A cash-only, flat-$70-per-tree farm near Sandwich with a shorter season than most neighbors, a barn store, and a simple, transparent pricing model.
Flat $70 per tree regardless of size, tax included, plus complimentary needle shaking and netting. Wreaths run $25 (12in) to $45 (30in). Per the farm's own website, 2025 season.
Cash only. This farm doesn't take cards, based on what we found — bring cash or confirm ahead if that's changed.
Larson’s Family Farm, on Somonauk Road outside Sandwich, runs one of the more straightforward pricing models in this batch: a flat $70 per tree no matter the size, tax included, with needle shaking and netting thrown in at no extra charge. That simplicity is worth noting against the per-foot models several neighboring farms use, where a tall tree can cost noticeably more than a short one. Here, the calculation is done for you — walk in, pick a tree, pay $70.
The 2025 season ran from the Friday after Thanksgiving through December 7, per the farm’s own site — a window of roughly ten days. That’s meaningfully shorter than many Illinois farms that stay open through mid-December or later, and it means the usual advice to “wait a couple weeks to avoid the opening rush” doesn’t really apply here. If the pattern holds for 2026, most of the visiting window is compressed into the first two weekends after Thanksgiving, and there may not be a quiet late-season option at all. The farm’s own hours reflect this compressed schedule too: opening weekend runs 9am-4pm, and the regular season settles into shorter weekday windows (2-4pm Tuesday through Friday) alongside full weekend days (9am-4pm Saturday and Sunday), with the farm closed Mondays entirely.
The record lists Canaan fir, white pine, a limited run of concolor fir, Scotch pine, and Norway spruce as the available species, with saws provided on-site — so no need to bring your own gear. Beyond the tree itself, a barn store sells homemade baked goods and secondhand gifts, and wreaths are available at $25 for a 12-inch size up to $45 for a 30-inch. Evergreen roping is also sold, but only by pre-order, so it’s not something you can pick up on a walk-in visit — plan ahead if that’s part of what you want.
Larson’s takes cash or check only — no cards, per its own site — which is a real trip-planning detail if you’re used to tapping a card for everything. The farm also asks that pets stay in the vehicle rather than accompanying you into the field, a stricter rule than some neighboring farms that explicitly welcome leashed dogs.
Larson’s flat pricing, provided saws, and small-farm barn-store character make it a genuinely simple, no-surprises stop, but the short season means procrastinating past the first week or two of December risks missing it entirely — go early rather than assuming it’ll still be open closer to Christmas.
The 2025 season ran from the Friday after Thanksgiving through Dec 7 — noticeably shorter than many nearby farms that stay open through mid-to-late December. If the 2026 season follows the same pattern, the entire window is only about ten days, so plan an early trip rather than waiting.
Not stated directly, but with a barn store selling baked goods and secondhand gifts alongside wreaths, plan for more than just a quick cut-and-go if you want to browse.
Not stated directly, but a season this short concentrates demand into a narrow window, so the opening weekend and the first Saturday after Thanksgiving are the most likely times to find a wait.
Not described in the record.
Not addressed in the source.
Skip Larson's if you're planning a mid-to-late-December visit, since the 2025 season closed around the second weekend of December rather than running through Christmas, and skip it if you can't pay cash or by check, since the farm doesn't take cards, or if you're hoping to bring a pet along outside the car.
No specific nearby-farm comparison is available in this record.
A flat $70 per tree regardless of size, tax included, which also covers needle shaking and netting, per the farm's own website.
No. The farm is cash or check only, per its own site.
The 2025 season ran the Friday after Thanksgiving through Dec 7 — shorter than many neighboring farms. 2026 dates were not posted at the time of this research, so confirm before a mid-December visit.
Pets must stay in the vehicle, per the farm's own posted policy.
2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. In past seasons it has run: Closed Mondays; open Tuesday–Sunday. Check with the farm before driving out.
Trees start at $70. Flat $70 per tree regardless of size, tax included, plus complimentary needle shaking and netting. Wreaths run $25 (12in) to $45 (30in). Per the farm's own website, 2025 season.
Yes. It's cut-your-own, and a saw is provided.
4404 Somonauk Road, Sandwich, IL 60548, in DeKalb County. It is one of 10 farms we track in Chicago Suburbs.
We track 10 farms in Chicago Suburbs, 9 of which let you cut your own tree. At $70 to start this one sits below the regional median of $85, undercutting 5 of the 8 priced farms we track here.
What sets it apart locally: it has wreaths and garland for sale, free netting/baling, a gift shop or farm market, which most Chicago Suburbs farms on our list do not.
One caveat worth repeating: this farm had not published its 2026 dates when we last checked, while 2 of the 10 farms we track in Chicago Suburbs had. Treat any date you see elsewhere as last year's until the farm confirms it.
There are 2 other farms we track in DeKalb County. All Chicago Suburbs farms →
Map pin is set to the town centre. Navigate to the street address above, not the pin.
larsonfamilyfarm.com
Checked September 2026.