For farms

Merry Christmas Tree Farm

📍 244 Lay Bridge Road, Central, SC 29630🗓 Season dates not yet published for 2026🏷 From $10

A long-running (since 1980) farm near Lake Keowee with real per-foot pricing and both choose-and-cut and pre-cut options, though it has a documented history of selling out before Christmas.

Merry Christmas Tree Farm in Central, SC

How you get your tree

This farm offers

choose-and-cut (staff cuts it for you)

Included

wreaths made onsitetree stands and accessories for sale

$10 per foot for choose-and-cut trees from the field (2025 season); pre-cut Fraser Firs $60-$325 depending on size

Our take

Merry Christmas Tree Farm has been operating near Lake Keowee since 1980, now run by Jamie and Tracy Dodson, and it’s one of the more transparent operations in this research simply because it publishes real numbers instead of asking visitors to call for a quote. Choose-and-cut trees are priced at $10 per foot for the 2025 season, which means the math is straightforward and honest to walk through: a 6-foot tree runs about $60, a 7-footer about $70, and a 9-foot tree — a real option here given the farm’s tree variety — would run about $90, before any wreath, garland, or accessory purchases. Pre-cut Fraser Firs are priced separately at $60 to $325 depending on size, which gives you a second lane if you’d rather skip cutting altogether and just want a tree that’s already down.

Choose-and-cut vs. pre-cut, and what each actually means here

The choose-and-cut lineup includes Leyland Cypress, Murray Cypress, Virginia Pine, Carolina Blue Sapphire, and Eastern Red Cedar, along with White Pine — species that grow well in the Upstate’s climate. If you want an actual Fraser Fir, the classic dense, fragrant Christmas tree most people picture, this farm’s version comes pre-cut rather than field-grown, since Fraser Fir generally needs cooler, higher-elevation conditions than the Upstate provides. That’s a common pattern in this region, not a knock on this particular farm. The record doesn’t say whether cut-your-own visitors need to bring a saw or whether one is provided, so that’s worth a quick question when you call.

The wreath lead time is a real planning detail

The farm’s own website specifies that handmade wreath and garland orders need roughly three days’ advance notice. If a wreath is part of your plan and you’re the type to combine tree-buying with decor shopping in one trip, that same-day convenience isn’t there — you’ll need to call or order ahead and either pick up on a return visit or plan your first stop as an ordering trip.

Why timing matters more here than at some farms

Aggregator and community-site comments describe the farm as popular enough to sell out most years before Christmas. Combined with daily operation “until sold out” per the record, this points to a season that can end earlier than its calendar length suggests if a particular Saturday brings a wave of buyers. If you have your heart set on a specific size or species — say, a tall Leyland Cypress for a two-story foyer — earlier is safer than later. The 2025 season’s actual close date isn’t specified beyond “typically into mid-December,” which itself implies some years it closes earlier.

What’s still unconfirmed

No 2026 season_start date has been verified. Two different sources describe the opening differently — one cites a specific November 22, 2025 date for last year, while South Carolina’s own Department of Agriculture page describes the pattern more loosely as “starting Thanksgiving Day.” Those aren’t necessarily contradictory (Thanksgiving fell close to that date in 2025), but they don’t resolve into one confirmed rule for 2026, so treat any assumed date as unverified until you call 864-639-5888 or check the farm’s site directly.

The honest bottom line

This is one of the more trip-plannable farms in this batch thanks to real per-foot and per-tree pricing, but its track record of selling out before Christmas means the honest advice is to go early rather than wait for a “better” weekend later in the season.

Planning your visit

Best time to go

Sources describe the farm operating daily until sold out, typically into mid-December, with 2025 hours of 9 am to dark (about 5:45 pm). Given the farm's history of selling out most years before Christmas, a mid-to-late November visit gives you the best shot at full selection; no 2026 season_start date has been confirmed.

How long to budget

Not stated in the record. Between choosing a field tree, waiting for wreath work if you order one, and browsing tree stands and accessories on site, budget more than a quick stop.

Crowds

Not stated numerically, but the record notes the farm is popular enough to sell out most years before Christmas, which points to real weekend demand, especially once word gets out that inventory is thinning.

Parking

Not described in the record.

Strollers and accessibility

Not addressed in the source.

