A 73-acre Fortville farm with both a walkable choose-and-cut forest and a pre-cut yard as backup, though Christmas-season hours and pricing weren't published as of this research.
Piney Acres Farm in Fortville is a 73-acre family operation that runs two distinct seasonal businesses on the same property: a fall pumpkin and corn-maze operation, and a choose-and-cut Christmas tree season. That dual identity is worth understanding before you visit, because it shapes what you’ll find in December versus what the farm’s website currently emphasizes.
The farm’s Christmas offering centers on what it calls a “choose & cut Christmas Tree Forest,” meaning you walk the field and select your own tree rather than buying something already cut and bundled. What sets Piney Acres apart from a bare-bones version of that experience is the pre-cut yard running alongside it. If you walk the field and don’t find what you’re after, or you’d rather skip the trek entirely with young kids or limited mobility, the pre-cut option is there as a fallback. That flexibility is a genuine convenience most single-format farms don’t offer.
Based on the scale of Piney Acres’ fall season, which includes a corn maze, hayrides, a petting area, gem mining, and a play area, this reads as a farm built around a full family outing rather than a quick in-and-out tree purchase. In 2025 the farm added a “Glimmer Lights” evening experience: a train ride paired with lights, cocoa, and a cookie. Whether that returns for 2026 in the same form wasn’t confirmed in this research, but it’s a reasonable thing to ask about when you call, since an evening lights event changes the character of a visit considerably from a daytime cut-your-own trip.
Here’s the honest limitation: the hours currently posted on the farm’s website are for its fall season, running September 19 through October 25, 2026. Those are pumpkin-patch hours, not Christmas-tree hours, and nothing in the sources checked for this research gave a confirmed December schedule. Tree pricing also wasn’t published anywhere found. This isn’t unusual this early in the year – a lot of farms don’t finalize December hours and pricing until closer to Thanksgiving – but it does mean you shouldn’t treat the fall hours as a stand-in for what you’ll find when you show up for a tree.
Farms that run a corn maze, bounce pillow, and gem mining operation during fall tend to draw meaningfully more foot traffic than a simple field-and-checkout tree lot, and there’s no obvious reason that pattern would reverse for the Christmas season, especially if the Glimmer Lights event returns. If you’re trying to avoid a crowd, a weekday visit is a safer bet than a Saturday, though that’s a general inference about how family-activity farms tend to draw traffic rather than a confirmed detail about Piney Acres specifically.
Piney Acres looks like a solid choice if you want the choose-and-cut experience with a pre-cut backup and don’t mind a fuller agritourism atmosphere. Just don’t plan your trip around the fall-season hours posted on the site – call or check social media closer to the date for the actual December schedule and pricing.
Unknown. The farm's posted hours cover its September 19-October 25, 2026 fall pumpkin season, not the Christmas tree season -- confirm current-season hours directly before planning a visit.
An hour or more if you're walking the choose-and-cut forest; less if you head straight for the pre-cut yard.
Not specified for the Christmas season. The farm's fall season includes a corn maze, bounce pillow, and gem mining, which suggests a fuller agritourism draw than a simple tree lot -- if that pattern carries into December, expect more foot traffic than a small family farm, particularly on weekends.
Not specified in available sources.
Not specified in available sources. A pre-cut yard is available as an option for anyone who doesn't want to walk the choose-and-cut fields.
you want a bare-bones tree lot with no extras, or you need confirmed Christmas-season hours before you can commit to the drive.
Not established from available sources.
Both. The farm runs a choose-and-cut Christmas Tree Forest and also maintains a large pre-cut yard as a backup for visitors who'd rather not walk the fields.
The farm's fall season includes a corn maze, hayrides, a petting area, gem mining, and a play area. In 2025 it also added a 'Glimmer Lights' evening event with a train ride, lights, cocoa, and a cookie, which may return in some form for 2026, though that wasn't confirmed for this research.
Not confirmed. The hours posted on the farm's site cover its fall pumpkin season (Sept 19-Oct 25, 2026), not the Christmas tree season. Confirm directly before visiting.
No. Pricing was not found in the sources checked for this research.
2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. Check with the farm before driving out.
Pricing was not published when we last checked.
Yes. It's cut-your-own and choose-and-cut (staff cuts it for you).
1115 E 1000 N, Fortville, IN 46040, in Hancock County. It is one of 5 farms we track in Central Indiana.
We track 5 farms in Central Indiana, 4 of which let you cut your own tree. The farm has not published a starting price, so it cannot be compared on cost — call before you budget.
What sets it apart locally: it has a petting area, which most Central Indiana farms on our list do not.
One caveat worth repeating: this farm had not published its 2026 dates when we last checked, while 1 of the 5 farms we track in Central Indiana had. Treat any date you see elsewhere as last year's until the farm confirms it.
There are 2 other farms we track in Hancock County. All Central Indiana farms →
pineyacresfarm.com · indywithkids.com
Checked September 2026.