A weekends-only cut-your-own farm near Cary with tiered species pricing that already includes tax, shaking, and baling, and more payment flexibility than several cash-only neighbors.
2025 season: Pines $100, firs and spruces $120, prices include tax, shaking, and baling. Cash, check, and credit accepted. Per University of Illinois Extension's tree-farm directory and aggregator listings.
Pine-Apple Farm, on Three Oaks Road in Cary, doesn’t run its own independent website — the information available here comes instead from the University of Illinois Extension’s Christmas tree farm directory and local aggregators like McHenry Life and Chicago Parent, with a Facebook page apparently serving as the farm’s more active online presence. That’s worth knowing upfront: this is a farm where checking in by phone or social media matters more than it would for a farm with a maintained site of its own.
Unlike farms that run continuously for a month or open every Saturday and Sunday through the season, Pine-Apple’s 2025 schedule was limited to three specific weekends: November 28-30, December 6-7, and December 13-14, with hours of 9am to 4pm on those days. That’s a real constraint for planning — this isn’t a farm you can casually decide to visit “sometime in early December.” If the 2026 season follows a similar scattered pattern, the specific dates need to be confirmed before you commit to a trip.
The 2025 pricing structure was tiered by species: pines at $100, firs and spruces at $120. Both figures already include tax, shaking, and baling, according to the sources checked — a more transparent structure than farms that quote a base tree price and then add baling or shaking as a separate line item. If you know going in that a fir or spruce is a $20 premium over a pine, that’s useful budgeting information without any further guesswork needed.
Pine-Apple accepts cash, check, and credit cards, per the record — worth calling out specifically because several nearby farms in this same research batch are cash-only. If a card is your preferred way to pay, this is one of the more accommodating options among the farms studied here.
No tree species breakdown beyond the pine-versus-fir/spruce pricing tiers was found, and nothing turned up on saws or specific on-site activities like hayrides or a gift shop. Given that the primary sources are third-party directories rather than a farm-run site, treat any of these gaps as things to ask about directly rather than assume either way.
Pine-Apple’s transparent, all-in tiered pricing and broader payment options make it easy to budget for once you know the open dates — but those open dates are the real planning challenge here, since the farm runs on a small number of specific weekends rather than a continuous season.
The 2025 season ran three specific weekends: Nov 28-30, Dec 6-7, and Dec 13-14. If the 2026 season follows a similar pattern of scattered weekends rather than a continuous run, the exact dates need to be confirmed directly, since this isn't a farm you can visit on just any weekend of the season.
Not stated in the record.
Not stated directly, but with only a handful of specific weekends open per season rather than daily access, each open weekend likely sees more concentrated traffic than a farm spread across a full month of daily hours.
Not described in the record.
Not addressed in the source.
Skip Pine-Apple if you're hoping to visit on a weekday, since it's open weekends only, and skip assuming the farm has its own current website, since none was found — its most active presence appears to be a Facebook page.
No specific nearby-farm comparison is available in this record.
In the 2025 season, pines were $100 and firs/spruces were $120, with both prices including tax, shaking, and baling, per University of Illinois Extension's tree-farm directory and local aggregators.
No. The 2025 season ran on three specific weekends only: Nov 28-30, Dec 6-7, and Dec 13-14. It is not open daily.
Yes — the record confirms cash, check, and credit are all accepted, which is more flexible than several nearby cash-only farms.
No independent farm website was found. It appears to maintain a Facebook page rather than a standalone site, so third-party directories and aggregators are the main source of information here.
2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. In past seasons it has run: Weekends only (2025: Nov 28–30, Dec 6–7, Dec 13–14). Check with the farm before driving out.
Trees start at $100. 2025 season: Pines $100, firs and spruces $120, prices include tax, shaking, and baling. Cash, check, and credit accepted. Per University of Illinois Extension's tree-farm directory and aggregator listings.
Yes. It's cut-your-own.
309 Three Oaks Road, Cary, IL 60013, in McHenry County. It is one of 10 farms we track in Chicago Suburbs.
We track 10 farms in Chicago Suburbs, 9 of which let you cut your own tree. At $100 to start this one sits above the regional median of $85.
One caveat worth repeating: this farm had not published its 2026 dates when we last checked, while 2 of the 10 farms we track in Chicago Suburbs had. Treat any date you see elsewhere as last year's until the farm confirms it.
There are 5 other farms we track in McHenry County. All Chicago Suburbs farms →
Map pin is set to the town centre. Navigate to the street address above, not the pin.
Checked September 2026.