A dual choose-and-cut-plus-retail-lot farm with free hayrack rides and a holiday shop, but broad, unconfirmed hours and no published pricing.
No pricing published online; not confirmed directly with the farm.
Pinecrest Tree Farm, in Blue Springs in southeast Nebraska’s Gage County, runs two sale models on the same property: a choose-and-cut field where you pick and cut your own tree, and a retail lot of pre-cut trees for anyone who’d rather grab one already down. That’s worth asking about directly when you arrive, since the two options may come with different pricing or availability, and the record doesn’t clarify how the farm distinguishes them at the point of sale.
The species on offer are Scotch Pine, White Pine, Balsam Fir, and Fraser Fir — a solid, if not unusually wide, lineup covering both classic pines and the denser needle retention firs are known for generally.
General hours are described as “November-December, 9am until dark,” which is broad enough to cover most of a typical day but doesn’t pin down a specific opening date. Separately, the record notes a free hayrack ride to the fields runs “Friday, Saturday, and Sunday after Thanksgiving” — a detail that implies the farm is actively open and staffed that weekend, but doesn’t explicitly state that’s when the season begins. Because that’s an inference rather than a stated fact, no firm 2026 season_start date is given here. If you’re planning a visit for the weekend right after Thanksgiving specifically, it’s a reasonable bet based on the hayrack schedule, but a call to confirm is the safer move before building a trip around it.
The hayrack ride out to the fields is described as free, which is a genuine no-cost perk worth factoring in — some farms in this research charge for wagon rides, or don’t offer one at all. The on-site holiday shop also offers free cider and peanuts alongside wreaths and greenery for sale, giving you something to browse and a warm drink while you’re there. None of this changes the core cost of the tree itself, but it does mean a Pinecrest visit likely includes more built-in activity than a bare tree lot.
No pricing was found published anywhere checked for either the choose-and-cut trees or the pre-cut retail-lot trees. That’s a real information gap that this page can’t paper over — there’s simply no dollar figure to offer for either sale type. Since the farm sells two different kinds of trees side by side, it’s worth specifically asking whether pricing differs between them when you call or arrive, rather than assuming they cost the same.
The record doesn’t say anything about payment method, parking, saws or cutting assistance for the choose-and-cut option, or accessibility. Given the “9am until dark” hours language, exact closing times will also vary by how early it gets dark in a given week of November or December, which is worth keeping in mind for a late-afternoon visit.
Pinecrest offers real flexibility — cut your own or buy pre-cut — plus genuine free extras like the hayrack ride and cider, but broad, non-specific hours and a total lack of published pricing mean a phone call before you drive out will save you some guesswork.
General hours are given only as 'November-December, 9am until dark' with no specific opening date found, so a firm 2026 start can't be confirmed here. A separate note says the free hayrack ride runs Friday, Saturday, and Sunday after Thanksgiving, which suggests but doesn't explicitly confirm the season opens that weekend.
Not stated directly, but the farm offers a hayrack ride out to the fields plus browsing time in an on-site holiday shop, so budget more than a quick in-and-out stop.
Not stated directly, but the free hayrack ride explicitly runs Fri-Sun after Thanksgiving, which suggests that stretch is when the farm is actively staffed for visitors and likely busiest.
Not described in the record.
Not addressed in the source.
Skip Pinecrest if you need a specific confirmed opening date or published price before committing to a visit, since neither is available in the record -- hours are described only broadly as '9am until dark' across November and December.
No specific nearby-farm comparison is available in this record.
Both options exist here. The record describes choose-and-cut trees in the field alongside a retail lot of pre-cut trees on the same property, so ask which you're getting when you arrive.
Yes, according to the record, running Friday, Saturday, and Sunday after Thanksgiving.
Described broadly as 'November-December, 9am until dark' with no more specific daily schedule found published. Call ahead to confirm hours for a particular day.
No pricing was found published online for either the choose-and-cut or pre-cut retail-lot trees. Ask on arrival or call ahead.
2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. In past seasons it has run: Daily. Check with the farm before driving out.
Pricing was not published when we last checked. No pricing published online; not confirmed directly with the farm.
Yes. It's choose-and-cut (staff cuts it for you).
503 South Walnut, Blue Springs, NE 68318, in Gage County. It is one of 2 farms we track in Southeast Nebraska.
Map pin is set to the town centre. Navigate to the street address above, not the pin.
pinecresttreefarm.com · hayrides.com · inseasonmap.com
Checked September 2026.