The only true grow-and-cut farm identified in the San Joaquin Valley for this research, offering a flat $55 u-cut Monterey pine alongside pre-cut firs priced $35-$249, plus weekend steam train rides.
Monterey pine u-cut trees $55 flat regardless of height; pre-cut trees range $35–$249 depending on species and size.
Hillcrest Tree Farm holds a distinct place in this research: it’s the only farm identified in the San Joaquin Valley / Central Valley area that actually functions as a grow-and-cut operation, rather than a retail lot selling trucked-in trees. Other Central Valley search results turned up during this research — Simonian Farms and Skookum Trees in Fresno among them — read as lots rather than farms where you cut your own tree, and were excluded from this batch accordingly. If a genuine cut-your-own experience matters to you and a long drive to the Sierra foothills or the Bay Area doesn’t appeal, this is effectively the option in this part of the valley.
The pricing structure here splits cleanly in two. Cutting your own tree applies specifically to Monterey pine, priced at a flat $55 regardless of height — a straightforward, predictable number you can count on before you even walk the field. Every other species on offer is sold pre-cut, in a considerably wider range of $35 to $249 depending on species and size. That $35 low end is worth noting: if a Monterey pine specifically isn’t a requirement for you, one of the more modest pre-cut options could actually undercut the flat u-cut price. The key is knowing which category a given tree falls into before you commit — ask directly rather than assuming.
The record notes visitors can either bring their own saw or borrow one on-site for the u-cut pine, which is a bit more flexible than farms that either strictly require you to bring your own or strictly provide one with no alternative.
Hillcrest operates weekends only, 10am to 5pm, with steam train rides and Santa photos as part of the program. That combination — weekend-only hours, a themed train ride, and photo opportunities — points toward a farm built around the idea of a family outing during the Thanksgiving-to-Christmas stretch, not a fast in-and-out errand. If your schedule only allows weekday visits, this isn’t going to work; there’s no weekday alternative in the record.
No specific 2026 season dates were found — only the general “Thanksgiving through Christmas, weekends” description. No phone number was located either; contact appears to run through email (hillcrestshops@aol.com) based on the sources reviewed. The exact address is also approximate — described as near Reed and Adams, about two miles north of Reedley College — rather than a confirmed street address, since no dedicated farm website was located to verify it.
Hillcrest is a genuine standout for Central Valley visitors who want an actual cut-your-own experience, with clear flat pricing on its signature Monterey pine and a real steam-train draw for families, but the weekend-only schedule and lack of confirmed 2026 dates mean it’s worth an email to confirm current details before you plan a specific trip.
Season is described only as "Thanksgiving through Christmas, weekends" without specific 2026 dates, so no exact window is confirmed. Since it's weekend-only (10am-5pm), any Saturday or Sunday in that stretch is the only way to visit — there's no weekday option here.
Not stated directly, but with steam train rides and Santa photos as part of the weekend program, this reads as more of a family outing than a quick tree run.
Not stated directly, but a weekend-only schedule combined with steam train rides and Santa photos suggests real family traffic concentrated into just two days a week — arriving earlier in the 10am-5pm window is a reasonable way to beat the rush.
Not described in the record.
Not addressed in the source.
Skip Hillcrest if you need a weekday visit, since it's open weekends only, and skip the u-cut pine if you're actually looking for a fir — u-cut is Monterey pine only, while fir species are sold pre-cut in a separate $35-$249 range.
The record notes this is the only true grow-and-cut Christmas tree farm identified in the San Joaquin Valley / Central Valley for this research; other Central Valley search results, such as Simonian Farms and Skookum Trees in Fresno, read as retail lots selling trucked-in trees rather than grow-and-cut operations, and were excluded from this batch.
U-cut Monterey pine is a flat $55 regardless of height. Pre-cut trees of other species range $35-$249 depending on species and size, per the record.
Just the Monterey pine, per the record — other species (assorted pre-cut firs) are sold already cut.
Either works — the record notes visitors can bring their own saw or borrow one on-site for the u-cut pine.
Weekends only, 10am-5pm, per the record — no weekday hours are offered.
2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. In past seasons it has run: Weekends. Check with the farm before driving out.
Trees start at $35. Monterey pine u-cut trees $55 flat regardless of height; pre-cut trees range $35–$249 depending on species and size.
Yes. It's cut-your-own, and a saw is provided.
Reed Avenue near Adams Avenue, Reedley, CA (about 2 miles north of Reedley College), in Fresno County. It is one of 1 farms we track in San Joaquin Valley CA.
Map pin is set to the town centre. Navigate to the street address above, not the pin.
trees.com · 4kids.com · aol.com
Checked September 2026.