A 25-plus-year choose-and-cut farm that welcomes leashed pets and takes cash or check only -- solid on character, thin on confirmed pricing and hours.
Cash only. This farm doesn't take cards, based on what we found — bring cash or confirm ahead if that's changed.
Joseph’s Tree Farm has run as a choose-and-cut operation for over 25 years, meaning the process here is: you pick the tree in the field, and staff finish the cutting rather than handing you a saw. That’s a meaningful difference from a pure cut-your-own farm, and it can suit visitors who want the experience of walking the fields and selecting a tree without doing the physical cutting themselves.
The record is clear on this: cash or check only. No card payment is mentioned as an option, so this is worth planning around before arriving – especially since a direct attempt to load the farm’s own website failed this research session due to a TLS certificate error, meaning there was no way to double-check this against the farm’s current, live posting.
Handmade wreaths, garland, and swags are sold on-site, along with firewood – a slightly unusual but practical add-on for anyone heading into winter who also needs wood. Holiday crafts and gifts round out the offerings. Leashed pets are welcome in the fields, per the third-party roundup used for this record, a detail that matters if bringing a dog along is part of the plan.
The farm’s own site could not be loaded during this research due to a certificate error, which is different from simply not finding information – the site exists, but this session couldn’t verify its current content. That means hours (weekends during tree season, 9am-4:30pm, per secondary sources) and the season-start date (resolved from “Friday after Thanksgiving” phrasing to Nov 27, 2026) should both be treated as reasonable estimates rather than confirmed facts, and worth a phone call to verify.
For a visitor who’s comfortable with cash-only payment, wants the choose-and-cut experience without doing their own sawing, and doesn’t mind confirming hours by phone first, Joseph’s Tree Farm is a solid, character-filled choice with over two and a half decades of history behind it.
A cash-or-check-only policy is one of the easiest trip-planning details to overlook, especially now that most everyday purchases run on cards by default. Before heading to Hamden, it’s worth building in a stop at an ATM if cash isn’t already on hand, since discovering the payment limitation only after picking out a tree in the field would be a frustrating way to end an otherwise good visit. A check works as a backup if cash isn’t convenient, per the record, so it’s not strictly an all-cash requirement.
The combination of a choose-and-cut tree operation with on-site firewood sales suggests a farm geared toward practical winter needs beyond just the holiday tree, which fits with an operation that’s been running for over 25 years and likely has a loyal, returning local customer base. That kind of longevity is generally a reasonable, if indirect, signal of a well-run operation, even without a specific customer review on record to confirm it directly.
Season starts Nov 27, 2026, weekends during tree season, 9am-4:30pm per third-party sources. A direct fetch of the farm's own site failed this research round, so treat hours as unconfirmed for 2026.
Not stated in the record; as a choose-and-cut operation, staff finish the cutting once you've picked your tree.
Not stated directly, but the farm is described as open weekends only during tree season, which likely concentrates visits into Saturdays and Sundays.
Not described in the record.
Choose-and-cut means staff finish the cutting once a tree is picked, which may ease the process for visitors who don't want to handle a saw themselves.
Skip if you need to pay by card -- this farm is cash or check only, per the record -- or if you need confirmed hours before visiting, since the farm's own site couldn't be verified this session.
Not specified in the record.
This is a choose-and-cut operation -- you pick the tree, and staff cut it once it's selected.
No. Payment is cash or check only, per the record.
Not stated in any source checked for this record.
Leashed pets are welcome in the fields, per the roundup source used for this record.
Opens November 27, 2026 (closing date not published). Weekends during tree season (per roundup source). Hours: 9:00 AM-4:30 PM (weekends, per newenglandcities.com); farm's own listing states opening at 9:00 AM.
Pricing was not published when we last checked.
Yes. It's choose-and-cut (staff cuts it for you).
208 Kirk Road, Hamden, CT 06514, in New Haven County. It is one of 1 farms we track in Greater New Haven CT.
There is 1 other farm we track in New Haven County. All Greater New Haven CT farms →
josephstreefarm.com · ctvisit.com · visitnewhaven.com
Checked September 2026.