What to bring

  • Cash or a card — the record doesn't specify payment methods accepted, so ask when you arrive or call ahead
  • A rough size in mind before you start cutting, since choose-and-cut trees are billed per foot and the final price depends on how tall a tree you walk out with
  • At least three days of lead time if you want a wreath made to order, per the farm's own site

How to spend less here

  • Choose-and-cut trees run $10 per foot for the 2025 season per the farm's own pricing, so a 6-foot tree works out to about $60 and a 8-foot tree to about $80 before any add-ons — real arithmetic from the record's own numbers, not a guess
  • Pre-cut Fraser Firs ranged $60 to $325 in 2025 depending on size, so a smaller pre-cut Fraser can land in the same ballpark as a mid-size field-cut tree, which is worth comparing before you decide which to walk out with
  • Ordering a wreath ahead (three days' notice) avoids paying for a rushed same-day option, though the record doesn't give a wreath price to compare against

Who it suits

Good for

  • Visitors who want a real per-foot price rather than a flat unpublished rate
  • Shoppers deciding between a field-cut tree and a pre-cut Fraser Fir at the same stop
  • Anyone who wants a handmade wreath, as long as they can order a few days ahead

Skip it if

Skip Merry Christmas Tree Farm if you're hoping to walk in for a same-day wreath, since the record says orders need about three days' notice, and skip a December visit if a specific size or species matters to you, since the farm has a documented history of selling out most years before Christmas.

Worth pairing with

The record notes the farm sits near Lake Keowee, which may be worth combining with a lake-area outing if you're already making the drive to Oconee/Pickens County, though no specific paired attraction is confirmed in the record.

Common questions

How much does a tree cost at Merry Christmas Tree Farm?

Choose-and-cut trees from the field run $10 per foot for the 2025 season, so a 7-foot tree works out to about $70. Pre-cut Fraser Firs ranged $60 to $325 depending on size in that same season. 2026 pricing isn't confirmed to match, so treat these as the most recent published figures rather than a guarantee.

Can I get a wreath the same day I visit?

Probably not. The farm's website says handmade wreath and garland orders need about three days' advance notice.

Is this farm likely to sell out before Christmas?

Based on the record, yes — reader comments on aggregator sites note it's popular enough to sell out most years before Christmas, so earlier visits in the season are the safer bet.

What kinds of trees can I cut myself here?

The record lists Leyland Cypress, Murray Cypress, Virginia Pine, Carolina Blue Sapphire, Eastern Red Cedar, and White Pine as choose-and-cut varieties, plus pre-cut Fraser Fir for anyone who doesn't want to cut.

When is Merry Christmas Tree Farm open in 2026?

2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. In past seasons it has run: Daily until sold out (typically into mid-December). Check with the farm before driving out.

How much does a tree cost at Merry Christmas Tree Farm?

Trees start at $10. $10 per foot for choose-and-cut trees from the field (2025 season); pre-cut Fraser Firs $60-$325 depending on size

Can I cut my own tree at Merry Christmas Tree Farm?

Yes. It's choose-and-cut (staff cuts it for you).

Where is Merry Christmas Tree Farm?

244 Lay Bridge Road, Central, SC 29630, in Pickens County. It is one of 7 farms we track in Upstate South Carolina.

How Merry Christmas Tree Farm compares in Upstate South Carolina

We track 7 farms in Upstate South Carolina, 5 of which let you cut your own tree. At $10 to start this one sits right on the regional median of $10.

What sets it apart locally: it has wreaths and garland for sale, which most Upstate South Carolina farms on our list do not.

One caveat worth repeating: this farm had not published its 2026 dates when we last checked, while 1 of the 7 farms we track in Upstate South Carolina had. Treat any date you see elsewhere as last year's until the farm confirms it.

Other farms near Central

There is 1 other farm we track in Pickens County. All Upstate South Carolina farms →

Quick facts

SeasonSeason dates not yet published for 2026
Days openDaily until sold out (typically into mid-December)
Hours9:00 am to dark (about 5:45 pm)
Starting price$10
Tree typesLeyland Cypress, Murray Cypress, Virginia Pine, Carolina Blue Sapphire, Eastern Red Cedar, White Pine, Fraser Fir (pre-cut)
CountyPickens County
RegionUpstate South Carolina

Sources

merrychristmastreefarm.net

Checked September 2026.