A family farm running since 1962 with a simple flat $55 price regardless of tree size or species, but weekends-only hours and no phone number for last-minute questions.
Flat $55 per tree regardless of species or size.
Johnson’s Christmas Trees has been in the same family since 1962, when a grandfather planted the first trees on this Cocolalla property, making it one of the longer-running operations covered in this research. That kind of history does not guarantee anything about your specific visit, but it is a real, farm-stated fact rather than a marketing claim.
The farm offers a genuine cut-your-own option, where you bring or borrow your own bowsaw, and a choose-and-cut option where the proprietor helps you select, cut, bale, and load the tree. Either way, the price is a flat $55 regardless of species or size, no per-foot math, no premium for a specific fir over a spruce. If you want the biggest tree the flat rate allows, this pricing structure rewards that choice.
If you are planning to cut the tree yourself rather than use the assisted option, note that the record describes customers bringing or borrowing their own bowsaw, the farm is not described as supplying one for that route. That is different from some other North Idaho farms in this research that provide saws, so do not assume one will be handed to you at the gate.
The season opens the Friday after Thanksgiving (an estimated 2026-11-27 based on the farm’s relative description) and runs weekends only, there is no weekday option here. More unusually, no phone number is published anywhere checked. The farm directs visitors to a website contact form instead. That is a real friction point if you have a last-minute question about availability or hours on the day you are planning to go, since a contact form does not get you a same-day answer the way a phone call might. Submit any questions well before your planned visit.
The farm’s listed address is 330 Geenen Road, but two additional locations, 49 Pinewood Lane and 2222 Cocolalla Loop Road, also appear in the sources checked, and these may be the actual field entrances rather than a farm office. If you are navigating by GPS, it is worth having more than one address on hand in case the first one does not lead you to an obvious entrance.
No season end date, hours, tree species list, or cash and card payment policy were found in the sources checked. None of that should stop you from visiting on a weekend during the season, but it does mean walking in with some open questions.
A flat $55 price and a genuine choice between cutting it yourself or having help make Johnson’s a straightforward option, as long as you accept the weekends-only schedule and the lack of a phone number for last-minute questions.
Season is estimated to start 2026-11-27, the Friday after Thanksgiving, resolved from the farm's own relative description. No closing date was published. The farm is open weekends only, so any visit has to land on a Saturday or Sunday during the season.
Not stated in the record.
Not stated directly, but with only weekend hours available, whatever traffic the farm gets is concentrated into two days rather than spread across the week.
Not described in the source. Two separate field entrances are listed in addition to the main address, suggesting informal, field-based access rather than a single paved lot, though this is an inference, not a confirmed fact.
Not addressed in the source.
Skip this farm if you need a weekday visit, since it is open weekends only, or if you might have a same-day question about availability, since no phone number is published and only a website contact form is available.
Sandpoint Ranch Tree Farm and Crowell's Land of Christmas, both in Sandpoint, are in the same general Bonner County corner of North Idaho as this farm.
$55 flat, regardless of species or size, per the farm's own site.
For the cut-your-own option, yes, bring or borrow a bowsaw. For the choose-and-cut option, the proprietor helps select, cut, bale, and load the tree.
Weekends only, starting the Friday after Thanksgiving (an estimated 2026-11-27).
No phone number is published. Use the contact form on the farm's website.
Opens November 27, 2026 (closing date not published). Weekends only.
Trees start at $55. Flat $55 per tree regardless of species or size.
Yes. It's cut-your-own and choose-and-cut (staff cuts it for you).
330 Geenen Road, Cocolalla, ID 83813, in Bonner County. It is one of 8 farms we track in Northern Idaho.
We track 8 farms in Northern Idaho, 3 of which let you cut your own tree. At $55 to start this one sits below the regional median of $65, undercutting 2 of the 3 priced farms we track here.
What sets it apart locally: it has free netting/baling, cut-your-own trees, which most Northern Idaho farms on our list do not.
There are 3 other farms we track in Bonner County. All Northern Idaho farms →
Map pin is set to the town centre. Navigate to the street address above, not the pin.
johnsonschristmastrees.com
Checked September 2026.