One of the few places on Maui to buy a real, grown Monterey pine rather than a mainland-shipped import, but the sale runs a single three-day weekend in 2026, and no tree pricing was found anywhere, including whether garden admission is charged separately.
No tree pricing found on the garden's own website or in third-party coverage; call to confirm.
Kula Botanical Garden, established in 1968 on the slopes of Haleakala, is described by local press as one of Hawaii’s largest Christmas tree growers – an unexpected claim for a botanical garden, but the family behind it has grown Monterey pine on nine acres of working farmland within the garden grounds for years. As with every tree farm in this state, that’s not a traditional fir or spruce. Hawaii’s climate doesn’t provide the cold dormancy those species need, so growers substitute trees suited to the islands instead. Monterey pine has a different look and feel than a fir: longer, more open needle clusters and a less densely triangular shape. It’s one of very few places on Maui where you’re buying a real, grown tree rather than one boxed and shipped in from the mainland, which is worth knowing if that distinction matters to you.
The garden’s own site is specific and dated for 2026: the initial tree sale runs Friday through Sunday, December 4-6, 9am-4pm. That’s a meaningfully different structure than most tree farms in this directory, which typically run four to five weeks. Miss that three-day window and your options narrow to whatever trees remain, sold afterward through the garden’s gift shop during regular hours, while supplies last – a real but much thinner backup plan. Regular garden hours are also 9am-4pm daily per the garden’s own site, though a third-party travel guide notes last admission is 3:15pm, worth keeping in mind if you’re arriving close to closing.
Research notes describe trees reportedly ranging 3 to 18 feet, with oversized specimens supplying Maui hotels such as the Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa in past years, according to local news coverage. That’s a notable range if you want something genuinely large, though “reportedly” is doing real work in that sentence – it’s not a number confirmed directly by the garden for this year.
No tree pricing appears anywhere checked for this record – not on the garden’s own site, not in third-party coverage. That’s a real planning gap, not a minor detail, since this is also a paid botanical garden, and it’s unclear whether a separate general admission fee applies on top of whatever the tree costs. There’s no honest number to offer here; calling ahead is the only way to know what you’re actually budgeting for. Similarly, older third-party sources describe a choose-and-cut process where garden staff help customers select and cut a tree, which is a different experience than cutting one entirely unassisted, and this wasn’t confirmed directly with the garden for 2026.
Kula Botanical Garden offers a genuinely distinctive option on Maui – a real Monterey pine grown on-site rather than a mainland import – but the sale is a tight three-day window rather than a season, and with no pricing found anywhere and an unclear admission situation, a phone call before you go is the only way to know what the visit will actually cost.
The garden's own site lists a firm 2026 window: Friday through Sunday, December 4-6, 9am-4pm. Unlike a farm running a multi-week season, this is a short, specific event -- miss that weekend and you're relying on whatever trees remain afterward through the gift shop, while supplies last, during regular garden hours.
Not stated directly, but this is also a working botanical garden with regular paid admission, so budget extra time beyond just picking a tree if you plan to walk the grounds too.
Not stated in the record. A three-day sale window, rather than a multi-week season, is a much shorter opportunity than most tree farms offer, which reasonably suggests it could draw concentrated demand over just those three days, though that's an inference, not a documented fact.
Not described in the record.
Not addressed in the source, beyond the garden operating as a general-admission botanical garden with posted hours.
Skip the December 4-6 weekend if you can't make that specific window, since the sale isn't a multi-week season, and skip Kula Botanical Garden altogether if you need confirmed pricing before you go, since none was found on the garden's own site or in third-party coverage.
No specific nearby-farm comparison is available in this record, though visitors are already paying for and visiting a botanical garden alongside the tree purchase, which is a built-in second activity most tree farms don't offer.
Monterey pine, grown on nine acres of the family's working farm within the garden grounds, per local press coverage -- not a traditional fir or spruce.
Friday through Sunday, December 4-6, 2026, 9am-4pm, per the garden's own website. Any remaining trees are sold afterward through the gift shop during regular garden hours while supplies last.
Not found. No pricing appears on the garden's own website or in third-party coverage checked for this record, so call ahead to confirm.
Not clearly confirmed. Third-party sources describe a choose-and-cut process where staff help customers select and cut a tree, rather than customers cutting entirely unassisted, but this wasn't confirmed directly with the garden.
December 4 – December 6, 2026. Initial tree sale Fri-Sun, Dec 4-6, 2026, 9am-4pm; any remaining trees sold afterward through the gift shop during regular garden hours while supplies last. Hours: 9am-4pm daily (per farm's own site); a third-party travel guide adds that last garden admission is 3:15pm.
Pricing was not published when we last checked. No tree pricing found on the garden's own website or in third-party coverage; call to confirm.
Yes. It's choose-and-cut (staff cuts it for you).
638 Kekaulike Ave, Kula, HI 96790, in Maui County. It is one of 1 farms we track in Upcountry Maui HI.
kbgmaui.com · mauioceanviewcondos.com
Checked September 2026.