For farms

The Littlest Christmas Tree Farm

📍 2521 Ausley Bend Drive Northwest, Hartselle, AL 35640🗓 Season dates not yet published for 2026🏷 From $50

A small, limited-inventory Virginia pine farm with clear per-foot pricing and a track record of selling out fast, so this is a plan-ahead-and-go-early farm, not a wander-in-whenever one.

The Littlest Christmas Tree Farm in Hartselle, AL

How you get your tree

This farm offers

cut-your-own

Included

Santa visithidden elves scavenger hunthot chocolatemade-to-order wreaths and garland

$10 per foot with a $50 minimum, per the farm's own website (2025 season).

Our take

The Littlest Christmas Tree Farm in Hartselle does what its name suggests: it specializes in smaller, more compact Virginia pine trees rather than the full range of sizes most choose-and-cut farms offer. That’s a real specialization, not just branding – the record confirms Virginia pine is the only species grown here, and the farm’s own messaging frames the trees as intentionally smaller. If you’re after a towering 8-foot centerpiece tree, this probably isn’t the farm; if a compact tree for an apartment, a second room, or a family with limited space is what you actually need, it’s a more targeted option than most.

The pricing is clear, which is rare in this batch

Unlike most of the other Alabama farms in this research, Littlest Christmas Tree Farm has a straightforward, published rate: $10 per foot with a $50 minimum per tree, confirmed directly from the farm’s own website for the 2025 season. Do the simple math and it plays out like this – any tree at or under 5 feet costs the flat $50 minimum, since 5 feet times $10 would only reach $50 anyway. A 6-foot tree would run $60, a 7-foot tree $70, and so on. There’s no separate charge structure mentioned for netting, baling, or a stand, so budget for the per-foot cost as the primary number, plus whatever extras (wreaths, garland) you might add.

Limited dates, and a real sellout history

This is the detail that matters most for planning: the farm doesn’t run continuously through the season. The 2025 schedule was built around a small number of specific dates – November 28 through 30, December 6, and December 13 – with other visits available only by appointment. And the farm’s site was showing “SOLD OUT! CLOSED FOR THE SEASON!” at the time of this research, confirming it fully sold through its 2025 inventory on that limited schedule. That’s a strong signal that demand outstrips the farm’s small-scale supply. If the same pattern holds for 2026, waiting until mid-December to visit could mean showing up to nothing left to cut.

What else is on site

Beyond the tree itself, the farm runs a Santa visit, a hidden-elves scavenger hunt for kids, hot chocolate, and made-to-order wreaths and garland. The scavenger hunt in particular is a more distinctive touch than the standard hayride-and-cocoa combination seen at larger farms, and it fits the farm’s overall smaller, more curated feel. Because wreaths and garland are made to order rather than pre-stocked, don’t expect to grab one off a display table on the spot – factor in that they may need to be arranged ahead of time or picked up on a later date, though the record doesn’t specify a turnaround.

Why the by-appointment option matters

The by-appointment slots mentioned alongside the fixed 2025 dates are worth taking seriously rather than treating as an afterthought. For a farm this size, with this limited a public schedule, an appointment may be the more reliable way to guarantee time on the property once the handful of open weekend dates have passed or if your own schedule doesn’t line up with them. That’s a reasonable inference from a small farm’s typical constraints, not a specific promise from the record, so confirm directly with the farm whether appointments are still being offered for 2026 and what that process looks like.

The bottom line

If you want a compact, reasonably priced Virginia pine and don’t mind working around a short list of open dates, this is a solid option – but only if you commit to one of the early dates rather than treating December as an open-ended window. Given the 2025 sellout, the opening weekend after Thanksgiving is the safest bet, and confirming 2026’s specific dates directly with the farm at 256-466-5473 before making the drive is worth the extra step.

Planning your visit

Best time to go

The 2025 season ran on just a handful of dates -- Nov 28-30, Dec 6, and Dec 13, plus by-appointment slots -- and the farm sold out completely before the season's typical end. If the 2026 pattern holds, the very first weekend (the Friday through Sunday after Thanksgiving) is your best shot at a full selection.

How long to budget

Not stated in the record. With a Santa visit and a hidden-elves scavenger hunt on top of cutting a tree, this reads as more than a five-minute stop, but the record doesn't give a specific duration.

