A farm that sat out the entire 2025 season and is slated to reopen for 2026, with a suspiciously worded 'free, no payment' price note that almost certainly shouldn't be taken at face value — confirm everything by phone before you drive out.
Farm's own past listing states "Free - no payments needed for anything," which is unusual and should be reconfirmed, as it may be outdated or refer only to parking/admission rather than tree cost.
Morgan Hills Christmas Trees, in Liberty, is a farm returning from a gap: both Mississippi’s official state tree-farm directory and a November 2025 WJTV news roundup explicitly note it as “closed for 2025 season, will reopen in 2026.” That’s a specific, sourced fact rather than a guess, and it changes how this listing should be read compared to farms that have operated continuously.
Because the farm sat out an entire season, none of the operational details on file can be treated with the same confidence as a farm that’s been running consistently. When it previously operated, Morgan Hills offered a relatively wide cut-your-own species mix — Fraser fir, Leyland cypress, and Virginia pine — plus living, rooted trees for those who want to replant after the season. That’s a genuinely appealing lineup, including a true fir option that many Mississippi farms don’t carry. But “previously offered” is doing real work in that sentence: none of it has been reconfirmed for the farm’s return in 2026.
The record includes an unusual and specific claim from an older listing: “Free — no payments needed for anything.” That is included here because this brief’s honesty rule requires reporting what’s in the record rather than silently dropping inconvenient or odd data — but it comes with a clear flag attached. The research notes describe this claim as “almost certainly either outdated or a misstatement,” possibly referring to parking or general admission rather than the actual cost of a tree. Do not plan a visit assuming trees here are genuinely free; call 601-657-8424 to get an actual, current answer before you go.
The farm’s previously stated seasonal pattern was “Thanksgiving to Christmas Eve,” with hours of Monday-Saturday 9am to dusk and Sunday 1pm to dusk. Applying that pattern to 2026 suggests an opening around Thanksgiving Day itself (November 26), but this is an estimate carried over from before the season off, not a fresh confirmation tied to the farm’s actual return. Given that the farm is coming back after a full year away, there’s a real chance its 2026 schedule, staffing, or crop availability could differ from what it ran before — all the more reason to treat any date here as a starting point for a phone call, not a locked plan.
Morgan Hills could be a genuinely good stop once it’s back — the prior tree selection was strong, including a real Fraser fir option — but between the season off, the unconfirmed reopening, and a pricing claim that looks like an error rather than real information, this is a farm to verify thoroughly by phone before building a 2026 trip around it.
Based on the farm's previously stated pattern of running Thanksgiving to Christmas Eve, an estimated opening around Thanksgiving Day 2026 (November 26) is plausible, but this comes from a pre-closure season and has not been reconfirmed for the farm's return. Hours, per that same older pattern, were Monday-Saturday 9am-dusk and Sunday 1pm-dusk.
Not stated directly, and given the season off, there's no current basis to estimate visit length with confidence.
Not stated in the record.
Not described in the record.
Not addressed in any source checked.
Skip Morgan Hills — or at least call first — since it sat out the entire 2025 season and its reopening for 2026, while stated by the official state directory, hasn't been independently confirmed, and skip taking the 'free, no payment' pricing claim at face value, since it's flagged in the record as likely outdated or a misstatement.
Not available in the record checked.
It's scheduled to reopen for 2026 after sitting out the 2025 season entirely, per Mississippi's official state tree-farm directory and a November 2025 WJTV news roundup. This hasn't been independently confirmed with the farm, so call 601-657-8424 before planning a visit.
One older listing states 'Free - no payments needed for anything,' but this is almost certainly outdated or a misunderstanding — it may refer only to parking or admission rather than tree cost. Confirm actual pricing by phone before assuming this is accurate.
When previously operating, it offered Fraser fir, Leyland cypress, and Virginia pine for cut-your-own, plus living/rooted trees for sale.
A prior-season pattern of Thanksgiving through Christmas Eve, with hours of Monday-Saturday 9am-dusk and Sunday 1pm-dusk — but these are carried over from before the farm's season off and should be reconfirmed.
Opens November 26, 2026 (closing date not published). Thanksgiving to Christmas Eve, Mon-Sat 9am-dusk, Sun 1pm-dusk. Hours: Mon-Sat 9:00 AM - dusk; Sunday 1:00 PM - dusk.
Pricing was not published when we last checked. Farm's own past listing states "Free - no payments needed for anything," which is unusual and should be reconfirmed, as it may be outdated or refer only to parking/admission rather than tree cost.
Yes. It's cut-your-own and choose-and-cut (staff cuts it for you).
2139 South Greensburg Road, Liberty, MS 39645, in Amite County. It is one of 8 farms we track in Southwest MS.
We track 8 farms in Southwest MS, 6 of which let you cut your own tree.
mschristmastrees.com · pickyourownchristmastree.org
Checked September 2026.