A young, growing family farm founded in 2021 with a genuine local-news-documented backstory, offering a real Florida-species cut-your-own selection plus honey and vegetables — but bring cash, since the farm is confirmed cash-only.
Cash only. This farm doesn't take cards, based on what we found — bring cash or confirm ahead if that's changed.
Nicholas’s Christmas Tree Farm in Summerfield has one of the more genuinely documented origin stories in this batch, not through the farm’s own marketing but through two local news feature articles from 352today about owner Ann Murray. Founded in 2021, the farm reportedly grew from about 35 trees sold in its first year to roughly 400 per year — a specific, sourced trajectory that reads as real local reporting rather than a farm’s own self-description.
Being newer and smaller isn’t a downside by itself, but it’s worth factoring into expectations: a farm selling on the order of a few hundred trees per year has a meaningfully smaller inventory than a farm advertising over a thousand trees on its property. If you have your heart set on a specific size or shape, visiting earlier in the season rather than later is a reasonable hedge, since a smaller crop can sell through its best specimens faster in relative terms even if the farm as a whole doesn’t run out entirely.
The cutting selection centers on Florida Sand Pine, Red Cedar, and Carolina Sapphire — all species suited to Central Florida’s climate, with Sand Pine in particular being a native species adapted to the region’s sandy soil rather than an imported cold-climate tree. Beyond the trees, the farm sells honey, beeswax candles, and fresh vegetables, which fits the picture of a genuinely diversified small family operation rather than a single-season pop-up built around Christmas trees alone.
Unlike most farms in this dataset, where payment method is simply unconfirmed, this record settles the question directly: Nicholas’s is cash only. That’s a concrete, actionable detail worth planning around specifically, since there’s no mention anywhere in the sources checked of an on-site ATM or any card-payment option. If you’re headed out with just a card in your wallet, stop for cash first — showing up to cut and pay for a tree only to discover you can’t complete the purchase would be a genuinely frustrating outcome that’s entirely avoidable with a two-minute detour beforehand.
No pricing information was found for this farm in any source, so budget flexibly and ask directly on arrival — bringing enough cash to cover a range of outcomes rather than an exact expected total. No confirmed season end date is on record either, only the projected Nov 27, 2026 opening based on the recurring day-after-Thanksgiving pattern.
Nicholas’s offers something a little different from the area’s bigger, more established farms: a real, recently-founded, still-growing family operation with a documented local following and a genuinely diversified small-farm feel. Just remember the cash-only policy, and treat the smaller scale as a reason to visit sooner rather than later in the season.
The record projects a 2026 season starting Nov 27, based on the recurring day-after-Thanksgiving opening pattern. No confirmed end date is on record, and as a young, smaller farm, visiting earlier in the season is a reasonable way to hedge against a limited-size crop selling through.
Not stated in the record.
Not stated in the record, though as a young farm that grew from about 35 trees sold in its first year to roughly 400 per year, per local news coverage, inventory itself may be more limited than at larger, longer-established farms.
Not described in the record.
Not addressed in the record.
Skip Nicholas's if you don't have cash on hand and can't get to an ATM beforehand, since the farm is confirmed cash-only, per the directory listing.
Not available in the record.
No — the directory listing confirms the farm is cash only. Plan to bring enough cash for your tree and anything else you pick up, like honey or vegetables.
Relatively new: founded in 2021 by owner Ann Murray, according to local news coverage from 352today. The farm grew from about 35 trees sold in its first year to roughly 400 per year as of that reporting.
Florida Sand Pine, Red Cedar, and Carolina Sapphire, per the directory listing. The farm's activities list also mentions Leyland Cypress and Arizona Cypress among its tags, though the core cutting selection centers on the first three species.
Yes — honey, beeswax candles, and fresh vegetables are sold alongside the Christmas trees, consistent with a small, diversified family farm rather than a single-purpose seasonal lot.
Opens November 27, 2026 (closing date not published). Day after Thanksgiving, daily 10am till dark; cash only. No confirmed end date found.. Hours: 10am till dark.
Pricing was not published when we last checked.
Yes. It's cut-your-own, and a saw is provided.
14260 SE 80th Avenue, Summerfield, FL 34491, in Marion County. It is one of 4 farms we track in North Central FL.
We track 4 farms in North Central FL, 4 of which let you cut your own tree. The farm has not published a starting price, so it cannot be compared on cost — call before you budget.
What sets it apart locally: it has a gift shop or farm market, which most North Central FL farms on our list do not.
There are 7 other farms we track in Marion County. All North Central FL farms →
pickyourownchristmastree.org · flchristmastrees.com
Checked September 2026.