A 15-acre, cash-only, pet-friendly farm in Poplar Grove with a simple $12-per-foot price across five species, but a public season historically limited to Thanksgiving weekend only.
$12 per foot for all trees, cash only. Per the farm's own website for its 2025 season.
Cash only. This farm doesn't take cards, based on what we found — bring cash or confirm ahead if that's changed.
Nature’s Best Christmas Trees, on a 15-acre farm in Boone County near Poplar Grove, runs one of the simpler pricing models in this research: a uniform $12 per foot across all five species offered, with no separate tier for firs versus pines versus spruce. Using only that published rate, a 6-foot tree comes to $72, a 7-foot tree to $84, and a 9-foot tree to $108 — straightforward arithmetic that applies the same way regardless of which of the five species you choose.
The farm’s own site confirmed that its 2025 season opened for Thanksgiving weekend only — specifically Friday through Sunday, November 28-30. That’s a much narrower public season than many of the farms in this research, several of which run for weeks. 2026 dates weren’t posted at the time of this research, so if the same compressed pattern holds, this is a farm to actively plan a specific weekend around rather than assume you can visit anytime in early-to-mid December.
One genuinely useful detail here: Nature’s Best offers both self-cutting and staff-cutting service, with bow saws provided in either case. That flexibility means you’re not committed to doing the physical cutting yourself if you’d rather have farm staff handle it — a distinction not always spelled out clearly at other farms in this batch.
The five species — Fraser fir, Canaan fir, concolor fir, Norway spruce, and Eastern white pine — cover a solid range between firs, a spruce, and a pine, giving real variety in needle type and shape despite the uniform pricing. Beyond the trees, the farm offers vehicle loading assistance and tree netting/baling, both of which appear to be part of the standard visit rather than extra-cost add-ons based on how they’re listed.
Payment is cash only, per the farm’s own site — worth planning for directly since there’s no card backup mentioned. On the friendlier side, the farm explicitly welcomes leashed dogs, a detail that stands in contrast to at least one nearby farm in this same research that asks visitors to leave pets at home.
Nature’s Best offers genuinely simple, easy-to-calculate pricing and real cutting flexibility, plus a rare pet-friendly policy among the farms studied here — but the narrow, Thanksgiving-weekend-only public season means this is one to circle on the calendar specifically rather than treat as available whenever the mood strikes.
The farm's 2025 season opened for Thanksgiving weekend only — Friday through Sunday, Nov 28-30. 2026 dates weren't posted at the time of this research, so if the same narrow pattern holds, this is a farm to plan around specifically rather than visit whenever convenient during the broader season.
Not stated, but with vehicle loading assistance and netting/baling included, the actual tree-selection-and-checkout process should move efficiently once you're there.
Not stated directly, but a single-weekend public season concentrates all visitors into just three days, which likely means a busier, more compressed rush than farms open across several weeks.
Not described in the record.
Not addressed in the source.
Skip Nature's Best if you can't make Thanksgiving weekend specifically, since the farm's 2025 public season was limited to that single weekend, and skip it if you can't pay cash, since it's cash only.
No specific nearby-farm comparison is available in this record.
$12 per foot for all trees, cash only, per the farm's own website for the 2025 season.
Fraser fir, Canaan fir, concolor fir, Norway spruce, and Eastern white pine, per the farm's own site.
Yes — the farm explicitly welcomes leashed dogs, per its own site.
The 2025 season opened for Thanksgiving weekend only (Fri-Sun, Nov 28-30, 2025). 2026 dates were not posted at the time of this research, so this narrow window should be confirmed before planning a visit.
2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. Check with the farm before driving out.
Pricing was not published when we last checked. $12 per foot for all trees, cash only. Per the farm's own website for its 2025 season.
Yes. It's cut-your-own and choose-and-cut (staff cuts it for you), and a saw is provided.
13001 Route 76, Poplar Grove, IL 61065, in Boone County. It is one of 8 farms we track in Northern Illinois.
We track 8 farms in Northern Illinois, 6 of which let you cut your own tree. The farm has not published a starting price, so it cannot be compared on cost — call before you budget.
What sets it apart locally: it has free netting/baling, which most Northern Illinois farms on our list do not.
One caveat worth repeating: this farm had not published its 2026 dates when we last checked, while 1 of the 8 farms we track in Northern Illinois had. Treat any date you see elsewhere as last year's until the farm confirms it.
There is 1 other farm we track in Boone County. All Northern Illinois farms →
Map pin is set to the town centre. Navigate to the street address above, not the pin.
naturesbesttrees.com
Checked September 2026.