For farms

Pioneer Tree Farm

📍 4614 N. Pioneer Road, McHenry, IL 60051🗓 Season dates not yet published for 2026🏷 From $100

An activity-heavy, chemical-free cut-your-own farm near McHenry open only a handful of weekends each season, with a flat $100 cash-or-check price and a genuinely old-fashioned atmosphere.

Pioneer Tree Farm in McHenry, IL

How you get your tree

This farm offers

cut-your-own

Included

hayridescandle dipping demonstrationwoodworking demonstrationdutch oven cooking demonstrationcampfirehot cocoa/coffee in a heated warming housecraftsfarm animals (chickens)

Flat $100 per tree for the 2025 season, cash or check only. Per the farm's own website.

Cash only. This farm doesn't take cards, based on what we found — bring cash or confirm ahead if that's changed.

Our take

Pioneer Tree Farm, on Pioneer Road near McHenry, stands out in this batch for its atmosphere more than anything else. Rather than a quick cut-and-leave lot, the farm’s own site describes candle dipping, woodworking, and dutch oven cooking demonstrations, a campfire, and a heated warming house serving free coffee and hot cocoa — a genuinely old-fashioned, activity-heavy visit. The farm also states it has operated without pesticides, herbicides, or chemicals since 1973, a long-standing practice worth knowing if that matters to your family.

A narrow window, not a full season

The most important planning detail here is the schedule: in 2025, Pioneer opened only the weekend right after Thanksgiving plus one additional weekend — not the full month-long window some neighboring farms run. That’s a real constraint. If the 2026 season follows the same limited pattern, there won’t be a quiet, late-season alternative if you miss the open dates; the farm may simply not be open. The gate itself runs 9am-4pm on open days, per the record, so even within the open weekends, hours are bounded.

Pricing is simple, at least

Once you’re on-site, the money side is straightforward: a flat $100 per tree for the 2025 season, with no per-foot size calculation needed. Payment is cash or check only, per the farm’s own site, so plan accordingly rather than assuming a card will work.

A full activity list, genuinely

Beyond the tree itself, the farm lists hayrides, a candle dipping demonstration, woodworking and dutch oven cooking demonstrations, a campfire, crafts, and farm animals including chickens — a noticeably longer activity list than most farms in this research, several of which have no listed activities at all. That makes Pioneer a reasonable choice if the outing itself matters as much as the tree, though none of these are stated to be free extras versus part of the base experience, so ask if cost matters to you beyond the $100 tree price.

What isn’t confirmed

No tree species were named in available sources, and nothing was found about whether saws are provided or need to be brought. Given the farm’s small scale and limited open days, calling ahead is the more reliable way to fill these gaps than assuming details carried over from a larger, more heavily documented farm.

The honest bottom line

Pioneer offers a genuinely distinctive, activity-rich visit with simple flat pricing, but its narrow handful of open weekends means this is a farm to actively plan around rather than fit in whenever it’s convenient — confirm 2026 dates by phone before you commit to a weekend.

Planning your visit

Best time to go

The 2025 season ran only the opening weekend after Thanksgiving plus one additional weekend, not a full multi-week season. If 2026 follows the same pattern, this is a narrow window to plan around, and calling ahead to confirm the exact dates before driving out matters more here than at farms open daily for a month.

How long to budget

Not stated as a number, but with candle dipping, woodworking and dutch oven cooking demonstrations, a campfire, and a heated warming house, this reads as a full outing rather than a quick tree pickup.

Crowds

Not stated directly, but a farm limited to just a few open weekends concentrates all of its visitors into a small number of days, which likely means busier conditions on each open day than at a farm spread across a full month.

Parking

Not described in the record.

Strollers and accessibility

Not addressed in the source. A heated warming house is mentioned as an on-site amenity, which may be worth asking about if a warm indoor space matters for your visit.

What to bring

  • Cash or a check, since the farm operates on that basis, per the record
  • A confirmed date before you go, since Pioneer opens only a handful of weekends rather than the full season and can sell out or close early
  • Weather-appropriate clothing for outdoor demonstrations and a campfire, since much of the activity list is outdoors

How to spend less here

  • A flat $100 per tree for the 2025 season, cash or check only, with no per-foot size penalty
  • Hayrides, the campfire, and hot cocoa/coffee in the heated warming house all appear to be part of the visit rather than separate paid add-ons, per the activities list, though this isn't stated explicitly as free

Who it suits

Good for

  • Families who want a full old-fashioned outing rather than a fast in-and-out tree purchase
  • Visitors who appreciate a farm that's operated without pesticides, herbicides, or chemicals since 1973
  • Anyone who wants free hayrides, hot cocoa, and hands-on demonstrations bundled into the visit

Skip it if

Skip Pioneer if you need a farm open on a regular weekly schedule through the season, since it only opens a small handful of weekends, and skip it if you can't pay cash or by check, since the farm doesn't appear to take cards.

Worth pairing with

No specific nearby-farm comparison is available in this record.

Common questions

How much does a tree cost at Pioneer?

A flat $100 per tree for the 2025 season, cash or check only, per the farm's own site.

Is Pioneer open every weekend of the season?

No. The 2025 season was limited to the opening weekend after Thanksgiving plus one additional weekend, not a full multi-week run. Call ahead to confirm 2026 dates before planning around a specific weekend.

What is there to do besides cut a tree?

The record lists hayrides, a candle dipping demonstration, woodworking and dutch oven cooking demonstrations, a campfire, hot cocoa and coffee in a heated warming house, crafts, and farm animals including chickens.

Is the farm organic or chemical-free?

The farm's own site states it has operated without pesticides, herbicides, or chemicals since 1973.

When is Pioneer Tree Farm open in 2026?

2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. In past seasons it has run: Selected weekends only (2025: opening Friday plus the following two weekends). Check with the farm before driving out.

How much does a tree cost at Pioneer Tree Farm?

Trees start at $100. Flat $100 per tree for the 2025 season, cash or check only. Per the farm's own website.

Can I cut my own tree at Pioneer Tree Farm?

Yes. It's cut-your-own.

Where is Pioneer Tree Farm?

4614 N. Pioneer Road, McHenry, IL 60051, in McHenry County. It is one of 10 farms we track in Chicago Suburbs.

How Pioneer Tree Farm compares in Chicago Suburbs

We track 10 farms in Chicago Suburbs, 9 of which let you cut your own tree. At $100 to start this one sits above the regional median of $85.

What sets it apart locally: it has a hayride or sleigh ride, a cocoa or cider stand, a petting area, which most Chicago Suburbs farms on our list do not.

One caveat worth repeating: this farm had not published its 2026 dates when we last checked, while 2 of the 10 farms we track in Chicago Suburbs had. Treat any date you see elsewhere as last year's until the farm confirms it.

Other farms near McHenry

There are 5 other farms we track in McHenry County. All Chicago Suburbs farms →

Quick facts

SeasonSeason dates not yet published for 2026
Days openSelected weekends only (2025: opening Friday plus the following two weekends)
HoursEntry gate 9:00am–4:00pm
Starting price$100
CountyMcHenry County
RegionChicago Suburbs

Directions

Open in Google Maps ↗

Map pin is set to the town centre. Navigate to the street address above, not the pin.

Sources

pioneertreefarm.com

Checked September 2026.