Operating since 2002 with one of the widest tree selections in the KC-Kansas area and card payment accepted, but the farm closes purely when it sells out rather than on a fixed date, so waiting until mid-December is riskier here than at farms with a published closing date.
Not published on the farm's own website.
Midland Holiday Pines has run since 2002, and the record describes what may be the widest tree selection of any Kansas farm in this research batch. Scotch, Virginia, and white pine are grown on site, ranging from 6 to 21 feet with most trees falling in the 7-10 foot range. For visitors who want a fuller fir look that the local pines don’t provide, the farm imports Fraser fir, balsam fir, concolor fir, and blue spruce from Michigan, Wisconsin, and North Carolina. That’s seven distinct varieties at a single stop — more choice than most of the smaller farms in this area offer.
Both self-cut and staff-assisted cutting are available here, so a group with mixed preferences — someone who wants to do the work themselves and someone who’d rather have help — can be accommodated. On the payment side, the farm accepts credit cards in addition to cash and checks, which the record specifically calls out as a point of difference from several nearby competitors that are cash-only. A portable restroom and hand sanitizer are also noted on site, small but practical details for a family outing.
The one thing that genuinely changes how you should plan a visit here: Midland Holiday Pines doesn’t close on a fixed date. The farm’s own website confirms the season runs from the Friday after Thanksgiving until trees sell out, rather than on a set closing day like several other farms in this research batch. That’s a meaningfully different risk profile. At a farm with a published closing date of, say, mid-to-late December, you have a rough sense of how much runway you have. Here, popular sizes or species could be gone well before any calendar date “should” mean the season is over, particularly given the range runs up to 21 feet — a size that’s likely to be a limited, premium option even in a farm this well-stocked. If you have your heart set on a specific size or one of the imported fir varieties, earlier in the season is the safer bet.
No dollar figure for tree pricing turned up in any source checked, including the farm’s own website. That’s a real gap for a farm running a program this varied — pricing across seven species and a size range from 6 to 21 feet very likely differs meaningfully by both factors, but none of that structure is published anywhere. The honest approach is to ask on arrival and budget flexibly, especially if you’re drawn to one of the larger or imported varieties, which are plausibly priced higher than a standard field-grown pine, though this can’t be confirmed from the record.
Midland Holiday Pines offers real variety and payment flexibility that several nearby farms don’t match, backed by nearly a quarter century in business. The tradeoff is the sellout-based closing model, which rewards visiting earlier in the season rather than waiting, and a total lack of published pricing to plan around in advance.
The season opens Nov 27, 2026 (the confirmed Friday-after-Thanksgiving pattern), running weekends 10am-5pm until sold out. Because there's no fixed closing date, going earlier in the season is the safer bet if you want a specific size or species.
Not stated directly, but a wide selection to browse plus optional paid professional photography by appointment suggests this could be a longer visit than a quick cut-and-go for families who want photos.
Not stated directly, but a farm wide enough in selection to draw comparisons across pine, fir, and spruce varieties, open only Saturday and Sunday, likely concentrates all its visitors into two days a week rather than spreading them out.
Not described in the record.
Not addressed in the source beyond a noted portable restroom and hand sanitizer on site.
Skip Midland Holiday Pines if you're hoping for a specific tree size or species late in the season, since the farm sells out rather than closing on a fixed date, and skip a weekday visit, since the record only lists Saturday-Sunday hours.
No specific nearby-farm comparison is available in this record.
Seven types per the record: Scotch, Virginia, and white pine grown on site (6-21 feet, mostly 7-10 feet), plus imported Fraser fir, balsam fir, concolor fir, and blue spruce from Michigan, Wisconsin, and North Carolina.
Yes. The record confirms cards are accepted along with cash and checks, unlike several nearby farms that are cash-only.
Not on a fixed date. The farm's own site confirms it closes when trees sell out rather than on a set closing day, so no season_end date is given here.
Yes, and staff-assisted cutting is also offered, per the record, giving some flexibility depending on what your group prefers.
Opens November 27, 2026 (closing date not published). Sat-Sun. Hours: 10am-5pm.
Pricing was not published when we last checked. Not published on the farm's own website.
Yes. It's cut-your-own and choose-and-cut (staff cuts it for you).
18541 Midland Drive, Shawnee, KS 66218, in Johnson County. It is one of 6 farms we track in Kansas City Region KS.
We track 6 farms in Kansas City Region KS, 5 of which let you cut your own tree. The farm has not published a starting price, so it cannot be compared on cost — call before you budget.
There are 8 other farms we track in Johnson County. All Kansas City Region KS farms →
Map pin is set to the town centre. Navigate to the street address above, not the pin.
midlandholidaypines.com · pickyourownchristmastree.org · facebook.com
Checked September 2026.