A fall pumpkin farm that also runs a modest choose-and-cut Christmas season with White Pine and Canaan Fir, but the farm reportedly shifts to by-appointment-only access later in December -- confirm before assuming standing hours.
Oak Hill Tree Farm in Crawfordsville is best known as a fall u-pick pumpkin destination, and its Christmas tree operation reads like a secondary offering layered onto that main business rather than the farm’s primary identity. That’s not a criticism – plenty of good tree farms started as something else – but it does shape what to expect if you’re coming specifically for a tree rather than as an extension of a fall pumpkin trip.
Oak Hill offers two tree types: White Pine, up to about 10 feet, and Canaan Fir, up to about 8-9 feet, both available as choose-and-cut. That’s a narrower selection than several other farms in this region, which often list four, five, or more species. If either White Pine or Canaan Fir is what you’re after, that’s not a problem; if you’re hoping to compare several fir varieties side by side, this farm’s lineup won’t give you that.
The farm’s own site mentions moving to by-appointment-only access later in the season, rather than maintaining standing open hours straight through December. This is a meaningful operational detail: it suggests a smaller staff or a supply-driven approach where the farm scales down public hours once early-season traffic and clear weekends have passed. Practically, that means the earlier in the season you go, the more likely you are to find standard walk-up access, while a December visit later in the month may require calling ahead to schedule a time. Neither the exact cutoff date nor how appointments are booked was confirmed in this research, so treat “call ahead if it’s later in December” as a solid general rule here rather than a specific date to circle on a calendar.
The farm offers school tours and paid photography sessions, both signals that Oak Hill leans into the broader agritourism and photo-op market that its fall pumpkin business likely built, rather than functioning as a pure tree lot. If a working farm setting for family photos is something you’re after, that’s a genuine option here, though pricing and booking details for photography sessions weren’t found in available sources.
No 2026 season start date, closing date, hours, or tree pricing were found in the sources checked for this research. A regional Facebook post referenced a “Nov 23” opening, but the specific year of that post wasn’t confirmed, so it wasn’t used as a 2026 date here. This is a farm where the honest answer to “when should I go and what will it cost” is genuinely “we don’t know yet” – worth calling (765) 790-3297 directly as the season approaches.
If White Pine or Canaan Fir specifically fits what you’re looking for, and you’re comfortable calling ahead, especially for a later-December visit, Oak Hill is a reasonable stop. Just don’t expect the wide species selection or the guaranteed daily hours that some larger farms in this region offer.
Unknown for standing hours. The farm's own site mentions by-appointment-only access later in the season, so earlier in the Christmas window is likely your best bet for a walk-up visit, but no specific dates were confirmed for 2026.
Likely 30-60 minutes for choosing and cutting a tree from a smaller selection of two species.
Not specified in available sources. As primarily a fall pumpkin destination, the farm's Christmas-season traffic pattern wasn't described.
Not specified in available sources.
Not specified in available sources.
you want a wide species selection or guaranteed walk-up hours throughout December -- this farm appears to shift to appointment-only access as the season progresses.
Not established from available sources.
White Pine (up to about 10 feet) and Canaan Fir (up to about 8-9 feet), both choose-and-cut, per the farm's own site.
No, it's primarily known as a fall u-pick pumpkin farm that also runs a choose-and-cut Christmas tree season alongside that.
The farm's site mentions shifting to by-appointment-only access later in the season, so calling ahead becomes more important as December goes on.
Yes, the farm offers paid photography sessions, in addition to school tours.
2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. Check with the farm before driving out.
Pricing was not published when we last checked.
Yes. It's cut-your-own and choose-and-cut (staff cuts it for you).
493 W Oak Hill Rd, Crawfordsville, IN 47933, in Montgomery County. It is one of 3 farms we track in West Central Indiana.
We track 3 farms in West Central Indiana, 3 of which let you cut your own tree. The farm has not published a starting price, so it cannot be compared on cost — call before you budget.
One caveat worth repeating: this farm had not published its 2026 dates when we last checked, while 1 of the 3 farms we track in West Central Indiana had. Treat any date you see elsewhere as last year's until the farm confirms it.
There are 7 other farms we track in Montgomery County. All West Central Indiana farms →
oakhill.events
Checked September 2026.