A second-generation family farm about 45 minutes south of Kansas City with a genuine, sourced claim to fame (a tree delivered to the Kansas governor's mansion), though hours are weekend-only and no price is published.
Not published in sources checked.
Cash only. This farm doesn't take cards, based on what we found — bring cash or confirm ahead if that's changed.
Fontana Pines is a second-generation family farm sitting about 45 minutes south of Kansas City, and it has a distinction most small tree farms can’t claim: according to Kansas Reflector coverage cited in the research, the farm supplied the tree delivered to the Kansas governor’s mansion in a recent year. That’s a genuinely sourced, specific detail rather than an inflated marketing claim, and it says something real about the quality of trees this farm is capable of producing.
Trees here run from 5 to 14 feet, mostly Scotch pine grown on the farm’s own fields, with precut Fraser fir also sold for anyone who wants a fuller fir look rather than the field-grown pine. Saws are provided for cutting your own. Rather than a generic hot chocolate stand, Fontana Pines serves hot Louisburg apple cider — Louisburg being a recognizable Kansas cider brand — as its warm-drink offering after the tree hunt, a small but specific touch that distinguishes it from farms serving unbranded cocoa.
One detail needed some scrutiny during research: the source listing gives a closing date of December 21 for the season. But in 2026, December 21 falls on a Monday, and the farm’s hours are Saturday and Sunday only. That mismatch strongly suggests the December 21 date is a stale figure carried over from a previous season’s calendar rather than a genuinely updated 2026 closing date. Rather than repeat a date that doesn’t hold up to a basic calendar check, no closing date is given here — the season is confirmed to open November 27, 2026, following the farm’s established “Friday after Thanksgiving” pattern, but how many weekends after that it stays open is genuinely unresolved.
Fontana Pines is cash-and-check only, with no card option mentioned in any source checked. Hours are weekend-only, 9:30am to 4pm, with no evening or weekday access reported anywhere. If your schedule only allows weekday visits, this isn’t a farm that can accommodate that.
No dollar figure for tree pricing turned up anywhere checked, despite the farm’s notable governor’s-mansion connection. That’s a real gap worth being upfront about: a farm distinctive enough to supply a state government tree presumably has a pricing structure in place, but it isn’t published where this research could find it. Budget flexibly and expect to ask on arrival, with cash or a check ready to pay once you know the number.
Fontana Pines offers a genuinely distinctive story and a specific, appealing cider touch for a roughly 45-minute drive south of Kansas City. The tradeoffs are a cash-only policy, weekend-only hours, and an unresolved closing date for 2026 that’s worth confirming by phone before you plan a trip late in the season.
The season opens Nov 27, 2026 (the confirmed Friday-after-Thanksgiving pattern), running Saturday-Sunday 9:30am-4pm. No reliable closing date is available for 2026, since the source listing's stated 'December 21' appears to be a stale date carried over from a past season.
Not stated directly, but with trees running 5 to 14 feet and only two activities listed, this reads like a more focused visit than farms with a longer attraction list.
Not stated directly. A farm distinctive enough to have supplied a tree to the Kansas governor's mansion in a recent year, per Kansas Reflector coverage, may draw more regional attention than a purely local operation, though no specific crowd data is available.
Not described in the record.
Not addressed in the source.
Skip Fontana Pines if you need a weekday visit, since hours are Saturday-Sunday only, and skip it if you don't carry cash or a check, since the record confirms this farm is cash only.
No specific nearby-farm comparison is available in this record.
Yes, per Kansas Reflector coverage cited in the record, the farm donated a tree to the Kansas governor's mansion in a recent year — a specific, sourced claim rather than a generic marketing line.
5 to 14 feet, mostly Scotch pine grown on site, per the record, with precut Fraser fir also available.
Yes. The record confirms cash and checks only, no card option mentioned.
Unclear for 2026. The source listing gives December 21 as a closing date, but that falls on a Monday in 2026, which doesn't match the farm's Saturday-Sunday-only hours — this appears to be a stale date from a past season, so no confirmed closing date is given here.
Opens November 27, 2026 (closing date not published). Sat-Sun. Hours: 9:30am-4pm.
Pricing was not published when we last checked. Not published in sources checked.
Yes. It's cut-your-own, and a saw is provided.
20337 W 383 Street, Fontana, KS 66026, in Miami County. It is one of 6 farms we track in Kansas City Region KS.
We track 6 farms in Kansas City Region KS, 5 of which let you cut your own tree. The farm has not published a starting price, so it cannot be compared on cost — call before you budget.
What sets it apart locally: it has a cocoa or cider stand, which most Kansas City Region KS farms on our list do not.
Map pin is set to the town centre. Navigate to the street address above, not the pin.
fontanapines.com · pickyourownchristmastree.org
Checked September 2026.