A small, hand-trimmed cut-your-own farm whose hours shift with how many trees are left, which rewards an early-season visit and punishes waiting.
Lockwood is a smaller operation compared to some of the larger choose-and-cut farms in this batch, and it says so itself: the farm’s own site describes a hand-trimmed selection rather than a mass-grown field, and notes that days and hours are “determined by quantities available.” That’s an unusually honest thing for a farm to put on its own site, and it’s worth taking at face value – this isn’t a farm with a fixed weekly schedule you can pencil in months ahead. Instead, how long it stays open in any given week, or at all, depends on how many trees are left to cut.
The site references opening for cutting starting Black Friday, which lands on November 27 for the 2026 season, though this wasn’t confirmed as a specific 2026 posting rather than a general recurring description on the site. No closing date is published at all, and the “limited number of harvest-ready trees” language suggests the farm could sell out well before Christmas even though other, larger farms are still open. Practically, this means the earlier in the season you go, the better your odds of both finding a good tree and finding the farm actually open with hours that suit your schedule. Waiting until mid-December here carries more real risk than it would at a bigger operation with a larger inventory.
There’s no price information published anywhere checked for this farm, which is a genuine gap for trip planning – not knowing whether you’re budgeting for a modest cut-your-own rate or something higher means you should call ahead specifically to ask before making the drive. Saw provision and cash-only status also aren’t addressed in the record, so don’t assume either way; ask both when you call.
Dogs are welcome on site, a nice detail for anyone who brings a pet along on these trips. The farm also sells premium seasoned firewood, though that’s described as a separate, likely year-round line of business rather than part of the Christmas-tree-cutting experience itself – useful to know if you see it advertised and wonder whether it’s connected to the tree season.
Lockwood offers a smaller, hand-trimmed alternative to the bigger farms nearby, but its inventory-dependent hours and lack of published pricing mean this is a call-ahead, go-early kind of farm rather than one you can casually plan a mid-December trip around.
The farm's own site references opening for cutting starting Black Friday, which for the 2026 season falls on November 27 -- but this wasn't confirmed as specifically applying to 2026 rather than being a general recurring description. No closing date is published. Because hours and availability depend on how many trees remain, going early in the season gives you both better selection and a better chance the farm is actually open when you arrive.
Not stated in the record.
Not stated in the record.
Not described in the record.
Not addressed in the source.
Skip Lockwood if you're planning a mid-to-late December visit without calling first, since hours and even whether trees are still available depend on quantity remaining, and skip it if you need confirmed pricing in advance, since none is published.
No specific nearby-farm comparison is available in this record.
The farm's own site says days and hours are determined by how many trees are available, historically opening around 9am starting Black Friday. There's no fixed daily schedule -- call ahead.
Not published. The farm notes a limited number of harvest-ready trees, which implies it may sell out before Christmas rather than running a fixed closing date.
Yes, per the record.
No price information was found published for this farm. Call ahead to ask.
Opens November 27, 2026 (closing date not published). Season and hours vary by tree quantity available -- call ahead. Hours: Determined by quantity available; historically 9am-4pm starting Black Friday.
Pricing was not published when we last checked.
Yes. It's cut-your-own.
129 Austin Ave, Greenville, RI 02828, in Providence County. It is one of 10 farms we track in Rhode Island.
We track 10 farms in Rhode Island, 9 of which let you cut your own tree. The farm has not published a starting price, so it cannot be compared on cost — call before you budget.
There are 3 other farms we track in Providence County. All Rhode Island farms →
lockwoodchristmastreefarm.com
Checked September 2026.