A cut-your-own-only farm with genuinely simple flat-rate pricing -- $90 plus tax per tree regardless of size -- though weekday cutting requires advance arrangement.
$90 plus tax per tree, flat rate regardless of size, cut-your-own only.
Karabin Farms keeps its Christmas tree operation simple in one specific way: cutting is cut-your-own only, with no pre-cut or staff-cut alternative, and every tree is $90 plus tax regardless of size or species. That flat-rate structure is genuinely useful for budgeting – there’s no per-foot math to do, no guessing whether a taller tree will cost more once you’ve already fallen for it in the field.
Because there’s no pre-cut option, anyone who doesn’t want to walk the field and do their own cutting doesn’t have a fallback here the way they would at a farm offering both choices. Power saws are also explicitly prohibited – the farm supplies hand saws instead – so this is a hands-on, physical part of the visit rather than something staff will do for you. If a quick grab-and-go pre-cut purchase is what you’re after, this isn’t the farm for that.
Weekday cutting is available only by advance arrangement, which means the farm’s real operating pattern is a weekends-only schedule (Saturdays and Sundays, 9am-5pm) unless you’ve specifically set up something different ahead of time. Anyone hoping to slip in on a quiet Tuesday afternoon without calling first should expect that not to work.
Staff assist with netting and vehicle loading once you’ve made your cut, which takes some of the physical hassle out of getting a tree home even though the cutting itself is on you. A weekend snack shack and poinsettia sales round out the visit, and the farm operates as a working produce and livestock farm the rest of the year, giving it a genuine working-farm character rather than a seasonal pop-up feel.
The farm’s own site notes that season timing can shift due to weather and growing conditions. Nov 21, 2026 is the season-start date on record, but treat it as the current best information rather than a guaranteed date, and check again closer to the opening if the exact day matters to your plans.
A flat $90-plus-tax price is easy to compare against a per-foot farm once you know roughly what size tree you want. At a per-foot farm charging, say, a per-foot rate that pushes a tall tree well past $90, this flat structure comes out ahead for anyone planning to get a larger tree; for a small tabletop-style tree, a per-foot farm might actually be cheaper. The record doesn’t give a per-foot comparison figure for this farm, so this is simply a framing to keep in mind rather than a specific claim about which option saves more – the right call depends entirely on what size tree you’re after.
Since weekday cutting requires advance arrangement, the overwhelming majority of visitors here will be showing up on a Saturday or Sunday. In Connecticut generally, the first Saturday after Thanksgiving tends to be the single busiest day of the entire cut-your-own season, since it’s the first full weekend once most farms open. If avoiding the heaviest crowd matters more than avoiding a weekday altogether, a second or third weekend in the season is likely to be noticeably calmer than opening weekend, even without a farm-specific crowd count to confirm it.
Season starts Nov 21, 2026, open Saturdays and Sundays 9am-5pm. Weekday cutting is possible only by advance arrangement, so a weekend visit is the realistic default.
About an hour, including staff-assisted netting and loading.
Not stated directly, but weekend visits can draw a crowd at the snack shack, per the record; weekday cutting exists only by advance arrangement, suggesting weekends are the default and busier option.
Not described in the record.
Cut-your-own only -- there is no pre-cut or staff-cut alternative, and power saws are explicitly prohibited, so cutting requires walking the field and using the hand saw the farm supplies.
Skip if you want a pre-cut or staff-cut option, since this farm is cut-your-own only, or if a weekday visit matters and you haven't arranged it in advance.
Not specified in the record, though the farm is also a working produce and livestock operation outside the holiday season.
$90 plus tax, flat rate, regardless of size -- cut-your-own only, per the farm's own site.
No. The record states there is no pre-cut or staff-cut option -- cutting is cut-your-own only.
No. Power saws are explicitly prohibited; the farm supplies hand saws.
Weekday cutting is possible only by advance arrangement; the farm is otherwise open Saturdays and Sundays.
Opens November 21, 2026 (closing date not published). Saturdays and Sundays (weekday cutting only by advance arrangement). Hours: 9:00 AM-5:00 PM.
Trees start at $90. $90 plus tax per tree, flat rate regardless of size, cut-your-own only.
Yes. It's cut-your-own, and a saw is provided.
894 Andrews Street, Southington, CT 06489, in Hartford County. It is one of 3 farms we track in Central Connecticut.
We track 3 farms in Central Connecticut, 1 of which let you cut your own tree. At $90 to start this one sits right on the regional median of $90.
What sets it apart locally: it has free netting/baling, cut-your-own trees, which most Central Connecticut farms on our list do not.
There are 3 other farms we track in Hartford County. All Central Connecticut farms →
karabinfarms.com
Checked September 2026.