A large agritourism destination opening Nov 27, 2026, with both cut-your-own and a wide-ranging pre-cut selection, though most of its pricing and operational specifics are carried over from an unconfirmed 2025 listing.
2025 season: cut-your-own trees ran about $95 plus tax; pre-cut trees ranged $49–$300 depending on size/species, per the Chicago Parent aggregator. Not independently confirmed on the farm's own site for 2026.
Richardson Adventure Farm, in Spring Grove, is one of the larger and better-known agritourism operations in this batch — it’s also known regionally for its corn maze, which signals a destination built to handle real visitor volume rather than a small, quiet family lot. The farm’s own site confirms a clear opening date for 2026: the day after Thanksgiving, which lands on November 27. Beyond that specific date, hours and a closing date weren’t confirmed directly by the farm at the time of this research.
Richardson runs both a cut-your-own field and a substantial pre-cut tree operation — a combination that gives visitors real choice depending on whether they want the field experience or just want to grab a tree and go. On pricing, a Chicago Parent aggregator described the 2025 season as running about $95 plus tax for cut-your-own trees, with pre-cut trees spanning a wide $49-$300 range depending on size and species. That’s real information worth having for budgeting purposes, but it’s important to be direct about where it comes from: it describes last year’s season, not this year’s, and it wasn’t found stated directly on the farm’s own current site. If the 2026 numbers differ, this record won’t have caught that yet.
Because Richardson is a large, well-established destination, expect more built infrastructure than a small farm offers — likely more parking capacity, concessions, and general visitor amenities. The flip side of that scale is more competition for those amenities on busy days. No details were found in available sources about saws, payment methods, or tree-season-specific activities like hayrides or Santa visits — a notable gap given how activity-rich some large agritourism farms in this batch turn out to be. If those add-ons matter to your visit, they’re worth a direct question when you call to confirm hours.
A $49-$300 spread on pre-cut trees is unusually wide compared to most single-tier pricing seen elsewhere in this research, and it suggests genuine variety by size and species rather than a one-price-fits-all pre-cut lot. That range means budget-conscious shoppers and those wanting a large, premium tree can both likely be served here — assuming the range holds for 2026.
Richardson’s confirmed Nov 27, 2026 opening date is solid ground to plan around, but the pricing and hours attached to that date are carried over from an unconfirmed 2025 listing, so a quick call before driving out is the responsible way to close that gap, especially if the exact cost matters to your decision.
The farm's own site confirms it opens the day after Thanksgiving, which is Nov 27 for the 2026 season. Beyond that opening date, hours and a closing date weren't confirmed, so early in the season is the safest bet before checking further.
Not stated directly, but as a large, well-known agritourism destination also known for its corn maze, expect more built-out infrastructure, parking, and concessions than a small family farm — and correspondingly more time if you want to see everything on-site.
Not stated directly in the record, but Richardson's is described as a large, well-known agritourism destination, which typically means bigger weekend crowds than a small cut-your-own farm, especially on the opening weekend right after Thanksgiving.
Not described specifically, though a farm of this scale likely has more dedicated parking infrastructure than a small family lot — this is a reasonable inference from its size, not a confirmed detail.
Not addressed in the source.
Skip Richardson's this year if you're relying on the 2025 pricing figures as a guarantee, since they come from a third-party aggregator and aren't confirmed on the farm's own site for 2026, and skip a same-day opening-weekend visit if you want to avoid the biggest crowds a large, well-known destination like this tends to draw.
No specific nearby-farm comparison is available in this record.
The farm's own site states it opens the day after Thanksgiving, which resolves to Nov 27, 2026.
Per a 2025-season description from a Chicago Parent aggregator, cut-your-own ran about $95 plus tax and pre-cut ranged $49-$300 by size and species. These figures aren't independently confirmed on the farm's own site for 2026.
Yes, per the record, Richardson's offers both a cut-your-own field and a substantial pre-cut operation.
No — the record describes Richardson's as a large, well-known agritourism destination, also famous for its corn maze, which typically means more infrastructure but also bigger crowds than a small family farm.
Opens November 27, 2026 (closing date not published).
Trees start at $49. 2025 season: cut-your-own trees ran about $95 plus tax; pre-cut trees ranged $49–$300 depending on size/species, per the Chicago Parent aggregator. Not independently confirmed on the farm's own site for 2026.
Yes. It's cut-your-own.
9407 Richardson Road, Spring Grove, IL 60081, in McHenry County. It is one of 10 farms we track in Chicago Suburbs.
We track 10 farms in Chicago Suburbs, 9 of which let you cut your own tree. At $49 to start this one sits below the regional median of $85, undercutting 7 of the 8 priced farms we track here.
There are 5 other farms we track in McHenry County. All Chicago Suburbs farms →
Map pin is set to the town centre. Navigate to the street address above, not the pin.
richardsonadventurefarm.com
Checked September 2026.