Elgin’s own site – explicitly labeled “Christmas Season 2026” – states the season begins the weekend before Thanksgiving. That resolves to a start date of November 21, 2026, roughly a week ahead of the typical regional kickoff. If getting first pick of the season matters to you more than following the crowd, that earlier opening is a genuine, actionable reason to consider an early scouting trip here rather than waiting for the more traditional post-Thanksgiving weekend when demand across the whole region spikes at once.
Unlike several other farms in this research that charge a general admission fee on top of the tree price – sometimes $10-20 or more per person for rides and attractions – Elgin keeps farm entry free. The only cost is the tree itself. Based on a 2025-season source, that price started around $59, though this figure wasn’t confirmed on the farm’s own current 2026 page, so treat it as a reference point from last year rather than a locked-in number for this season. Still, even taking that figure only as historical context, a free-entry model is structurally simpler to budget for than a farm charging separate admission.
A hayride carries visitors out to the cutting fields, where choose-and-cut Pine or Cypress trees are the options for anyone doing their own cutting. If a fir is what you’re after, the farm also stocks a walk-up selection of precut firs for those who’d rather not cut at all – a sensible way to serve both preferences without requiring everyone to choose the same tree-buying method.
The same property also grows u-pick blackberries as a separate spring and summer crop, which is a nice piece of context if you’re the kind of visitor who likes supporting a farm across multiple seasons rather than just once a year.
Elgin Christmas Tree Farm’s free entry and unusually early season start make it a strong option for visitors who want to shop before the regional rush, but the pricing available in the record is a year old, so confirm the current rate before you commit to a specific budget.
The farm's own 2026 season page states the season runs from the weekend before Thanksgiving, resolving to a start of Nov 21, 2026. Weekdays in December run 1pm-5pm; weekends from late November through December run 9am-5pm. The early start gives a real selection advantage before the more typical day-after-Thanksgiving crowds arrive elsewhere.
Not stated directly, but a hayride out to the cutting fields plus time to choose and cut a tree suggests planning for at least an hour.
Not stated in the record. An earlier season start than most regional competitors likely means lighter crowds in the opening week or two, before other farms even begin their seasons and shift regional demand toward the post-Thanksgiving weekend.
Not described in the record.
Not addressed in the sources reviewed.
Skip Elgin Christmas Tree Farm if you specifically want a fir species to cut yourself, since the cut-your-own options are Pine and Cypress -- firs here are precut only.
No specific nearby-farm comparison is available in this record. The same property also grows u-pick blackberries during a separate spring/summer season.
No -- the farm's entry is free. You only pay for the tree itself.
2025-season reporting put prices at about $59 and up, though this wasn't confirmed on the farm's own current page and may not carry over exactly to 2026. Confirm before you go.
Yes, for Pine or Cypress varieties in the field via a hayride out to the cutting areas. A walk-up selection of precut firs is also available for those who don't want to cut.
The farm's own site, labeled 'Christmas Season 2026,' states the season runs from the weekend before Thanksgiving, resolving to Nov 21, 2026 -- earlier than the more common day-after-Thanksgiving start seen at many other Texas farms.
Opens November 21, 2026 (closing date not published). Weekdays 1pm-5pm; Weekends 9am-5pm. Hours: Weekdays (Dec) 1pm-5pm; Weekends (late Nov-Dec) 9am-5pm.
Trees start at $59. $59 and up (2025 season pricing found); entry to the farm itself is free
Yes. It's cut-your-own and choose-and-cut (staff cuts it for you).
120 Natures Way, Elgin, TX 78621, in Bastrop County. It is one of 3 farms we track in Austin Area.
We track 3 farms in Austin Area, 3 of which let you cut your own tree. At $59 to start this one sits right on the regional median of $59.
What sets it apart locally: it has free netting/baling, which most Austin Area farms on our list do not.
There is 1 other farm we track in Bastrop County. All Austin Area farms →
elginchristmastreefarm.com · austinfunforkids.com
Checked September 2026.