A genuinely confirmed cut-your-own field with real 2026 dates and flat-rate pricing, but you need your own saw and either a weekend visit or a pre-arranged weekday appointment.
$65 for trees up to 7 ft, $80 for trees over 7 ft, plus RI sales tax; free baling included.
Riverside is one of the more clearly documented cut-your-own operations in this batch of Rhode Island farms, which makes it easier than most to plan a specific trip around. The farm’s own site, checked in August 2026, states outright that the 2026 season runs November 19 through December 20 – a genuine five-week window with real endpoints, not a placeholder or a leftover date from last year. That alone puts it ahead of several nearby farms whose sites still only reference the prior season.
This isn’t a choose-and-cut lot where staff do the cutting, and it isn’t a pre-cut lot where trees are already down and netted. Riverside is a true walk-the-field operation: you pick a living tree in the growing area and cut it yourself. The catch, and it’s a real one, is that the farm does not supply saws. If you don’t already own a non-powered handsaw, you need to source one before you go – borrowing, buying, or renting one somewhere else in the area, since the record gives no indication Riverside sells or rents them on site. Skipping this step means showing up to a field full of trees you can’t actually take home.
The days-open pattern here is worth reading closely before you plan a visit. Weekend hours are straightforward: Thursday and Friday from noon to 4pm, and Saturday and Sunday from 10am to 4pm, all open walk-in. But Monday through Wednesday are appointment-only. That’s not the same as “closed” – the farm is apparently still cutting trees those days – but it means a spontaneous Tuesday-afternoon drive out could end with nobody there to help you, or a locked gate, unless you’ve called ahead. If your schedule only allows a weekday visit, treat the phone call as a mandatory first step, not an optional courtesy.
Pricing here is flat-rate by height band rather than the per-foot pricing some other farms use: $65 for anything up to 7 feet, $80 for anything taller, plus Rhode Island sales tax, with baling included at no extra charge. That structure has a genuinely useful implication for a budget-conscious visitor – a 6-foot tree and a 7-foot tree cost exactly the same $65, so if you’re choosing between two trees in that range, there’s no financial reason to take the shorter one. The jump to $80 only matters once you cross the 7-foot line. Free baling is also worth noting explicitly, since some farms charge separately for that step; here it’s already folded into the price you’re quoted.
The activity list is modest but real: hot cocoa, wreaths, garland, cemetery baskets, porch pots, and photo opportunities. This reads as a farm built around the core cutting experience rather than a full agritourism destination with hayrides or a Santa visit – fine if that’s what you want, worth knowing if you were expecting more built-out entertainment for kids.
One unverified note worth flagging: some local guides describe Riverside as operating since 1905, but that claim comes only from third-party sources, not the farm’s own site, so treat it as plausible local lore rather than a confirmed fact.
If you own a saw, can make it on a Thursday through Sunday (or you’ve called ahead for a weekday slot), and want a genuine field-cutting experience with predictable flat pricing, Riverside delivers exactly what it advertises with unusually solid 2026 date confirmation for this batch of farms.
The farm's own site confirms the 2026 season runs November 19 through December 20. Walk-in hours are Thursday-Friday 12pm-4pm and Saturday-Sunday 10am-4pm. The first weekend after Thanksgiving is typically the busiest Saturday of any five-week season like this one, so the two weekends after that, into mid-December, are a better bet for a calmer visit with more trees still standing.
Not stated in the record. This is a genuine walk-the-field operation with no saw provided, so budget more time than a pre-cut lot -- walking rows, comparing trees, and cutting one yourself all take longer than grabbing something already down.
Not stated directly in the record, but restricting weekday access to appointments only means all walk-in traffic funnels into four days a week -- Thursday and Friday afternoons plus the weekend -- which concentrates visitors more than a farm open every day would.
Not described in the record.
Not addressed in the source. As a cut-your-own field operation, an unpaved walking path across the growing area is a reasonable general inference, not a confirmed fact.
Skip Riverside if you don't own a saw and can't borrow or buy one first, since the farm does not supply saws, and don't show up on a Monday, Tuesday, or Wednesday without calling ahead, since those days are appointment-only rather than open walk-in.
No specific nearby-farm comparison is available in this record.
No. The record is explicit that the farm does not supply saws, so bring your own non-powered handsaw.
$65 for trees up to 7 ft, $80 for trees over 7 ft, plus Rhode Island sales tax. Baling is included free.
Monday through Wednesday is appointment-only, not open walk-in. Regular hours are Thursday-Friday 12pm-4pm and Saturday-Sunday 10am-4pm.
Yes -- leashed, well-behaved dogs are welcome per the record.
November 19 – December 20, 2026. Mon-Wed by appointment; Thu-Fri; Sat-Sun. Hours: Mon-Wed appointment only; Thu-Fri 12pm-4pm; Sat-Sun 10am-4pm.
Trees start at $65. $65 for trees up to 7 ft, $80 for trees over 7 ft, plus RI sales tax; free baling included.
Yes. It's cut-your-own, though you will need to bring your own saw.
80 Burdickville Rd, Charlestown, RI 02813, in Washington County. It is one of 10 farms we track in Rhode Island.
We track 10 farms in Rhode Island, 9 of which let you cut your own tree. At $65 to start this one sits right on the regional median of $65.
Its season runs about 32 days against a regional average of 30, so it is broadly in line with the rest of the region.
What sets it apart locally: it has a cocoa or cider stand, which most Rhode Island farms on our list do not.
There are 20 other farms we track in Washington County. All Rhode Island farms →
riversidetreefarm.com
Checked September 2026.