A Danville farm offering both self-service cutting and staff-assisted cutting of the same trees, plus a distinctive first-Saturday-of-December chainsaw carving demo, though 2026 hours and dates weren't posted as of this research.
Evans Whispering Pines, near Danville in Hendricks County, stands out among the farms in this research for one specific reason: it explicitly offers both a self-service and a full-service cutting option on the same trees. Most cut-your-own farms are built around the assumption that you’re walking the field with a saw. Here, if that’s not workable for your group, whether because of young kids, mobility limits, or just not wanting to do the work, staff will cut the tree for you instead. That’s a genuinely useful bit of flexibility that not every farm in this region offers.
Pre-cut Fraser Fir, Scotch Pine, and White Pine are confirmed available for anyone who wants a tree without walking the field at all. The farm’s own description of “self or full service” suggests choose-and-cut is also on the table for those species, though the exact mechanics – whether every species is available both ways, whether a saw is provided if you self-cut – weren’t detailed in the sources checked for this research. If the specific combination matters to you, a quick call before visiting will clear that up.
Beyond the tree sale, the farm’s site describes a recurring chainsaw wood-carving demonstration held on the first Saturday of December. This is a distinctive draw – not something most tree farms in this research offer – and worth building a visit around if that kind of thing appeals to your family. Whether that pattern repeats on the same schedule for 2026 wasn’t confirmed directly; the farm’s promotional content available during this research was general and without explicit 2026 dates.
The farm also lists wreath and garland making, animal visits, and a gift shop among its offerings, plus group and school tours available by appointment. That combination – hands-on craft activities, animals, and a formal tour option – suggests a farm set up to handle organized groups as comfortably as individual families, which is a useful thing to know if you’re coordinating a class trip or a larger gathering.
Season dates and hours for 2026 were not posted as of this research. The farm’s own site pointed visitors toward checking Facebook or Instagram closer to the season for current information, which is itself a useful tell: this isn’t a farm that’s simply behind on updating its main page, it’s one that appears to manage its real-time scheduling through social media rather than the website. If you’re planning around this farm, that’s where to look for the actual dates rather than refreshing the main site.
The full-service cutting option and the chainsaw demo make Evans Whispering Pines worth considering, particularly for visitors who need an accessible alternative to field cutting or who want something beyond the standard tree-and-go visit. Just plan to check the farm’s social media rather than its website for current 2026 dates and hours before you drive out.
Unknown for general visits -- 2026 season dates and hours were not posted. If the chainsaw wood-carving demo is a draw for you, it recurs on the first Saturday of December in past seasons, per the farm's own site.
An hour or so for a straightforward cut; longer if you're catching the carving demo or a wreath-making session.
Not specified in available sources. No hours or season-length information was found to estimate crowd patterns.
Not specified in available sources.
The farm explicitly offers a 'full service' option where staff will cut the tree for you, which is a meaningful accessibility consideration for anyone who can't walk the field or handle a saw themselves.
you need confirmed 2026 hours or season dates before committing, since none were posted as of this research.
Not established from available sources.
No. Evans Whispering Pines offers both self-service (you cut) and full-service (staff cuts for you) options, per the farm's own site.
Pre-cut Fraser Fir, Scotch Pine, and White Pine are confirmed available for those who'd rather not walk the field.
The farm's site describes a recurring first-Saturday-of-December chainsaw wood-carving demonstration as a distinctive draw beyond the tree sale itself. Confirm the exact date directly, since specific 2026 scheduling wasn't posted as of this research.
Yes, group and school tours are available by appointment, per the farm's site.
2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. Check with the farm before driving out.
Pricing was not published when we last checked.
Yes. It's cut-your-own and choose-and-cut (staff cuts it for you).
4538 N CR 400 W, Danville, IN 46122, in Hendricks County. It is one of 5 farms we track in Central Indiana.
We track 5 farms in Central Indiana, 4 of which let you cut your own tree. The farm has not published a starting price, so it cannot be compared on cost — call before you budget.
What sets it apart locally: it has wreaths and garland for sale, a gift shop or farm market, a petting area, which most Central Indiana farms on our list do not.
One caveat worth repeating: this farm had not published its 2026 dates when we last checked, while 1 of the 5 farms we track in Central Indiana had. Treat any date you see elsewhere as last year's until the farm confirms it.
evanswhisperingpines.com · indianachristmastrees.com
Checked September 2026.