For farms

Prairie Woods

📍 5665 W Sprague Rd, Hallam, NE 68368🗓 Season dates not yet published for 2026🏷 From $8

A five-species farm with a clear, farm-published per-foot rate, but no season dates, hours, or 2026 confirmation of any kind turned up anywhere checked.

Aerial view of Prairie Woods in Hallam, NE

How you get your tree

This farm offers

choose-and-cut (staff cuts it for you)

Included

pre-tagginghandmade wreaths from farm-grown branches

$8.00 per foot (example given: a 6-foot tree costs $48.00 plus tax), per the farm's own pricing page; not confirmed for the 2026 season.

Our take

Prairie Woods, near Hallam in Lancaster County, offers one of the wider species lineups among the farms researched here: Douglas Fir, Concolor Fir (also called White Fir), Canaan Fir, Balsam Fir, and Eastern White Pine, all at a single straightforward rate. That’s a genuinely useful thing to know if you’re comparing needle type, shape, and fragrance across species before deciding — five real options is more than most small farms in the area offer.

Pricing here is one of the clearer numbers in this whole batch, at least on paper: $8.00 per foot, plus tax, according to the farm’s own site. The farm even walks through an example directly on its Prices page — a 6-foot tree costs $48.00 plus tax — which is about as transparent as pricing gets in this research. Using that same stated rate, the arithmetic extends cleanly: a 7-foot tree would run $56 plus tax, and an 8-foot tree $64 plus tax. That’s useful for budgeting regardless of which size you end up choosing, though it’s worth noting this figure wasn’t confirmed specifically for the 2026 season — it’s what’s published on the farm’s Prices page as of when it was checked.

The scheduling gap is real, not just an early-season blank

Here’s the catch: this is the thinnest farm in the batch when it comes to actually knowing when to show up. The farm’s own site was checked directly in August 2026, during the off-season, and both its Prices page and its dedicated Scheduled page displayed a “closed for the season” notice with no 2025 or 2026 dates or hours posted at all. Most farms in this research at least have a rough pattern (“day after Thanksgiving,” “mid-November to mid-December”) even when the exact year isn’t confirmed. Prairie Woods doesn’t have even that much published anywhere checked, including cross-referencing the Nebraska Department of Agriculture’s grower directory and another farm-listing aggregator. That’s not a research shortcoming — it genuinely isn’t out there yet.

Practically, that means treating a visit here as something you plan by phone rather than by web search. Call (402) 794-1468 closer to Thanksgiving, or check back on the farm’s site once the season updates go up, before you build a specific weekend around a Prairie Woods visit.

What else is offered

Pre-tagging is available, letting you walk the field, choose a tree, and reserve it before the weekend you actually plan to cut and take it — useful insurance against a favorite tree getting taken by someone else in the meantime. The farm also sells handmade wreaths made from its own branches, a nice first-party touch (the greenery is coming off the same land as the trees, not sourced elsewhere) if you want a wreath alongside your tree.

What’s missing

Nothing in the record addresses payment method, saws, cutting assistance, or on-site extras like hot drinks or a gift shop, so none of that can be confirmed either way here.

The honest bottom line

Prairie Woods has real strengths on paper — a wide species selection and unusually transparent, farm-published pricing — but it also has the least confirmed scheduling information of any farm in this batch. Don’t drive out on a guess; call first.

Planning your visit

Best time to go

Not stated anywhere found. The farm's own site was checked directly during the off-season (August 2026) and showed 'closed for the season' with no 2025 or 2026 dates or hours posted on either its Prices or Scheduled pages. This is the farm in this batch with the least published scheduling information -- plan to call or check closer to Thanksgiving.

How long to budget

Not stated in the record.

Crowds

Not stated in the record.

Parking

Not described in the record.

Strollers and accessibility

Not addressed in the source.

What to bring

  • A phone call to (402) 794-1468 to confirm whether the farm is open and on what schedule, since no 2026 hours or dates were found published anywhere
  • Cash or a card -- payment method isn't confirmed either way in the record
  • Patience for an unpaved field, a safe general assumption for a working tree farm rather than a confirmed detail here

How to spend less here

  • Pricing is a flat $8.00 per foot, per the farm's own pricing page, with an example given directly on that page: a 6-foot tree costs $48.00 plus tax
  • Using that same $8/ft rate, a 7-foot tree would run $56 plus tax and an 8-foot tree $64 plus tax -- simple arithmetic from the farm's own stated number
  • Pre-tagging lets you reserve a specific tree ahead of the weekend you plan to cut it, which is worth doing if you're worried about a favorite tree being taken

Who it suits

Good for

  • Visitors who want a wide choice of species (Douglas Fir, Concolor/White Fir, Canaan Fir, Balsam Fir, and Eastern White Pine) at one straightforward rate
  • Anyone who wants to reserve a tree ahead of time via pre-tagging
  • Shoppers who also want handmade wreaths made from the farm's own branches

Skip it if

Skip Prairie Woods for now if you need confirmed hours or season dates before you'll plan a trip, since neither is published anywhere found and the farm's own site was showing an off-season closed notice at the time of research.

Worth pairing with

No specific nearby-farm comparison is available in this record.

Common questions

How much does a tree cost at Prairie Woods?

A flat $8.00 per foot plus tax, per the farm's own pricing page, which gives the example of a 6-foot tree costing $48.00 plus tax. This wasn't confirmed specifically for the 2026 season.

What species does Prairie Woods offer?

Five: Douglas Fir, Concolor Fir (White Fir), Canaan Fir, Balsam Fir, and Eastern White Pine, per the record -- a wider lineup than several other farms in the area.

When is Prairie Woods open in 2026?

Not published anywhere found. The farm's own site was checked directly during the off-season and showed no 2025 or 2026 season dates or hours on either its Prices or Scheduled pages.

Can I reserve a tree ahead of time?

Yes, pre-tagging is available according to the record, letting you mark a tree before the weekend you plan to cut and take it.

When is Prairie Woods open in 2026?

2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. Check with the farm before driving out.

How much does a tree cost at Prairie Woods?

Trees start at $8. $8.00 per foot (example given: a 6-foot tree costs $48.00 plus tax), per the farm's own pricing page; not confirmed for the 2026 season.

Can I cut my own tree at Prairie Woods?

Yes. It's choose-and-cut (staff cuts it for you).

Where is Prairie Woods?

5665 W Sprague Rd, Hallam, NE 68368, in Lancaster County. It is one of 7 farms we track in Lincoln Region.

How Prairie Woods compares in Lincoln Region

We track 7 farms in Lincoln Region, 2 of which let you cut your own tree. At $8 to start this one sits below the regional median of $12, undercutting 2 of the 3 priced farms we track here.

One caveat worth repeating: this farm had not published its 2026 dates when we last checked, while 4 of the 7 farms we track in Lincoln Region had. Treat any date you see elsewhere as last year's until the farm confirms it.

Other farms near Hallam

There are 8 other farms we track in Lancaster County. All Lincoln Region farms →

Quick facts

SeasonSeason dates not yet published for 2026
Days openNot published
HoursNot published
Starting price$8
Tree typesDouglas Fir, Concolor Fir (White Fir), Canaan Fir, Balsam Fir, Eastern White Pine
CountyLancaster County
RegionLincoln Region

Directions

Open in Google Maps ↗

Map pin is set to the town centre. Navigate to the street address above, not the pin.

Sources

prairiewoodschristmas.com · pickafarm.com

Checked September 2026.