For farms
✓ 2026 dates confirmed on the farm's own site

McGee Christmas Tree Farm

📍 3131 Carson Road, Placerville, CA 95667🗓 November 27 – November 29, 2026🏷 From $145

A long-running Apple Hill farm, voted #1 in the county by a local audience, with a confirmed but unusually short 2026 season (Nov 27-29 only) and a $145 cash / $150 card flat price.

McGee Christmas Tree Farm in Placerville, CA

How you get your tree

This farm offers

cut-your-own

Included

family photography (personal use)picnicking in Apple Hill region

$145 flat if paid cash (includes tax and packaging), $150 if paid by card.

Our take

McGee Christmas Tree Farm has been operating in the Apple Hill growing region since 1952, and it carries a real, sourced credential: it’s reportedly been voted #1 tree farm in El Dorado County by a local audience. Longevity and local reputation aside, the single most important practical fact in this record is the season length — the farm’s own site gives a direct, confirmed 2026 date range of Friday, November 27 through Sunday, November 29. That’s just three days, Thanksgiving weekend only, noticeably shorter than the season some neighboring Apple Hill farms — including Indian Rock Tree Farm and El Dorado Orchards, both also in Camino — appear to run.

What that short season means for your planning

If you’re the kind of shopper who likes to wait until closer to Christmas to pick a tree, McGee’s official calendar won’t accommodate that this year — the site lists only the Thanksgiving weekend, not an extended run into December. The record notes that remaining inventory may sell out or the farm could extend informally beyond that window, but neither of those is something you can plan around with confidence. If your travel plans don’t include that specific weekend, this isn’t the farm to build a later-December trip around.

Flat pricing with a real cash discount

Pricing here is refreshingly explicit: a flat $145 if you pay cash, which includes both tax and packaging, or $150 if you pay by card — a genuine $5 discount for paying cash, straight from the farm’s own site. No per-foot breakdown was found, so whether you’re cutting a five-footer or a ten-footer, the price is the same. That flat structure, as with other flat-rate farms in this research, tends to favor whoever wants the biggest tree they can find.

One firm rule: bring no saw of your own

The record is explicit that only the farm’s own saws may be used — bringing a personal saw is disallowed. That’s a specific, farm-stated rule rather than a general inference, so if your habit at other cut-your-own farms is to bring your own tools, leave them in the car here.

Species and the Apple Hill setting

Tree options are Douglas fir, White fir, Noble fir, and Silvertip fir, and the farm sits within the broader Apple Hill region known for its cluster of seasonal agritourism stops — apple orchards, farm stands, and other tree farms all within a relatively compact area. If you’re making a day of it, pairing a McGee visit with other Apple Hill stops during that same Thanksgiving weekend is a reasonable way to fill out the trip, though nothing in this record confirms specific joint hours or packages with neighboring farms.

The honest bottom line

McGee combines genuine local reputation and straightforward, farm-confirmed pricing with a real constraint: a season that’s officially just three days long, so this only works if Thanksgiving weekend is actually open on your calendar.

Planning your visit

Best time to go

The farm's own site confirms 2026 dates directly: Friday, November 27 through Sunday, November 29 — Thanksgiving weekend only. That's a notably shorter official season than some Apple Hill neighbors that run into December, so this is a narrow window, not a season you can visit anytime through the holidays.

How long to budget

Not stated directly, but with the season limited to a single three-day weekend, plan for this to be a dedicated trip on one of those specific days rather than a flexible visit.

Crowds

Not stated directly, but a farm voted #1 in the county with a season compressed into a single three-day weekend is a strong signal that this specific weekend draws real crowds — arriving early (the farm opens at 8am) is a reasonable way to beat the rush.

Parking

Not described in the record.

Strollers and accessibility

Not addressed in the source.

What to bring

  • Cash if you want the lower $145 price; a card works too but costs $150, per the record
  • Nothing extra for cutting — only the farm's own saws may be used, and bringing a personal saw is explicitly disallowed
  • A plan to visit specifically within Nov 27-29, since that's the only confirmed 2026 window

How to spend less here

  • The flat price is $145 if paid in cash (includes tax and packaging) or $150 if paid by card, per the record — a real $5 cash discount you can act on directly
  • Because this is a flat rate rather than per-foot pricing, it's a better deal for a larger tree than a small one

Who it suits

Good for

  • Visitors free on the Thanksgiving weekend specifically, since that's the farm's confirmed 2026 window
  • Anyone who wants a clear, all-inclusive flat price rather than per-foot pricing
  • Fans of the Apple Hill region who want to pair a tree run with other Apple Hill stops

Skip it if

Skip McGee if you can't make it out during Thanksgiving weekend (Nov 27-29, 2026), since that's the only officially posted window on the farm's own site, and skip bringing your own saw, since only the farm's saws may be used.

Worth pairing with

The record notes McGee sits in the Apple Hill growing region, alongside other Apple Hill farms covered in this research, such as Indian Rock Tree Farm and El Dorado Orchards, both also in Camino.

Common questions

How much does a tree cost at McGee?

A flat $145 if paid in cash (includes tax and packaging), or $150 if paid by card, per the farm's own site.

When is the 2026 season?

Friday, November 27 through Sunday, November 29, 2026 — Thanksgiving weekend only, per the farm's own site. This is notably shorter than some neighboring Apple Hill farms that run into December.

Can I bring my own saw?

No — only the farm's own saws may be used; bringing a personal saw is explicitly disallowed, per the record.

What tree species are available?

Douglas fir, White fir, Noble fir, and Silvertip fir, per the record.

When is McGee Christmas Tree Farm open in 2026?

November 27 – November 29, 2026. Fri-Sun. Hours: 8:00am–dusk.

How much does a tree cost at McGee Christmas Tree Farm?

Trees start at $145. $145 flat if paid cash (includes tax and packaging), $150 if paid by card.

Can I cut my own tree at McGee Christmas Tree Farm?

Yes. It's cut-your-own, and a saw is provided.

Where is McGee Christmas Tree Farm?

3131 Carson Road, Placerville, CA 95667, in El Dorado County. It is one of 7 farms we track in Sierra Foothills CA.

How McGee Christmas Tree Farm compares in Sierra Foothills CA

We track 7 farms in Sierra Foothills CA, 7 of which let you cut your own tree. At $145 to start this one sits right on the regional median of $145.

Its season runs about 3 days against a regional average of 3, so it is broadly in line with the rest of the region.

Other farms near Placerville

There are 3 other farms we track in El Dorado County. All Sierra Foothills CA farms →

Quick facts

SeasonNovember 27 – November 29, 2026
Days openFri-Sun
Hours8:00am–dusk
Starting price$145
Tree typesDouglas fir, White fir, Noble fir, Silvertip fir
Saw providedYes
CountyEl Dorado County
RegionSierra Foothills CA

Sources

mcgeechristmastreefarm.net

Checked September 2026.