A fourth-generation, dog-friendly farm in the Last Green Valley heritage corridor, though as of late August 2026 the farm's own site still showed a 'closed for the season' message with no 2026 dates posted.
Hickory Ridge Tree Farm is a fourth-generation operation dating to 1960, spread across roughly 50 acres in the “Last Green Valley” National Heritage Corridor – a scenic, historically protected part of eastern Connecticut. The farm offers both cut-your-own and staff-cut trees, giving visitors a choice depending on how much of the process they want to handle themselves.
As of this research in late August 2026, the farm’s own website still displayed a “closed for the 2025 season” message rather than updated 2026 information. No 2026 dates, hours, or pricing had been posted. The CCTGA directory’s separate listing for this farm also showed “Closed for the Season” at the same time. That’s not unusual this early in the year – many smaller farms don’t update their sites until closer to the season – but it means every operational field in this record that would normally come from the farm’s own current posting is honestly left blank rather than guessed. A third-party roundup does describe a general days-open pattern (closed Monday-Tuesday, limited hours Wednesday-Thursday, regular hours Friday-Sunday), but this hasn’t been confirmed on the farm’s own site for 2026, so treat it as a rough historical pattern rather than a locked schedule.
Beyond the trees, the property runs a wedding and event venue called “The Overlook,” which signals a working multi-use farm rather than a seasonal-only operation. That kind of diversified business often means a more established, ongoing presence even when the tree-season page specifically hasn’t updated yet.
One clear, stated fact from the record: leashed dogs are welcome on the property. For dog owners who often have to leave pets at home for a tree-farm trip, that’s a real, specific reason to consider this farm once the season details are confirmed.
Given the site’s outdated status at research time, checking back closer to Thanksgiving – or calling the farm directly – is the only reliable way to get accurate 2026 dates, hours, and pricing. Don’t build a trip around assumed information from a prior season.
Many smaller, family-run farms don’t refresh their websites until much closer to the season, especially operations that also run other business lines – in this case, a wedding and event venue – that occupy staff time for most of the year. A “closed for last season” message sitting on a site in August is a common, low-concern pattern across smaller agritourism operations generally, not a specific signal that this particular farm won’t open on schedule. Still, “common and low-concern” is different from “confirmed,” so treating the season as tentative until the site updates – or a phone call confirms it – remains the honest approach here.
Being located within the Last Green Valley National Heritage Corridor generally means the surrounding landscape is protected from heavy development, which can make for a more scenic drive and setting than a farm situated near strip malls or highways. That’s a genuine, if modest, point in this farm’s favor for anyone who values the overall experience of the drive and setting as part of a tree-buying outing, separate from anything specific to the tree operation itself.
Not yet confirmed. As of this research, the farm's own website displayed a 'closed for the 2025 season' message rather than updated 2026 dates, hours, or pricing -- check back closer to Thanksgiving or call directly.
Not stated in the record.
Not stated in the record.
Not described in the record.
Both cut-your-own and staff-cut trees are offered, giving visitors who don't want to do their own cutting an alternative.
Skip if you want confirmed 2026 hours, dates, or pricing before visiting -- as of research time, none of that had been posted yet on the farm's own site.
Not specified in the record.
As of this research in late August 2026, the farm's own website still displayed a 'closed for the 2025 season' message, and the CCTGA directory listing separately showed 'Closed for the Season' too -- no 2026 dates, hours, or pricing had been posted yet.
Both options are offered -- cut-your-own and staff-cut trees, per the record.
Yes, leashed dogs are welcome, per the record.
No. The farm also operates a wedding and event venue called 'The Overlook' on the same property, making it a working multi-use farm.
2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. In past seasons it has run: Reported pattern: closed Mon-Tue, limited hours Wed-Thu, regular hours Fri-Sun (not yet confirmed on the farm's own site for 2026). Check with the farm before driving out.
Pricing was not published when we last checked.
Yes. It's cut-your-own and choose-and-cut (staff cuts it for you).
108 South River Road, Coventry, CT 06238, in Tolland County. It is one of 3 farms we track in Eastern Connecticut.
We track 3 farms in Eastern Connecticut, 3 of which let you cut your own tree. The farm has not published a starting price, so it cannot be compared on cost — call before you budget.
One caveat worth repeating: this farm had not published its 2026 dates when we last checked, while 2 of the 3 farms we track in Eastern Connecticut had. Treat any date you see elsewhere as last year's until the farm confirms it.
There is 1 other farm we track in Tolland County. All Eastern Connecticut farms →
hickoryridgetreefarm.com · newenglandcities.com
Checked September 2026.