One of the broadest selections in North Georgia — 12 varieties spanning pre-cut fir, field cypress, and living balled spruce — with a saw provided and a real farm market, though 2026 hours and pricing weren't posted yet at last check.
Trees are individually tagged in early November with height and price; no dollar figures published as of this check.
Kinsey Family Farm stands out in this research batch for sheer breadth. Twelve named varieties cover three distinct ways of buying a tree: pre-cut firs (Fraser, Noble, Grand, and Douglas) for anyone who wants a specific fir without walking a field, choose-and-cut Carolina Sapphire and Murray cypress for anyone who wants to pick and cut their own, and living, balled Blue spruce and Norway spruce for anyone who wants to replant after the holidays instead of throwing the tree out. Tabletop “Charlie Brown” trees round things out for small apartments or a second tree in a kid’s room. That’s a genuinely wider range of options than most farms researched in this region, where the choice is usually just cut-your-own versus one pre-cut species.
The farm’s own site confirms a saw is provided for the choose-and-cut option, so nobody needs to bring their own tools. It also describes staff drilling a stand hole in pre-cut trees, which the site doesn’t frame as a separate add-on charge — a small but real convenience if you’re buying pre-cut. What the site does not yet have, as of this research check, is 2026 hours or pricing. A prior season’s opening was referenced as “the weekend before Thanksgiving,” but that’s explicitly not assumed to repeat automatically for 2026 here, since the farm hadn’t restated it for this year.
One useful, honest detail: trees here are individually tagged with height and price starting in early November, which means Kinsey runs a size-based tagging system rather than a flat per-foot rate applied uniformly. That’s genuinely useful to know going in — it tells you the farm treats pricing tree-by-tree rather than as a single number you can quote in advance. But no actual dollar figures from that tagging system were published anywhere checked, so there is no honest number to give you here, and none should be assumed based on what other farms charge.
The farm functions as more than a Christmas-tree stop: a harvest shop sells local honey, salsas, jellies, and handmade wreaths and garland, and wagon rides run out to the fields with a marshmallow-roasting stop along the way. The one hard logistics detail worth flagging directly: the last wagon run to the fields stops at 5:30pm per the farm’s own site, so an evening visit likely means skipping that part of the experience even if the farm itself is still open.
Kinsey Family Farm offers more genuine choice — cut-your-own, pre-cut, and living trees, plus tabletop sizes — than almost any other farm in this batch, and its saw-provided, stand-drilled service is confirmed directly from the source, but 2026 hours and actual prices aren’t posted yet, so build in a call before you plan the day around the wagon ride’s 5:30pm cutoff.
Not confirmed for 2026; a prior season referenced 'weekend before Thanksgiving' as the opening, but that's not guaranteed to repeat. Within whatever the season turns out to be, arrive before 5:30pm, since the last wagon run to the fields stops then per the farm's site.
Not stated directly, but with a full farm market (honey, salsas, jellies, wreaths/garland) plus wagon rides to the fields and a marshmallow-roasting stop, this reads as more of an afternoon than a five-minute grab-and-go.
Not stated directly, but the breadth of what's offered here — 12 tree varieties, a wagon ride, a farm market — points to a larger, more established operation than a small family lot, which typically means more weekend traffic. Treat the first Saturday after Thanksgiving as the likely busiest day of the season, as it tends to be at farms this size.
Not described in the record.
Not addressed in any source checked.
Skip Kinsey Family Farm if you need firm 2026 hours or a published price before you commit to the trip, and skip the wagon ride specifically if you're arriving after 5:30pm, since the site indicates the last run to the fields stops then.
Not available in the record checked.
Twelve total: Fraser fir, Noble fir, Grand fir, and Douglas fir (mostly pre-cut), Carolina Sapphire and Murray cypress (choose-and-cut in the field), and Blue spruce and Norway spruce available as living, balled trees for replanting, plus tabletop-size trees for small spaces.
Yes, per the farm's own site, for the choose-and-cut field option.
Hot cocoa, marshmallow roasting, wagon rides out to the fields, and a farm market/harvest shop selling local honey, salsas, jellies, and handmade wreaths and garland.
Neither was published as of this check. The record confirms trees are individually tagged with height and price starting in early November, but no actual dollar figures were found. A prior season opened the weekend before Thanksgiving, but that's not confirmed to repeat for 2026.
2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. Check with the farm before driving out.
Pricing was not published when we last checked. Trees are individually tagged in early November with height and price; no dollar figures published as of this check.
Yes. It's cut-your-own and choose-and-cut (staff cuts it for you), and a saw is provided.
7170 Jot-em Down Road, Gainesville, GA 30506, in Hall County. It is one of 12 farms we track in North Georgia.
We track 12 farms in North Georgia, 5 of which let you cut your own tree. The farm has not published a starting price, so it cannot be compared on cost — call before you budget.
What sets it apart locally: it has a cocoa or cider stand, a hayride or sleigh ride, a gift shop or farm market, which most North Georgia farms on our list do not.
One caveat worth repeating: this farm had not published its 2026 dates when we last checked, while 1 of the 12 farms we track in North Georgia had. Treat any date you see elsewhere as last year's until the farm confirms it.
There is 1 other farm we track in Hall County. All North Georgia farms →
Map pin is set to the town centre. Navigate to the street address above, not the pin.
kinseyfamilyfarm.com
Checked September 2026.