A large-inventory farm with a genuinely useful flat-pricing structure — bigger trees cost the same as smaller ones — but the actual dollar figure isn't published anywhere in the record.
All trees priced the same regardless of size, per the 2025 state directory listing; exact dollar figure not stated in sources reviewed.
Mulkeen’s pitch, per its own materials, is scale: “a thousand trees to choose from” across white pine, Canaan fir, and blue and Norway spruce. That’s a meaningfully larger inventory claim than most farms in this directory make, and it comes with a pricing structure that’s genuinely worth understanding before you go, even without a number attached to it.
The state forestry directory’s 2025 listing states plainly that all trees at Mulkeen’s are priced the same regardless of size. No source reviewed states what that price actually is — not a figure, not a range — so under this site’s rule on money, this page can’t print a dollar amount. But the structure itself is real, sourced information, and it changes how you should shop here compared to a per-foot-priced farm. On a per-foot lot, picking a smaller tree saves you money; here, it doesn’t. If you have the ceiling height for a bigger tree, there’s no financial reason to settle for a smaller one — the arithmetic works out to zero difference in cost either way, once you know what that flat number is. Calling ahead (304-292-0059) or checking mulkeenlandscaping.com is the only way to close that last gap.
Beyond cutting your own, Mulkeen’s also offers balled-and-burlapped trees — living trees with the root ball intact, meant to be replanted rather than discarded after the holiday. That’s a genuine point of differentiation. If you’ve been curious about a living Christmas tree but haven’t found a farm offering one, this is one of the few in this batch that does, per the record.
Access for the final stretch is via a gravel road (Arden Peters Road), and the state directory explicitly advises visiting only during daylight hours, since there’s no after-dark access set up in the field itself. Combined with hours limited to Friday, Saturday, and Sunday, that means this isn’t a farm you can swing by after work on a weekday evening — plan a daytime weekend trip, and build in enough time to browse a thousand-tree selection before dusk cuts your visit short.
Saws and twine for tying the tree down are provided at no charge, per research notes, which covers the basic mechanics of a cut-your-own visit. What isn’t confirmed is whether the farm takes cards — treat cash or a check as the safer assumption until you’ve asked. The season is expected to run Nov 27 through Dec 24, 2026, giving you a longer window than several farms in this directory that stop earlier or leave their closing date open-ended, which is one advantage of a large-inventory operation: there’s more room to wait if your first-choice weekend doesn’t work out.
Daylight hours on a Friday, Saturday, or Sunday between Nov 27 and Dec 24, 2026 — the directory specifically advises against after-dark visits since there's no lit access in the field.
Not documented, but with roughly a thousand trees described across the farm, browsing before cutting may take longer than at a smaller operation.
Not documented in the record.
Not documented specifically, but access is via gravel road (Arden Peters Road) for the final stretch, and the state directory advises visiting only during daylight hours since there's no after-dark access in the tree field.
Not documented. A gravel-road approach and an open tree field both point toward uneven, unpaved terrain rather than an accessible lot.
Skip it if you need an exact price confirmed before you leave home, since the record confirms flat pricing but not the dollar amount, or if you're not comfortable with a gravel-road final approach and a daylight-only visiting window.
Not documented in this record; other Mountaineer Country-region farms in this directory may be worth pairing with a visit here.
Flat, according to the 2025 state forestry directory listing — all trees are priced the same regardless of size. The exact dollar figure isn't stated in any source reviewed, so the pricing structure is confirmed but the number itself isn't.
Large. The farm's own materials describe about a thousand trees to choose from, across white pine, Canaan fir, and blue and Norway spruce.
Yes — balled-and-burlapped (live, replantable) trees are offered as an alternative to cutting, per the record.
Friday, Saturday, or Sunday, daylight to dusk. The final stretch of the drive is a gravel road (Arden Peters Road), and the directory specifically advises visiting during daylight hours only, since there's no after-dark access in the field.
November 27 – December 24, 2026. Fri, Sat, Sun. Hours: Daylight-dusk.
Pricing was not published when we last checked. All trees priced the same regardless of size, per the 2025 state directory listing; exact dollar figure not stated in sources reviewed.
Yes. It's cut-your-own and choose-and-cut (staff cuts it for you), and a saw is provided.
743 Sleepy Hollow Road, Independence, WV 26374, in Preston County. It is one of 2 farms we track in Mountaineer Country WV.
There is 1 other farm we track in Preston County. All Mountaineer Country WV farms →
Map pin is set to the town centre. Navigate to the street address above, not the pin.
mulkeenlandscaping.com · wvforestry.com · zipcodestogo.com
Checked September 2026.