One of the longer-running Petaluma cut-your-own farms, but with no dedicated website, no tree species listed, and no published price, this is a call-first visit.
One source noted 2025 prices held flat from the prior year, but no dollar figure was published.
Larsen’s has served the Petaluma area since 1965, which makes it one of the longer-running cut-your-own operations in this corner of Sonoma County — the kind of local fixture that shows up in decades of Press Democrat coverage even though it doesn’t have much of a modern web presence. That’s worth naming up front: the farm’s own primary online footprint appears to be a Facebook page and a Google Sites page rather than a dedicated domain, which is unusual for a farm this established and explains why so much of this record comes from press coverage and local guides rather than the farm’s own materials.
The confirmed basics are straightforward: this is a choose-and-cut and cut-your-own operation, closed Mondays, with a Tuesday-through-Thursday window that’s either a short 2pm-5pm afternoon slot or by appointment, and a full 9am-5pm schedule Friday through Sunday. Beyond that, the record runs thin. No specific tree species, no saw policy, and no dollar figure for pricing were found in the sources reviewed. One source did note that 2025 prices held flat from the year before, which at least suggests a stable, non-escalating pricing history, but without an actual number that’s a signal, not something you can budget from.
One thing worth flagging directly: a Yelp listing for the farm shows a “temporarily closed” status in some searches. Cross-referenced against 2025-season press and social media coverage, the farm clearly operated that year, so this reads as a seasonal artifact — a status that gets applied to businesses that close between Christmas trees and next November and never gets updated — rather than an actual closure. Still, if you see that flag while researching your own visit, it’s reasonable to want it confirmed by phone before making the drive, especially given how sparse the farm’s own web presence is.
The hours pattern here is a real practical constraint: a Tuesday afternoon visit means a three-hour window (2pm-5pm) or advance scheduling, while any of the three weekend days give you a full workday’s worth of time. If your schedule is flexible, weekends are the safer bet for a walk-in visit without having to coordinate an appointment first.
Larsen’s has the kind of multi-decade local reputation that speaks for itself, but the thinness of its published information — no price, no species list, no confirmed 2026 season window — means this is a farm you call before you drive to, not one you can plan around from what’s published online.
Season is reported to open the day after Thanksgiving, resolved here to 2026-11-27; season end wasn't found. Weekend hours (Fri-Sun 9am-5pm) are longer than the limited Tue-Thu 2pm-5pm window, so plan weekends for a reliable visit.
Not stated in the record.
Not stated directly, but reduced weekday hours (afternoon-only or by appointment) versus a full 9am-5pm weekend schedule suggest walk-in traffic concentrates on weekends.
Not described in the record.
Not addressed in the source.
Skip Larsen's if you need to see published pricing or a species list before you commit to the drive, and skip a weekday visit unless you've called ahead for an appointment, since Tue-Thu hours are limited to an afternoon window or by-appointment only.
No specific nearby-farm comparison is available in this record.
Not published. One source noted 2025 prices held flat from the prior year, but no dollar figure was found, so there's no honest number to give here. Call 707-762-6317 to ask.
Not found in the sources reviewed for this record.
Tue-Thu hours are 2pm-5pm or by appointment; the farm is closed Monday. Fri-Sun hours run the full 9am-5pm.
It's operating seasonally. Some prior-year listings show a 'temporarily closed' flag on Yelp, but 2025-season press and social coverage confirm the farm ran that year — the flag reflects normal seasonal closure between Christmases, not a permanent shutdown.
Opens November 27, 2026 (closing date not published). Tue-Sun (closed Mon). Hours: Tue–Thu 2pm–5pm or by appointment, Fri–Sun 9am–5pm.
Pricing was not published when we last checked. One source noted 2025 prices held flat from the prior year, but no dollar figure was published.
Yes. It's cut-your-own and choose-and-cut (staff cuts it for you).
391 Marshall Avenue, Petaluma, CA 94952, in Sonoma County. It is one of 9 farms we track in Bay Area CA.
We track 9 farms in Bay Area CA, 9 of which let you cut your own tree. The farm has not published a starting price, so it cannot be compared on cost — call before you budget.
There are 4 other farms we track in Sonoma County. All Bay Area CA farms →
sites.google.com · facebook.com
Checked September 2026.