Crowds

Not stated directly, but a farm that operates on only a few specific dates and fully sold out in 2025 is, by definition, dealing with more demand than supply on those open days -- treat the dates as likely to be busy rather than assume a quiet visit.

Parking

Not described in the source material.

Strollers and accessibility

Not addressed in the source material.

What to bring

  • A specific plan for one of the farm's limited open dates rather than a general 'sometime in December' mindset, since it sold out fully in 2025
  • At least $50 in your budget for the minimum tree charge, per the farm's own pricing
  • A tape measure or clear sense of the size you want, since pricing is per foot

How to spend less here

  • The farm's own site states $10 per foot with a $50 minimum for the 2025 season -- so a tree at or under 5 feet costs the flat $50 minimum, while anything longer costs $10 for each additional foot beyond that
  • Because the minimum is $50 regardless of a shorter tree's actual per-foot math, a 5-foot tree and a 4-foot tree cost the same $50 -- there's no advantage to choosing shorter once you're under that threshold

Who it suits

Good for

  • Families who want a smaller, more compact Virginia pine rather than a tall, full-size tree
  • Visitors who like the idea of a scavenger hunt and Santa visit alongside the tree-cutting itself
  • Shoppers who want a straightforward, published price instead of calling to ask

Skip it if

Skip this farm if you can't make the opening weekend or one of the few other listed open dates, since it sold out completely in 2025 after only a handful of days, and skip it if you're set on a large, full-size tree, since the farm specializes in smaller, more compact Virginia pines.

Worth pairing with

No specific nearby-farm comparison is available in this record.

Common questions

How much does a tree cost at The Littlest Christmas Tree Farm?

The farm's own site lists $10 per foot with a $50 minimum per tree, for the 2025 season. A tree of 5 feet or less costs the flat $50 minimum; anything taller adds $10 per additional foot.

Does the farm sell out?

Yes -- the farm's site displayed 'SOLD OUT! CLOSED FOR THE SEASON!' for 2025 after operating on only a handful of dates (Nov 28-30, Dec 6, Dec 13, plus appointments).

What tree types are available?

Virginia pine only, and specifically smaller, more compact trees rather than the farm's full range of sizes.

Is the farm open every day in the season?

No. The 2025 pattern was limited to specific dates -- Nov 28-30, Dec 6, and Dec 13 -- with additional visits available by appointment, rather than continuous daily hours through the season.

When is The Littlest Christmas Tree Farm open in 2026?

2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. In past seasons it has run: Selected dates only, 2025 season: Nov 28-30, Dec 6, Dec 13 (by appointment other dates). Check with the farm before driving out.

How much does a tree cost at The Littlest Christmas Tree Farm?

Trees start at $50. $10 per foot with a $50 minimum, per the farm's own website (2025 season).

Can I cut my own tree at The Littlest Christmas Tree Farm?

Yes. It's cut-your-own.

Where is The Littlest Christmas Tree Farm?

2521 Ausley Bend Drive Northwest, Hartselle, AL 35640, in Morgan County. It is one of 3 farms we track in North Alabama (Tennessee Valley).

How The Littlest Christmas Tree Farm compares in North Alabama (Tennessee Valley)

We track 3 farms in North Alabama (Tennessee Valley), 2 of which let you cut your own tree. At $50 to start this one sits right on the regional median of $50.

One caveat worth repeating: this farm had not published its 2026 dates when we last checked, while 1 of the 3 farms we track in North Alabama (Tennessee Valley) had. Treat any date you see elsewhere as last year's until the farm confirms it.

Other farms near Hartselle

There are 3 other farms we track in Morgan County. All North Alabama (Tennessee Valley) farms →

Quick facts

SeasonSeason dates not yet published for 2026
Days openSelected dates only, 2025 season: Nov 28-30, Dec 6, Dec 13 (by appointment other dates)
HoursFri-Sat 9:00 AM-4:30 PM, Sun 2:00 PM-4:30 PM (2025-season hours; varies by date)
Starting price$50
Tree typesVirginia pine
CountyMorgan County
RegionNorth Alabama (Tennessee Valley)

Directions

Open in Google Maps ↗

Map pin is set to the town centre. Navigate to the street address above, not the pin.

Sources

littlestchristmastreefarm.com

Checked September 2026.