A nine-species farm conveniently placed between Omaha and Lincoln, with a reported per-foot price range but no confirmed 2026 season date.
Reported range of $9-$18 per foot depending on species, per aggregated search results; not confirmed directly on the farm's own site for 2025 or 2026.
Prairie Pine Plantation, in Ashland, offers one of the broadest species lineups found across this entire research batch: Scotch Pine and White Pine, four fir varieties (Fraser, Balsam, Douglas, and Concolor), and three separate spruce varieties (Norway, Blue, and Black Hills). Nine species in total is genuinely more choice than most family-run farms in the area, where two to five species is typical. If you have a specific look, fragrance, or needle type in mind and want options, this is one of the stronger candidates in the region for finding it.
It’s also a full-service operation: staff cut, shake, net-wrap, drill a stand hole, and load the tree onto your vehicle. That’s a fairly complete package — the stand-hole drilling in particular is a small but genuinely convenient detail not every full-service farm in this research mentions, since it saves you from doing that step yourself once you get the tree home.
Ashland sits roughly midway between Omaha and Lincoln along the I-80 corridor. For anyone who lives in, or is traveling between, either metro area, that’s a meaningfully more convenient stop than a farm tucked well outside both cities. It’s the kind of practical detail that matters more than it might seem: a shorter or more direct drive means less time in the car and more flexibility about which day works, especially if a specific Saturday is looking busy elsewhere.
One specific opening date — November 23 — turned up during research, but it doesn’t actually correspond cleanly to the day-after-Thanksgiving date for either 2024 (Nov 29) or 2025 (Nov 28). That mismatch suggests the figure is either stale, from an unrelated year, or otherwise unreliable, so it isn’t presented here as a confirmed 2026 date. Rather than guess at a corrected date, the honest position is that the 2026 opening date for Prairie Pine Plantation isn’t confirmed. What is confirmed is the weekly schedule once the season is running: Saturday 10am-5pm and Sunday 12pm-5pm, with no weekday hours found anywhere in the sources checked.
A reported range of $9 to $18 per foot depending on species appeared in aggregated search results rather than on the farm’s own current pricing page. That’s a wide enough range that it likely reflects real differences between, say, a Scotch Pine and a Black Hills Spruce, rather than describing any single option. It’s a reasonable number to have in your head for budgeting, but since it isn’t confirmed on the farm’s own site for the current season, ask about the rate for the specific species you’re considering rather than assuming the low end applies.
Prairie Pine Plantation combines a genuinely wide species selection, full-service convenience, and a location that works well for visitors from either Omaha or Lincoln. The tradeoffs are a weekend-only schedule and season dates that couldn’t be reliably confirmed for 2026 — call ahead before you commit to a specific Saturday or Sunday.
No confirmed 2026 opening date. A specific date of 'November 23' appeared in one aggregated result but doesn't line up cleanly with either the 2024 or 2025 day-after-Thanksgiving date, suggesting it may be stale or unclear which year it refers to -- so it isn't used here. Hours are Sat 10am-5pm and Sun 12pm-5pm; the farm isn't listed as open on weekdays.
Not stated directly, but this is a full-service farm (staff cut, shake, net-wrap, drill a stand hole, and load), which typically moves faster than a cut-your-own visit.
Not stated directly, but with only Sat-Sun hours rather than a full week, expect both weekend days to carry the farm's full visitor traffic rather than it being spread across more open days.
Not described in the record.
Not addressed in the source.
Skip Prairie Pine Plantation if you need a confirmed opening date before committing, since the one specific date found in research didn't reconcile cleanly with recent calendars and isn't used here as a result. Also note it's only open Saturday and Sunday, not during the week.
Ashland sits roughly midway between Omaha and Lincoln on the I-80 corridor, per the record, making it a convenient stop if you're traveling between the two cities rather than making a dedicated one-city trip.
Scotch Pine, White Pine, Fraser Fir, Balsam Fir, Douglas Fir, Concolor Fir, Norway Spruce, Blue Spruce, and Black Hills Spruce -- nine species, one of the widest lineups found in this research.
A reported range of $9-$18 per foot depending on species appeared in aggregated search results, but this wasn't confirmed directly on the farm's own site for the current season.
Not confirmed. A specific date of November 23 appeared in one source, but it doesn't align cleanly with the actual day-after-Thanksgiving date for 2024 or 2025, so it may be stale or year-unclear data and isn't used as a confirmed 2026 date here.
Not based on the hours found: Saturday 10am-5pm and Sunday 12pm-5pm only, with no weekday hours listed.
2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. In past seasons it has run: Sat-Sun. Check with the farm before driving out.
Trees start at $9. Reported range of $9-$18 per foot depending on species, per aggregated search results; not confirmed directly on the farm's own site for 2025 or 2026.
Yes. It's choose-and-cut (staff cuts it for you).
488 County Road 7, Ashland, NE 68003, in Saunders County. It is one of 4 farms we track in Omaha Region.
We track 4 farms in Omaha Region. At $9 to start this one sits below the regional median of $16, undercutting 1 of the 2 priced farms we track here.
What sets it apart locally: it has wreaths and garland for sale, which most Omaha Region farms on our list do not.
One caveat worth repeating: this farm had not published its 2026 dates when we last checked, while 2 of the 4 farms we track in Omaha Region had. Treat any date you see elsewhere as last year's until the farm confirms it.
Map pin is set to the town centre. Navigate to the street address above, not the pin.
prairiepineplantation.com · chamberofcommerce.com
Checked September 2026.