A long-running family farm with a genuinely warm setup (wood-burning stove, free cocoa) but no published 2026 dates, hours, or prices, so this is a call-or-check-Facebook-first visit.
Cash only. This farm doesn't take cards, based on what we found — bring cash or confirm ahead if that's changed.
Pine Lake is a third-generation family operation that started as a wheat farm before converting to Christmas trees, a story local news covered when profiling the couple who runs it. That kind of long-tenure, well-reviewed reputation is a real point in its favor, but it comes with a gap that matters for trip planning: nothing in the record confirms when the 2026 season opens, what the hours are, or what a tree costs.
Pine Lake grows roughly 7,500 trees across three varieties — Austrian pine, Scotch pine, and White pine — reached by a hayrack ride rather than a self-guided walk into the field. Once you’ve cut your tree, the barn offers a wood-burning stove to warm up next to, along with complimentary hot chocolate, coffee, or cappuccino. That’s a genuinely appealing setup for a cold late-November or December afternoon, and it’s a specific, sourced detail rather than a generic “family-friendly” claim.
The farm also runs a gift shop on site. What isn’t confirmed: whether saws are provided for self-cutting, what the actual price per tree runs, and what the season calendar looks like for 2026. The farm’s own website reportedly defers to a “check before you visit” message rather than posting fixed dates, which is honest on the farm’s part but means anyone planning a trip needs to do that legwork themselves.
This farm is cash only. That’s stated plainly in the record and is worth taking seriously, since many competing tree farms in the Wichita area have moved to accepting cards. If you’re used to tapping a phone or card at checkout, bring actual cash before you leave home — there’s no indication of an ATM on site, and driving 20 minutes back to town after cutting a tree is not how anyone wants to end a nice afternoon.
Because both price_from and price_note are empty in the record, there is no dollar figure — not even a rough one — that can honestly be given here. That’s not a research failure this early in the season; it reflects that Pine Lake genuinely hasn’t published pricing anywhere checked. The only responsible advice is to budget flexibly and ask what a tree costs before you start cutting, treating the visit as a “confirm on arrival” situation rather than one you can plan a specific dollar amount around in advance.
Pine Lake has the ingredients of a genuinely nice, unpretentious visit — a real family history, a warm barn, free drinks, and a reasonable selection of pine varieties — but it asks more of the visitor than most farms in this area in terms of legwork. Call ahead or check the farm’s Facebook page close to opening weekend to nail down hours, and bring cash, since neither detail is available anywhere else.
Not stated in the record. The farm's own site directs visitors to check current hours and availability before visiting rather than publishing a fixed calendar, so there's no season window here to point you toward.
Not stated in the record. A hayrack ride out to the fields plus warming up around the wood-burning stove suggests more than a quick stop, but no specific duration is given.
Not stated in the record. A well-reviewed, long-running family farm covered in local news coverage suggests steady local demand, but no specific crowd information is available.
Not described in the record.
Not addressed in the source. Visitors reach the fields by hayrack ride rather than walking directly from a lot, which is worth knowing if mobility is a concern.
Skip Pine Lake if you need confirmed hours or a season calendar before you can plan the trip, since neither is published anywhere checked, and skip it if you don't carry cash, since the record confirms this farm is cash only.
No specific nearby-farm comparison is available in this record.
Yes. The record confirms this farm is cash only, unlike some nearby competitors that now take cards, per the source notes.
Austrian pine, Scotch pine, and White pine, according to the record, across roughly 7,500 trees per local news coverage cited in the source notes.
Not published. The farm's own site tells visitors to check current hours and availability before visiting rather than posting a fixed calendar.
Yes. The record lists hayrack rides out to the fields and complimentary hot chocolate, coffee, or cappuccino served around a wood-burning stove in the barn.
2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. Check with the farm before driving out.
Pricing was not published when we last checked.
Yes. It's cut-your-own.
6802 S. Oliver St., Derby, KS 67037, in Sedgwick County. It is one of 5 farms we track in Wichita Region.
We track 5 farms in Wichita Region, 5 of which let you cut your own tree. The farm has not published a starting price, so it cannot be compared on cost — call before you budget.
One caveat worth repeating: this farm had not published its 2026 dates when we last checked, while 4 of the 5 farms we track in Wichita Region had. Treat any date you see elsewhere as last year's until the farm confirms it.
There are 2 other farms we track in Sedgwick County. All Wichita Region farms →
Map pin is set to the town centre. Navigate to the street address above, not the pin.
pinelakechristmastrees.com · pickyourownchristmastree.org
Checked September 2026.